It's OK to Be Different - Day 48 Selfie Freewrite Celebration

in #freewrite6 years ago

It's OK To Be Different

It was immediately apparent to my parents that I was different. My mother and father bred pretty young and looked very similar to each other. They were of the same breed and, well, a bit stocky. The family coloring was evident in all five of my siblings, except for me. My Gramma called me a throwback.

"What is this hairless one?" She asked, "I dont recall any chihuahuas in this bloodline. Look at her, she's weak and scrawny, Murf."

My father just shook his head and laid a protective paw on my head.

"Yip, yip," I said, wagging my thin little tail.

"Maybe you should feed her more." Gramma pushed a meat bone at me as big as a humans leg. I tried to pick it up and fell flat on my snout with an oof.
I looked pleadingly at my father who chomped the bone up and set it on the ground by him.

"Mother, she's our pup. Maybe she's just small because she's the runt."

My chubby brothers and sisters ran around the yard barking in loud, deep WOOFs. Oh, how I wish I could be more like them so the attention would be focused elsewhere.

The postman came and I sprung to action. "Yip, yip, yip!" My little legs pumping so fast that I shot like a bullet in front of my siblings, paws almost floating over the tall grass and surpassing my siblings who started way ahead of me.

Gramma exclaimed, "Look at that little hairless runt run!"

Dad puffed up his already big chest and said,"Yes, Mother. She's different, but she's got special talent!"

Dad taught me a valuable lesson indeed:
Dare to be different by just being me.

**This is my 5 minute freewrite.
The prompt is five

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking *referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Ha ha, that picture made me laugh at the end, the wonders of snapchat photos eh? In all seriousness though, the lesson is a good one to learn.

Dare to be different by just being me.

100% agree :-)

thank you @raj808
Sometimes we need reminded we are each unique and maybe our differences aren't nearly as bad as some think. ;)

😂 Such a cute selfie! I love your sweet little story and think the Dad was simply wonderful for loving and accepting his pup for the differences! Thanks for the Mannabase link! Have a great day and try to keep cool with this summer heat!

Hi @brisby! Thanks for stopping by and the kind compliment! It's always nice when parents celebrate our unique abilities and praise us in public. Kids blossom under such love!

Awww...that's a cute story. I especially love the description of her running "paws almost floating over the tall grass" :D

Thank you my friend! I need to come over and visit you, that's a selfie freewrite for 50 days was pretty consuming on top of my regular work week. I need to get caught up on everything else! I hope you're doing well.

Yes same with me! I've been almost too busy for Steemit. Getting back to it a bit now. Hope you're doing well too :) Did you ever finish The Dinner Party?

No, I never did yet. :( good to see you back!

Woof. Woof, woof woof woof. Woof, woof woof.
Woof, woof!
Woof, woof.

steemsig.png
Woof
@joe.nobel
woof, woof woof, woof
why not stop at my blog and check out some my latest, Infidelity Games?
Careful. Explicit and erotic.

Thanks for the visit, joe.nobel. woof!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62419.28
ETH 2628.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56