5minFreewrite - Solitude

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

DF9IyC3.jpg
Today i'll be writing a short story following the prompt Solitude as given by my benefactor @mariannewest . You can learn more about the contest here freewrite. Basically you set your timer for 5 minutes and spazz out on the story till times up lol. Hope you enjoy it.

Solitude

It’s cold. My head’s hung at a crooked angle. A girl passes me and I stare at her bangle. Reminds me of an Egyptian artifact I saw at the Museum a few days ago. Whatever, I don’t care.
Two large totems pass me, then a dog. It’s got no fear. I stare at my fingers, observing every line and wrinkle. From a distance a faint chime and jingle.
Now I’m in the middle of a desert. Wind’s heavy. I wrap my face with my shemagh so I can see clearly.
I spot a cave and I navigate the soft sand to its inviting shelter. Guess I’ll have to wait this one out.
I place my hand on the wall and feel a coarse inscription.
“What’s this?”
A shadowy figure races to the edge of my field of vision. The writing is standard hieroglyphic.
"Beware the storm of the dust,
Seek not recluse in the clove of trust
At the warmest hour of dusk
Sustenance for Uraeus"
This has my attention. The sandstorm rages outside as I scrape the wall with aggression.
As I enter deeper the limestone ground gets softer. It’s now almost pitch black, but I’m not bothered. I have my phone with me. I press the torch button to read more. That’s when I see it. A huge slithering reptile. Snake? No, this was a Basilisk. I step back and my feet flattens an oddly shaped rock. I look down to my dismay. I was never standing on chalk, these were crushed bone! The mangled bodies around me are innumerable. Perfectly preserved and kept odorless by the swift dry winds of the desert. It’s eyes glow yellow with a tint of green as it approaches me. I turn to run but see that its tail block my path. I’m transfixed as we seem about to communicate telepathically.
It eyes me and then opens its mouth
“Kevin!”
Yeah?
“Why you sitting by yourself in the middle of a Christmas party?”

Sort:  

Holy @#$% what is Kevin on? So I never take any ;)

This was a really surprising freewrite, all the way along, it kept moving in directions I wasn't expecting. Great writing :)

Thank you! Glad you liked it.

Nice post upvote me

Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!

Thank You! ⚜

No voting no vote

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @ulqu3!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

OMG! I was drawn in from the beginning and I sure didn't expect it to end the way it did. I really enjoyed this. Tip!
I am your prompt deliverer today. Have fun! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-132-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-gardening

Thank you. Appreciate the love.

My pleasure! : )

Hi @ulqu3! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Weekend Freewrite 2/24/2018-Single Prompt Option: Switch Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4200+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 10,000+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Awesome man👍

You got a 3.89% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @ulqu3. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ulqu3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41