Freewrite #3 - Purple Squirrel

in #freewrite6 years ago

marcelo-vaz-339987-unsplash.jpg
(Photo Credit : Marcelo Vaz)

/freewrite

Sunbathing on the diving bored, I began to drift while gazing at the calm ripples made by the sweeper, as it did it’s job gathering leaves from the bottom of the pool. Enjoying the rays of a warm, yellow sun, I sensed something was moving in the yard.

Out of the corner of my eye, there was a quick motion. I didn’t think much of it, at the time. Maybe it was a mosquito? Maybe it was the neighbor’s cat trying to get at the birds again? Continuing to enjoy my relaxation time, the motion happened again. This time I looked over to the area I thought the disturbance might be emanating from.

Pure confusion consumed my body, as I made the startling discovery that it was a squirrel.

“I can’t stand squirrels. Squirrels are nasty varmants that have rabies and kill cats. Evil little bastards”, I muttered under my breath. Something was peculiar about this squirrel. I made no sudden movements, as I did not want to startle the thing.

The squirrel was eating an acorn, next to the purple martin feeder under the oak tree. As I nudged closer, I discovered that this wasn’t just any squirrel. Nope! This squirrel had a purple hue to it’s coat.

My internal voice was giddy with excitement. “A purple squirrel!”

So many questions are born out of curiosity.

Why is this squirrel purple?
Where did this squirrel come from?
Has anyone else seen this squirrel?
Why is this squirrel in my backyard?
What is this purple squirrel doing?
Is it a female or male purple squirrel?
Are there more purple squirrels?
I’ve had squirrel chili, does a purple squirrel taste better than a regular squirrel?

It was at that moment that the squirrel made eye contact with me and got very agitated. After eating its acorn, it turn around and hissed at me. Looking around for a shovel, the squirrel gnashed its teeth and lunged for my face.

Lunging up from out of my bed, I realized it was a dream that turned into a nightmare. How could such a great dream of lounging in the sun turn into something so vile?

/freewrite

Word Count : 362
HTML added, once the session expired


PREVIOUS FREEWRITES :

#2 - Blue
#1 - Airplane

Sort:  

It is for certainty, you are a writer who can string together a phrase about anything and make it sound completely entertaining. LOL. Thank you so much for sharing your hatred squirrels. That is indeed a first for me. Purple is my favorite color, so A Girl genuinely appreciates your excitement. I look forward to your future short stories and dreams/ nightmares

LOLZ. I guess I have a knack of breaking things down to its lowest form. My friend and I are taking a trip to Minneapolis soon. We've created our own Prince Tour and will be going to all of his old stomping grounds. In my world, Purple = Prince. Thank you for the compliments. Very much appreciated.

Reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,600+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and reply to my last comment. It's free. @a-0-0 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50