Freewrite #9 - Red Wine

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

kyle-loftus-594511-unsplash.jpg
(Photo Credit : Kyle Loftus)

I’ve never understood the fascination behind the red wine phenomenon. It seems that everyone has an opinion or “take” on the topic. I have a group of friends that swear by its properties for being healthy and a natural “blood thinner”. I have friends that, like with food, have an emotional connection to red wine that is every bit as strong.

When they are happy, red wine.
When they are upset, red wine.
When they get a promotion, red wine.
When they lose a loved one, red wine.

I have given both red and white wine a try and I must say that, “I’m just not a wine guy.” I understand why people are into the different types of wine, but I’ve never been able to get past the fact that it tastes like “bitter ass” to me. I guess my palette is not as refined these days.

At parties, mixers or meet & greets, I feel like maybe I am left out of the loop, just a little bit, because I can’t tell you which year or type of red wine is my favorite. I’m a bit daft, in the way of coffee, as well. Even though I don’t feel like the brightest bulb in the pack, I can still appreciate the fact that it brings so much joy to millions of people for completely different reasons.

In that regard, it’s much like music or anything that an enthusiast supports. Red wine instills passion and intellectual conversation. I might not consume or partake in the vino, but I definitely appreciate its qualities.

PREVIOUS FREEWRITES :
#8 - Coin
#7 - Document
#6 - Curry
#5 - Robes
#4 - Texas
#3 - Purple Squirrel
#2 - Blue
#1 - Airplane

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

I am not a red wine girl myself. The only opportunity that I could have had to taste the red wine at least was during my wedding ceremony. However, when the priest held the cup and put it on my mouth to drink it, he withdrew the cup instantly. The wine did not even touch my lips.

Did you throat punch the priest afterwards? Hell, I'd be too damn nervous and wouldn't have even noticed. California Law states that wine must flow like water. So weird to hear the conversations. They're cuckoo for it here.

I agree with you that red wine brings inspiration to many. Though, there are some people who I wonder if they're just reciting what was on the label.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63