Day 123: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: fumigate

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

This is my Freewrite for the Day 123: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: fumigate, hosted by @mariannewest.


Imgur

Stock


line1 2


I watched as they closed the house.
It was time to fumigate.
Everything I owned now belonged to another species.
One that was not invited;
Not wanted;
And certainly not expected.
Nevertheless, the pests came over from across the lawn.
The neighbors had only recently moved in there.
But they had carried the bugs from their old home.
They were disgusting.
They were annoying,
And they were everywhere.
Why had they picked our neighborhood to live?
And why did they not take them with them when they left?
The new buyers noticed first.
The tent showed up in their yard.
Later that week we noticed the nuisance.
They crept to and fro as we slept.
I wanted to burn the house.
But cooler heads prevailed.
The house was ours.
And we would not give up so easily.
They can be free to roam bug heaven;
If there is such a thing.
I don’t feel bad about their demise.
Because they are invaders to me.
Filthy invaders that will be eliminated.
And when they are all dead.
I can rest peacefully in my bed again.
I feel bad for the new neighbors of the neighbors,
That left their pests behind.

Thank you to @fireawaymarmot for the Over 20 Club badges!
Imgur

line1 2


follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

"Everything I owned now belonged to another species." Loved this! : )

Thank you!

A bit difficult to leave your pests behind sometimes, if you get what I'm saying. Love this, you're a good writer. I love that at one point you can't really tell if the author means the neighbors or the bugs ;)

What a cool and funny poem. I like your style of writing simgirl

Thank you. I was having a bit of writer's block writing short stories, so I have been trying poems and songs. I think this one still followed a short story, but that's the beauty of a freewrite, it can be anything! :D Thanks for reading.

Totally enjoyed it 😊

Thanks for reading!

I loved this so much! You could FEEL your words! Great job!

Thank you!

Great job @simgirl I usually don't read any before I create mine, but I made an exception. I'm giving you 👍👍 up. 😋

24d8cj.jpg

Thank you!!! This prompt has inspired some good posts. I have been flying around in my paper airplane reading them :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29