Day 274: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday-Prompt: squash

in #freewrite6 years ago

Day 274: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Friday-Prompt: squash

I knew in a nanosecond that I wanted to write about the Squash Bug. @f3nix writes many Haiku poems so I thought I would try one with this prompt. It is a 3 line poem with 17 syllables written in a 5/7/5 syllable count, and no rhyming allowed. What? No rhymes?!?! That was extremely difficult for me. Not many words but it did take me the whole 5 minutes to write this.

Quench my piercing thirst,
Sucking on pumpkin, squash juice.
A pest, Squash the bug.
.

FYI: Squash bugs have piercing, sucking mouth parts and they suck the sap from squash and pumpkin plants. While they are doing this, they inject toxins which wilts the plant and kills it. These squash bugs are pests and do a lot of damage. If you didn't know about the squash bug, you wouldn't understand the poem. If I try this again, maybe I should write about something that everyone can relate to. Any thoughts?

Image Source: 100% my own.

Sort:  

Check it out....
A 100% upvote for you from the Freewrite House. Thank you for participating in the Recommend a Freewrite Poem contest.

And check it out
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/winner-week-3-recommend-your-favorite-freewrite

Thanks so much for the awesome upvote! : )

You are welcome :)

Do they stink when crushed?

We have similar bugs, they feed on hazelnut and cause the hazelnut to be empty shells...and they stink a lot!

They sure do stink! That is a shame that the ones you have feed on your hazelnuts. They sure are pests.

The sh*t you find nowadays in our poor harvests..

Hello friend! I see you got haikued, ha! It's a refreshing exercise, isn't it? Altough it's not so easy to say what you want with those limited verses (some say that in English should be 3-5-3 .. metrics are just the tip! of the iceberg). Good first haiku, keep practicing and they will create peace and harmony in your soul 😉

Ciao my Italian friend! Thanks so much for reading my first Haiku! That means so much to me since you are the master of Haiku's and you were the one that got me interested in doing them. I couldn't believe how difficult it was but I loved it. 3-5-3...impossible! I will definitely keep practicing. Grazie again! : )

What's more important is the mood, the kireji and the kigo.. in an haiku there's no ego but just sense of wonder for what happens around us. I did one 3-5-3 .. it's the one with the blue jay feather. It's not impossibile in English, a quite immediate language. Traditionally, the haiku is composed of 17 on/morae (sounds let's say) and not syllables. Ah.. I'm not a master but a very simple beginner hehe .. cheers!

Please forgive me for missing this message my friend. I just read your Blue Jay haiku and you made it look so easy to do with 3-5-3. I understand now, about the mood, especially with this poem. I felt so bad that the blue jay lost its feather during the storm. Yes, the mood came across. I haven't been practicing because I can't think when I am not feeling well or have a migraine. But all is good now and I am excited to begin practicing. Thanks again for your time and help my dear Italian friend! Grazie! : )

Win, I'm glad you're well first of all. Take the haiku as something that, once crafted, can donate you inner peace and harmony. Forgetting your ego and immerse in the wonder of the world is regenerating 🙂

Thanks @f3nix! Ah, I love what you wrote about the haiku and I will definitely keep that in mind. That is what happens to me when I am out for a walk in a park, absorbing all of natures wonders and the rest of the world is gone. Just me and nature. I sure do appreciate you taking the time to help me. Grazie my Italian friend and I hope you are doing well also. : )

No rhyme this time I mean no rhyme right now lol
Earwigs? lol ears
Squash don't scratch and lol
💕

I can't stand those earwigs! I had one pinch my toe once and they are ugly too.
You definitely don't want to scratch and sniff Squash bugs because they stink!

Good job with the haiku! I learned something!

Thanks and I am glad to know that you learned something. : )

I followed you and up vote. please followback @huanmv

Hi @whatisnew! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @f3nix!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66