The Truth About Things - Day 50 Selfie Freewrite Celebration

in #freewrite6 years ago

The Truth About Things

I've learned in life not to grow too attached to things. Things break. They break, they get lost, they lose parts, chip and fade. Possessions are not as important as people. It's easier to hold things with a light grip.

The worst loss of possessions that I suffered happened during a time when I fled my home and found refuge after a violent argument with my ex-husband. I told him I was pregnant with our third child one night and he raged at me. He told me to get rid of it. I told him absolutely not, that I would leave him first. Unbeknownst to me, he was carrying on with another woman behind my back, so he didn't want any more children.

I ran for a car driven by his relative who I called when I reached the phone to take me to his parents and then they called the police to advise them that he attacked me.

The police went to our house only to find a huge bonfire on the front yard. It was all my personal clothes and possessions, my art and my writing. That was a devastating loss, but one I lived through.

I delivered my baby and he was healthy, though early. I have kept my heart from holding to close to things. People may make chips in your esteem with cruelty, or they may try to take away your possessions, but you always possess your own heart.

This is my 50th freewrite for the Day 200 Selfie Freewrite Celebration. It's been a wonderful challenge and I've come to know and appreciate everyone who participated. I'm thankful for @mariannewest for her hard work and for all the wonderful participants and donators. Thank you all for encouraging me. I can't lie, a few times I felt way too exhausted to continue, but the love of the group kept me in the contest. Thank you all!


I broke this decorative plate yesterday while vacuuming my apartment to prepare for my sister's visit this weekend

**This is my 5 minute freewrite.
The prompt is chips

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking *referrals earn free coin, too!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wandrnrose7/it-s-ok-to-be-different-day-48-selfie-freewrite-celebration

Sort:  

A positive attitude to what must have been a very harrowing experience.
I agree entirely about accumulating stuff. As the saying goes, the more you own the less you live. What I own I can fit into a large suitcase.

I didn't know that you were pregnant when you got out of this relationship. That makes it even so much harder!! And you had to flee to his parents! So crazy.
And I so agree with you. Things come and go. Even people. My sister lost her husband 2 days ago. they met later in life and they were so happy together. I am so sad for her, but Iknow that they cherished all their time together.
Thank you for hanging in there.

Unfortunately, this incidendt wasn't the end of the relationship. He wormed his way back and I dropped charges at his mom's
request and we continued to go back and forth with his promises to change and he got counseling. I was in the church and he'd go and pretend he had changed and even fooled the preacher and others who knew me much longer, but I never told the rest of them about the abuse.

We were separated 18 times in a 20 year marriage and when Ben was 11 and Billy 16, we left for good. I had no resources or a job and we lived in the country then and even then thought we would be on the streets, i thought, this time I was never returning. Thank God for my friend who took us all in and helped me get on my feet, get my first apartment and apply and get my first jobs.

I am praying for your sister, too. That's so sad. I pray I get a good long time with Jeff.

It is so hard to leave abusive relationships - especially with all the social pressure to stay and no income... Hugs to the Janelle of that day. You really have overcome!
I too am praying for you to have a long time with Jeff!

Yes, it is, and many people become frustrated with women who return again and again to abusers because they have children and no one to help them break free. When you srart out at 17 in that mess it is akin to Stockholm like mentality and the abuser slowly brainwashes you to pity them. I was lucky I learned as I aged how to network. I credit the computer and my online friends a lot who helped me see my value and encouraged me to go. as well as one who offered to kennel Sasha for a month while I transitioned because I wouldnt leave her behind. He was an online boss of a mortgage refinance company. We can find a way if we fight for it. Thanks for being so supportive. Hugs.

hugs right back to you. You nailed it! support is so important and so many people are not getting it and end up in awful situations. I think even many an abuser wouldn't be one if they had more support in their own life - mind you, some are just bad and are enjoying the power trip, but some are just acting out their own frustration with life.
So much despair all around us and I wish I could help everyone!!
Hugs right back to you :)

I agree with you. The cycle rarely begins with the individual abusers. The true intent becomes apparent after years of having learned of the damage to the family, yet resisting any change to restore.

100% upvote and resteem Janelle @wandrnrose7

Thank you so much, my friend.

Your post was nominated and featured on this week's Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse

Thanks for joining us for this #freewrite challenge and keep up the great work!

freewriteFavorites300.png

Thank you so much!

I too try not to be too attached to anything, not even people
To just focus on enjoying the experience
Hugs @wandrnrose7

That is the best path, I agree. Much love!

You are free to wander about and be happy. I am so over the moon that you and Jeff found each other and more than a little sad that you had to go through that to find your slice of happy.

I wish I had your strength to write - I cannot seem to have a moment to myself, even now, but, I love reading yours and shamefully lurk more than write because I wouldn't have as much time to read... but, sometimes, I just want you to know I am reading and following a few of you.

And @mariannewest is the best! All day long!

Aww thank you! I'm happy about Jeff, too.
I think he's happy <3
No worries on the reading part apposed to writing, we all need readers! Hugs
Love ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85