Weekend Challenge 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

Weekend 5 Minute Freewrite - This is my 3 Prompt Challenge issued by @marrianewest
Check the original post here: Weekend Challenge

There she was, Amy Gerstein, over by the pool, kissing my father.

I pictured Mom's face, her laughing eyes when we arrived at Niagra Falls two summers ago. Mom and Dad held hands walking to the fence to view the majesty off this natural wonder together.

Amy was what the world classified as beautiful. Slim and full breasted in a salmon bikini. Gucci sunglasses and a billowy sarong. She moved with easy confidence and a catlike grace and I hated her for all her kiss represented to my once ordered life.

I moved toward the pool and dived in, swimming, swimming....letting the insulating quiet of its chlorinated water wash over my smarting soul.

fun-1850709_1920.jpg

Change was brewing, major change, and my senior year would be the hardest ever, dividing my time between dad's apartment with Amy and home with Mom who hid her emotions as she packed away photos of the family that included Dad.

The bare spots on the wall where the photos once rested were lighter, silent testament that someone was missing.

I surfaced for air, gasping after the long submerge and rolled on my back, floating where the water drew me.

On the following Friday, We packed our bags and planned our escape. Mom was ready for a trip and called to make sure we hadn't forgotten anything.

I slipped into the passenger seat beside her. She rested her hands on the wheel, looking strait ahead and smiled tentatively at me.

"This is our first new adventure!"

She looked pretty, and tired.
"Ok, Mom...all set."

The resort was beautiful and Mom walked briskly to the desk to check us in as soon as we arrived.

"Reservation for two," she said.

As she walked, her heels tapped across the lobby. Several men turned to appreciate her shapely legs peeking out of a flowing sundress.

I suddenly felt invisible where I once felt part of an insulated unit.

Our bargain resort became a series of unfortunate events. The AC was sputtering and the room stifling hot. By my bed was a long ugly stain on the wall. The bell boy apologized for the AC and set off to get someone to fix it.

Mom walked slowly to the bathroom and closed the door quietly. The sun was setting outside the window and I heard laughter outside by the pool bar. I sat on the bed and studied the colors of the spreading stain, wondering if Mom would come out of the bathroom with swollen eyes again.

"Mom, I'll meet you at the pool," I said as I slipped out of the stained room.
pco56kbxi.png

DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

Proud member of the Minnow Support Project on Peace, Abundance & Love Network.
Come join the channel, for uplifting conversation and learn your path on Steemit.
Join Here

logo.jpg

Logo by @KingLeo47

Sort:  

I want to know! Did the mother commit suicide? Did the daughter ever recover?

An inquiring mind wants to know.

Well done, Janelle! Amazing details for such a dash to the finish line write. You are rocking these!

Thank you, @dswigle. I'm really loving the opportunity to stretch into fiction this way. I may revisit these characters.

Yes!! You need to. Or, I need you to. ;)

One piece at a time <3 ;)

Good questions to ponder!

nice short story again and you are now perfect writer..

Love your writing as always - and agree with Denise. do come back to this story - so much there. I am so enjoying what everyone came up with :) https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-18-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-write-about-something-which-was-left-at-your-door

Sorry I missed this....Sunday my power was taken out by a tree during a severe thunder storm. We were just restored 1/2 hour ago!

Oh wow. Glad you are back. You join in when you can - all good :)

Thank you! I will try to catch up! I love the challenges.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Hi. I am an upvote/resteem bot for @xtdevelopment that just upvoted your post.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @NanoCheeZe.
@xtdevelopment is the parent company of the @NanoCheeZe MEQUAVIS Project, An AI Defense System and Safety Certification Program.
We are building a Virtual Quantum Firewall to contain AI within a VR based Digital Multiverse


To have your posts resteemed by @xtdevelopment, simply follow @xtdevelopment and @nanocheeze, and then make a transaction of any amount to @xtdevelopment with the memo being the url of the post you want resteemed.
If you want to learn more about our project, contribute/support, or help test software, then please visit our website or - visit @NanoCheeZe.


NanoCheeZe
NanoCheeZe.com

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44