Black, White, and RED ALL Over -- Now Available on Amazon Kindle!

See what you did, @dreemsteem and @mariannewest and @freewritehouse? See? SEE?

black, white, red cover 6.jpg

From the Steem blockchain to Amazon – Black, White, and RED All Over, which I ran here for extended content as thanks to you great folks at the Freewrite House, now available as a whole live Kindle book on Amazon – my FOURTH book! It is available on Amazon HERE!

See, this is how this all happened: I came to Steem in March 2019 and was minding my own business making pennies steadily and getting bouts Steemit Induced Depression only relieved by the wonderful stuff for newbies provided by @pifc, @team-ccc, and support for my music posts from @classical-music.

Then, I discovered @mariannewest and #freewrite, and got a daily prompt about a window. That ended up putting me on @felt.buzz, @mariita52, and @ocd's map – FIRST Curie vote, got whitelisted by @ocd, made first $10-plus upvote post. That convinced me to pay attention to freewriting and the Freewrite House in general.

I have been a prolific writer for YEARS – next year, it will be 30 in total, out of 39. So, even though it was music that brought me to Steemit, I ended up reaching for my other strength, and began doing more writing to be read for immediate feedback than I have since I was in professional journalism.

And that's the other thing. What you are SUPPOSED to do before you put a book out is have it read and reviewed and talked about with beta readers – and of course, the Freewrite House has a Beta Readers Group. I found all that out later – but the freewrite community responded with a lot of positive feedback and also asked questions to help me know where my writing could be clearer.

Then came the “nunchucks” prompt … that one nearly stumped me, but then I reached back 20 years, pulled out Ironwood Hamilton from my teenage mystery writing days, put him in a small town in a county in Virginia that I created for some Civil-War era fiction that I hope to publish this year, left Captain Hamilton in modernity, and had him take down a whole bunch of criminals after he remembered the perfect control weapon … you should go back and read how he learned in a boyhood school situation how a nun chucks rotten eggs as a control weapon.

(But that's the thing. Going back and reading old posts is kind of hard … Steem has so much content, and I have been VERY prolific. Problem about to be solved; bear with me …)

Captain Hamilton took on 600 bottles of beer on the wall and a black widow and whatever I couldn't quite figure out how to handle as a prompt … and then things got more serious, largely because of the real-world situations we are all living through around race in this country. So, there he was, a small-town police officer in Virginia – where was this character going to stand?

If you know me, you know: no character I put time into as a good guy gets to be a racist.

That opened the door to more expanded story lines … so when a happy accident led to the freewriting community having me as a prompt and me adopted by Freewrite House the following week, I rolled out extended content as a thank you, and thus wrote out and serially published Black, White, and RED All Over on the Steem blockchain in two weeks in July!

The feedback and the support and questions and suggestions were priceless, folks – quite naturally (because you all really know how to support writers), you provided me what I needed to make that story everything it could be.

Afterward, the thing was long enough to actually be a whole book – so, after having a few more people around me read it, I took it live on Amazon on October 11!

None of this could have happened without Steem and @mariannewest and all of you around @freewritehouse and @ocd. I told you it was all y'all's fault – THANK YOU!

For EVERYBODY, this is your invitation to get caught up or get started without having to search backwards and backwards to find a 14-part set of posts to find out what the excitement is all about – at $2.99, the price is right, and I would really appreciate the USD support, because it helps sustain me for the time I set aside to write! Check it out HERE, and I appreciate your purchase!

A big thank you here to @owasco, @wakeupkitty, @fitinfun, @mgaft1, @deemarshall, and @whatisnew, who regularly interact with the big bridging story between Black, White, and RED All Over and the new extended content … I finally saw a prompt today that will lead right on into The Posture of Innocence, in which Captain Hamilton and his cousin Captain Lee will switch leading roles, and you will get to find out what happens to some of the people you have been meeting every day as part of the daily freewrite! I know y'all have questions … next week, hopefully Monday, October 21, many answers will be embedded along with a cold case that leads to quite a hot time for Captain Lee, Mrs. Thornton, Commissioner Scott, and a whole bunch of other characters you have yet to meet!

Again, thank you to @mariannewest, @freewritehouse, and the entire freewriting community – there are so many names I could list, but thank you to ALL of YOU!

Sort:  

Congratulations with your new book! Although reading on my phone is not what I like I tried to order it but it says This title is not currently available for purchase. 🤔

Happy Thursday. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

What? Let me check this out ... it's telling me it's available and even let me do it ... but depending on where you live, it may not be live yet. I appreciate your effort -- give it the weekend, and feel free to try again!

I will try it again. A kindle is a kindle or? Shouldn't matter where I live. I try it in a few days again.

Happy Saturday. 👍🔆💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazon says it sells worldwide, but right now, the title is only available in 12 countries (I'll check on that Monday). But you know, if Amazon won't act right, I'll make sure you get a copy ... we'll find a way!

How strange to say available worldwide but only in 12 countries. 🤔 Perhaps they change it now you asked.

I try in a few days and let you know. Thanks for asking. 👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

An update! Looks like the book is NOW available in 170 countries -- progress -- but, certain Amazon portals can only sell to certain countries! Territories and other silly stuff... try to make your purchase again, and if it still doesn't work, I think I may have found a workaround...

I will thank you. 😙💕

The Netherlands is clearly not one of them.
It is not available in my coutry/region.

I wonder in which 170 countries it is. 🤔
France perhaps and Spain and Greece, Egypt?

Posted using Partiko Android

This makes NO sense... from my end it IS saying it is available in the Netherlands now!

Okay, let's try this ... since Amazon has all these overlapping marketplaces, try this ... the German version: https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07Z29RHXD

Wow, wow, wow! This is such fantastic news, @deeanndmathews, You are so consistent and interesting. I am very happy to be an onlooker and also am now inspired!

Thank you, @fitinfun-- glad I'm providing inspiration to you!

Thank you for the tip(u)!

........... Oh, oh, oh this is something big!
I love witnessing wonderful events and this is one.
Congratulations @deeanndmathews.
Stay great!

Thank you so much -- stay tuned, because The Posture Of Innocence is coming Monday -- if you like, I'll tag you!

That's so awesome
Congratulations on your new book!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow Deeann ... you and your story are hugely inspiring - HUGE CONGRATULATIONS!

You have a new follower

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thank you so much for the congratulations and follow! Have you seen the beginnings of the next big book in progress, The Posture of Innocence? Check out and enjoy the "Harbor Cruise" and day 1 of The Posture of Innocence -- and if you would like me to tag you so you can keep up, let me know!

Hi Deeaan,
wow ... you are so productive! Yes please tag me ... I would love to be kept up to date with your wonderful works!

Have an awesome day =D

All right -- look out for The Posture of Innocence, day 2, in about 20 minutes ...

Added you to the tag group on The Posture of Innocence, day 2, but of course you can now click and go, and you'll be tagged on future days! Have you read through day 1?

Hi Deeaan,
Thank you - yes just read Day 1, very interesting and superbly written. Are these the descendants of the original General Lee? I am intrigued by plot!

Cheers =D

Captain Lee is a great-great-great-nephew; his cousin Captain Hamilton, who featured in the inaugural Black, White, and RED ALL Over that I did on Steemit in July (and just launched on Amazonon October 11!), is a great-great-great-grandson. I grafted them on into the Lee family after the mindset of a REAL great-great-great-nephew, the Rev. Robert Wright Lee IV, came out and stood up after Charlottesville against the idolatry made of General Lee and the terror and killing that took place there because of it. That cost Rev. Lee, heavily ... but one has to admire his courage, and so I borrowed that, quite a bit of what is known about General Lee himself, a bunch of historical and current events in the nation told the way my folks would tell the stories, and my penchant for mystery writing, and rolled it all up in a county in Virginia I made up for some Civil War-era novels I plan to put out next year ... if you stick with me, I'll have you intrigued for CENTURIES of time, as characters you meet here learn some history they don't expect, next year, after dealing with all that has already happened ...

black, white, red cover 6.jpg

... what is about to happen in The Posture of Innocence (we're up to day 3 and day 3.5, that is, I did two parts today), and what Captain Hamilton, whose heart as a churchman was shattered at the end of Black, White and RED All Over, will have to deal with around Christmas! Then, in the spring, we might roll all the way back to 1862 and meet some folks I'm dropping hints about in The Posture of Innocence ... we'll see!

Hi Deeann,
Fantastic ... superb plot and back story - extremely interesting - this should do amazingly in the U.S ... but a good story is always needed globally also! - Again huge congratulations on all you excellent work - I am really excited for you ... I think you have that special drive needed to make it!

Have a brilliant day =D

Thank you so much ... yes, drive and discipline is very important ... but the encouragement from people like you is key too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83