Freewrite #11 - Basket

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

clem-onojeghuo-90394-unsplash.jpg
(Photo Credit : Clem Onojeghuo)

A basket seems so mundane.
Neutral in color, most boring, most plain.

Symbolic in nature
Sturdy and wide
A basket will endure
A basket will not hide

Protector of many things
A basket does not falter
Defender of tranquility
A basket never tries to alter

For me, baskets are a visually symbolic thing that could be used to describe my life, in a nutshell. A basket goes about its life storing things, protecting things from the elements, keeping one’s life in order. A basket makes things simpler, easy to find.

Most of us wouldn’t think twice about a basket
……….what it’s made of?
………..what color is it?
……..what are we using it for?
..........who cares?

Yes, a basket is a mundane thing that never gets a second thought, yet is entrusted to do many things. A basket can be physical, sure, but can also be used in sports or temporary things like shopping. A basket is a thing or place that collects or gathers multiple other things into a nice and tidy space.

What does a basket mean to you? Leave a comment!

For me, a basket organizes things into an order of some sort.
I’d like to think that I’m good at organizing things and presenting them in easily digestible chunks. Some are good, some are bad, but I try my best to be that sturdy rock one can depend on.

Am I digging too deep?
Too abstract?

What does the word “basket” mean to you?

PREVIOUS FREEWRITES :
#10 - Dude
#09 - Red Wine
#08 - Coin
#07 - Document
#06 - Curry
#05 - Robes
#04 - Texas
#03 - Purple Squirrel
#02 - Blue
#01 - Airplane

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

I read your Coin Poem but it was too old to upvote, so I came to your baskets story. They are both great reads. Congratulations 👏

Thank you so much, @wonderwop
I appreciate the props!

I'm no good at organizing... If I had a basket, it would be full of stuff, mostly junk I cannot make myself throw away.

Here is the new prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-186-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-house-coat

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Congratulations @zingali! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83