The Dinner Party - Part 5 - Day 158:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Dinner Party - Part 5

For those who requested a continuation of The Dinner Party here is today's freewrite prompt in Part 5 of the story.

If you wish to read the previous installments you may read them here:

The Dinner Party - Party

The Dinner Party - Party 2

The Dinner Party - Part 3

The Dinner Party - Part 4

This segment was a 90 minute 5 minute freewrite.


Carlo dropped to his knees beside Ellen, cupping her face in his hands.

"Ellen? Ellen!? Baby, speak to me!"

Ellen's eyes remained closed. Carlo leaned low to her face, searching for assurance that she was alive. He exhaled with relief. Her lips, parted slightly, were still breathing. An angry red stain of dark blood began pooling in her hair on the cobbled stones. Carlo probed her head for the wound.

"Bethany!" Carlo roared. His head darting left and right, struggling to scout for his sister's ghost.

"Where are you? Who is this?"

In answer, the night air stirred around them. Wind began flailing the trees and brushing the house beside them, a sound akin to fingers scrabbling a chalkboaed. Rain began pelting the earth, running down Carlos cheeks and speckling Ellen's silk dress fanned around her pale legs.

"She won't die, Carlo," assured the voice,"nor will your unborn son if you follow my instructions."

"She's pregnant?? How do you even know this?"

"We know Grandfather's bonds reach maturity tomorrow, big brother. If you turn yourself in to the police for pushing me down the stairs before midnight tonight, Ellen and your son will be spared. I was there, Carlo. I heard your phone conversation with Damien the night I was murdered, the night I unfortunately slipped and fell to my death. I know you intended to kill me to get Grandfather's fortune. The inheritance was intended for me. Grandfather knew you weren't going to use his money for good intentions. Your poor decisions had already cost our Father his own fortune and you were still in danger of losing your life. No one even knew."

"No, Bethany! I wouldn't do that to you!"

A click sounded in the night.

"Dominic," came the voice of a younger Carlo," I have a plan to take the $10,000,000 inheritance from Bethany and I'll be able to pay you both back! Just give me a little more time. I promise you, I'm worth way more to you and Randall alive than dead!," the voice drifting into Carlo's ear sounded scratched, like an old cassette recording.

"You did, Carlo," came his sister's voice, "you're going to prove tonight what you truly desire most."

Carlos hand stroked Ellen's wet cheek, his face contorted in rage towards sister, then sorrow. Tears stung his eyes. All the plans for his company, the easy future for him and Ellen, meant nothing without her, and now his unborn child.

"I'll do it, Dear God, don't punish Ellen for my greed!"

"Before midnight, Carlo!"

man-979980_1920.jpg
Image


Thank you for reading!

This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.
Here is Sunday's prompt
before midnight

Today's prompt is scout

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

No one will ever stop talking about this dinner party! As horrible as what he did was, I like that you showed that Carlo at least has love for his wife and unborn child.

Yes at least he cares for his family, in a way he shows some humanity..

Steemy (literally) and very dramatic!! Lovely!

Thank you so much for reading! <3 I just keep plugging in the dark lol

That's one dysfunctional dinner party. I'm feeling so much stress right now!
I'm curious how you'll work in today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-159-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-think

Lol sorry to stress you out! Yes, dysfunctional does encapsulate this party. I don't think I'll plan one anytime soon, at least not one with a medium for entertainment! Thanks for the prompt. Today was a migraine day, so no sequel yet, but I don't know that the party is completely over!

Ah man, that's a big bummer. I hope you feel better and up to more dinner partying soon!

I know. I am greedy. I want more, please!

I will work on it lol! This has truly been a work in progress. Thanks for the daily encouragement! hugs!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is a juicy development in a vengeful climax!

Whoah! I was wondering what her gambit was, what she could possibly have to gain by haunting him from the beyond... this must be it :0

I wonder what he's really going to do...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27