Freewrite : The Power of Momentum

in #freewrite6 years ago

This is my first attempt at freewriting, and I must say, it's something out of the ordinary to sit down and just write the stream of subconscious thoughts that surfaces. I find that especially fascinating is the fact that as I'm writing these words I have consciously no clue what the next words will be.

The topic of today is momentum, or more precisely the power of momentum. A topic that per se might seem a little bit obvious since we all "know" that momentum is key to just about any goal we aspire to achieve, but still isn't because very few of us actually practice it day after day regardless of our circumstances.

1

Image Source

To be honest, just writing from my heart, I have no clue how I'd like to outline this article. So I'm going to start from a physics point of view.

Studying to become an engineer myself I've done my fair share of physics. And while I don't remember all Newton's laws in order and by word, the inspiration for this article is the fact that it takes a lot of energy to set an object in motion from a resting state. More than what it takes to sustain an already moving object.

This renders true to everything in life. If you have a particular goal, and you work towards that goal, let's say every other or every third day (or even worse once a week or once a month), the energy you spend setting your project in motion every time largely exceeds the energy you would spend just keeping the project moving every day regardless of how little that push might be.

Taking a personal example, let's look at my Steemit journey. Since I started posting on this platform I've been at it every single day since start, documenting the amount of posts, comments and followers in an excel spreadsheet. Not a single day have I done less than one comment. And I'm a 100 % convinced that my early successes and momentum here is a product of putting in a little bit of effort each day, leading to a compound effect as the days adds up.

Something important to keep in mind is that keeping the momentum flowing every day also serves great psychological benefits. The feeling of every day going after your goal and not looking back. Who cares if you spend as little as 5 minutes working towards that goal? You're at it, you're doing it, you will feel the fire, the motivation, inspiration will follow. And then again, once you sit there for those 5 minutes, it's a great chance those 5 minutes ends up at 10, 15 or 45 minutes.

Every journey begins with a single step. But also every day you got to keep walking. And sure you might get to the end goal although you are doing occasional stops. But I can promise you the journey gets a lot more pleasant (and quicker as well for that matter) if you walk every day, smell the flowers along the way, and never look back.

For those of you unfamiliar with freewriting, the art implies writing non-stop without pausing, just flowing, letting your subconscious parts of yourself to do the task of putting words upon the screen. 100% RAW.

Time spent writing? A 5-7 minutes tops.

Besides challenging myself this was an attempt to convey a profound message in another art form. I could obviously have written this post in a more formal manner, but I wanted to try to do somethings pure and 100% genuine and to witness to result.

So my question to you is:

Did you enjoy it? Did the different vibe impact you in a new way? Positive or negative?

Drop a comment and tell me if you would like to see a post like this every now and again. Likewise be honest and tell me if you like it more formally and that appeals to you more. 🙏🏼

Latest popular posts

200 followers after 30 days on Steemit by natural growth! My many thanks & how I did it.
Better You #4 : The Difficult Art of Relaxation & The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck
Better You #3 : Investing $1000 in Steem. Inside suffering is the seed of change.
Better You #2 : Hacks to improve your sleep and practical tips & thoughts to enhance your life
Better You #1 : A new Steemit project to help us all become the best version of ourselves

Sort:  

Funny enough our best writing is when it's purely subconscious, just letting your finger tips glide over the key board and draining your thoughts. I felt this was a well put together piece. My eyes couldn't stop following the words and although I don't know much about momentum but that didn't matter as I was listening to your inner thoughts. Good job! I cannot wait to read more of your articles.

Your words are very appreciated 🙏🏼 Your response in one way is exactly what I wanted to induce, happy to have you around my friend!

Excellent. Precisely my reasoning as well. I think @chr7is will also like this. Great read.

Glad you enjoyed it my friend!

William brother , article is amazing!! You said "Every journey begins with a single step. But also every day you got to keep walking. " !! It's okay but what about the first step, from where to get the motivation for first step? For example am trying to starting a new site from last 1 month but not able to do so!!

Overcoming procrastination is a huge topic by itself, but I must say my favourite method to take that first step is to make the step as small as possible. As you say, starting a new site is quite a big project. But if you break it down what are some small easy steps that are right in front of you? Perhaps, 1) choosing a name, 2) register the side, 3) setting up the hosting, 4) ....

You feel me? Just break it down until the next step is clear and easy to execute, then fuck it if you need to go slow, just do a minimum of one step each day and you eventually be on your way. 🙏🏼

Thank you very much for the motivation! You are the best!

I think I've found a new favorite writer here! I'm so glad I stumbled upon your profile! Hello from Norway (or from Africa ATM) :p

Thank you @susanne! 🙌🏼 And I'm glad I stumbled upon yours!

Still in Cape Town? Love that place, you should really visit the table mountain if you get the chance (do the climb also if you got time 😉), remember that was beautiful.

Greetings from Sweden! Although I'm actually going to Norway next month, ice-climbing in Rjukan 😁

This is beautiful @williamwest. I for one digs raw content the most, hence my content are usually raw especially my vlogs (no edits, cuts, nothing). Keep it up, and let your brain juice flow!!

Thank you brother! Yeah I've noticed your going very raw in your videos, besides being efficient it gets very genuine as well 🤟🏼

Very beautifully written and bang on. If you have a goal commit yourself completly to it. Think of it everyday and work towards it in big or small ways, as you say as little as 5 mins who cares.
I have a sinilar journey on steemit, but I write alternate days and the day I am not writing I catch up on comments. Its been a great journey so far :)

Yeah you seem to be doing quite well on your channel, as you say, keep the momentum going and you see the results 💯

Happy to have you around 🙌🏼

Momentum, indeed a fact that sometimes I also wanted to write whatever I wanted to scribble that comes out from my mind but the problem is? I never try it for I don't know if I myself will understand the results of what I am writing then, hahaha. But I think I want to try it just to chat down everything that comes out from my mind but maybe later for I'm not sure when, hehehe. But what u have said I guess can ease what's bothering on our thoughts especially if we are in deep thinking. Positive in my part, steem on :)

Thank you for your comment! I definitely think you should try it out, the best part is that you can set a timer for 5 minutes and just write. Very small investment!

Hit me up if you decide to post your results here on Steemit, would love to read that! 😁

Hahaha I will tnx for the tips I guess I will try it, hope it will still rhyme like my poems, but I'm afraid it will be a mess which will hard to comprehend hahaha. I've got lots inside my brained but I couldn't put it all in words I short I can't explained it in more comprehensible tone. So, momentum must be tried. Steem on! :) I'll update u sooner or later :)

Such a great post. When we have momentum...never stop it...never slow down because you will change that to the opposite way, which will drag you down and you may never be able to get back up!!

Spot on brother, at times we may think that stopping will give us new energy - and it will under certain circumstances - but more often it get more heavy and simply slow us down 🙌🏼

Yea. I noticed this how people out of high school/college accomplish so much and later down the road when we should be more experience, accomplished way less. Momentum!! :D

I never really understood the term "freewrite." Thanks for the clarification. I like your analogy of Newtons Laws. An object in motion tends to stay in motion...

I was confused myself first as well, but most say the artform really appeals to me, what do you say? Newton was a wise man wasn't he 😉

I think it was great. Looking forward to more of your work.

@ray4u, when I read this post by @williamwest, I knew you would enjoy it!! I can't remember did I share his link with you? Either way, I'm glad you enjoyed it as much as I did! Good job @williamwest!

This is another really great post from you that I really like. Keeping a momentum is so important and as you said if you only do thing once a week or a few times a month it will be really hard to start up every time and remember what to do and how to do it.
I really love steemit and I try to make a post every day but some days I fail. Not a day goes by though where I don't comment and engage.
Thank you for your great content :)

You do a great job Nicole sweetheart😚😊

Thank you darling <3

Agree a 100% Nicole. Personally I strive to make a post at least every other day but regardless of circumstances I spend time engaging with Steemit. I find it extremely important to just keep building every day 🙏🏼

Thank you your awesome comment 🙌🏼

Thank you so much William. I'm so happy to find other likeminded people. Steemit feels a little bit like home :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44