Day 206: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Mother

in #freewrite6 years ago

Day 206: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Mother


Imgur



This is my freewrite for the Day 206: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: mother. Today's prompt gave me a chance to write a little bit about my own mother. But 5-minutes is not enough to give her justice. There are mother-type people who are still in my life and that I can wish Happy Mother's Day but because my mom passed I can't tell my mother.

My mom died of cancer a few years after I moved to South Carolina. It was very hard to be in another state beginning a new life, while she was hundreds of miles away ending her life. I'll always be thankful for everything my mother did for us to be sure we grew up to be good people. My oldest brother passed away also, so I miss him too. One day we will all be together in Heaven, but until then this day makes me sad and I tend to avoid it. I am getting better about it over the years.



This is an easy freewrite being as this is Mother’s Day, and I had an amazing mother. I am not able to spend this day with her because she has already passed, but I think of her every year. She was a fun mom, but also very strict. She loved to talk to her sister and her friends on the phone, and she loved country music.

She would start each day with a cup of coffee and a crossword puzzle. This is when she had her me time. She would wake before us kids and spend an hour listening to her music and looking up words in her old dictionaries. Then she would get ready for work.

When we were young, she would take us swimming at the local pool and run us around to our after-school activities. She was a great bowler and went out bowling once a week. She was even on Bowling for Dollars which was an old tv show in Pittsburgh.

I will always remember her as a hard-working woman who always made sure were clothed and well feed. I sincerely miss her taking me school shopping and helping me get ready for school. She was smart and did taxes on the side for extra money and always tried to keep others in a good mood. I missed her before she was gone, and I still miss her now.

Happy Mother’s Day!!



More posts by @simgirl
Freewritehouse 200 Day Party!!! Join the Fun!
Day 201: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: Important
Day 202: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: Parasol
Day 203: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: Back Pain
Day 204: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Late
The Weekend Freewrite- 5/12/2018 The Help

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgurw

Imgur


Thanks to @snook for this super cool gif!

Sort:  

Nicely written! ;-) Looks like we are sailing the same boat. My Mother died from cancer too, and since 1995 I have avoided this day like the plague. And I also lost my older brother too. Not a day goes by...

I know this day brings so much joy to others so I try to be positive. Sorry you are in the same boat but thanks for the company.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42