Day 524: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday-Prompt: buffer

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 524: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Thursday-Prompt: buffer

Chrysalis vs. Cocoon

Butterfly Chrysalis


source

A butterfly caterpillar sheds its last layer of skin to make a chrysalis. The outer layer of the chrysalis hardens to form a case around the pupa which often takes on the color of its surroundings to help blend in. Silk is only spun to attach the chrysalis to a twig or underneath a leaf.

Moth Cocoon


source

A moth caterpillar will spin a silk cocoon around it and sometimes will add their body hairs, leaves and twigs. Cocoons are found underneath leaves or inside crevices.

Both act as a buffer of protection as the pupae undergo complete metamorphosis.

Now for my shameless plug. What is new? I have an ongoing weekly giveaway titled, "Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway" for a chance to win SBI shares. The first 2 weeks were for butterfly photos only. This is my 3rd week and a friend of mine inspired me to add butterfly artwork. If interested, you can read the rules here. Hope to see you there!

Sort:  

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Until today, I am still amazed by the metamorphosis of butterfly.


I know I am late but better than nothing 😋. Also, I want to support you for writing with us. If you haven't checked out the next prompt, here it is ➡️ 'deep space'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page to join more awesome contests at the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I am too! Nature never ceases to amaze me. Thanks for the prompt delivery! : )

Howdy Butterfly! a post about butterflies? that's bizarre. lol. Butterfly artwork is coming too? Isn't that a little too much? Haven't you heard of having too much of a good thing? I hear that alot when I'm around so I'm very familiar with it. lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80