I. Dot.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I. Dot.


That's how my son pronounces "idiot".

I like it because it softens the blow so to speak.

Words like idiot, bitch, asshole, dickwad, and the infamous "mf" are strewn about day and night like so many thoughtless mantras embedding our thoughts, intentions, and, why, the very fabric of our lives.

Where does the word idiot come from anyway?

Origins - A Short Etymological Dictionary of Modern English by Eric Partridge says that idiot comes from the Greek word "idios" meaning "proper or peculiar to oneself, private" and it goes on to define the Greek word "idiotes" which means "a private person (not holding public office) hence an ignorant person".

Well there's some food for thought, I'd say. How many derogatory connotations are inherent in the Greek meaning of the word, coupled with it's common usage today?

Now let's look a little deeper in a general sense.

Not only does every word have a vibration, every letter has a vibration.

When we spell a word we are indeed casting a spell; that's why it's called "spelling".

Cymatics, Wikipedia says, is "...from Ancient Greek: κῦμα, meaning "wave", is a subset of modal vibrational phenomena. The term was coined by Hans Jenny (1904-1972), a Swiss follower of the philosophical school known as anthroposophy."

There are lots of videos online demonstrating via Cymatics how sounds and tones produce pictures as well as letters from root languages revealing how those letters are vibrations, (and by stringing them together in words we're creating more complex vibrations).

If thoughts, (and feelings in my estimation), create our lives we seem to indeed be re-creating our lives everyday with our word choices. As such it might behoove us to understand the words we use so flippantly that our children pick up and also use to create their lives in the model their parents and the people around them are giving them.

Are we really all idiots, assholes, bitches, cunts and dicks? And if so, could we be disturbing and distorting the original vibrations those words carry, and thus be disturbing and distorting our selves, our lives and the lives of our offspring?

I tell my son and his friends that our bodies and our body parts are sacred. I mean, isn't it said that our bodies are the Temple of God? The lowest spinal vertebra is called the sacrum - meaning a sacred place. Treating our bodies (and their magnificently movable parts) as sacred allows them to be that which they are designed to be. Treating them as worthless in a derogatory manner defines them as such while distorting their original design.

Is this what we want?

Do we want to shout "idiot" at our fellow humans struggling to heal from the massive traumas humanity has endured, or, reversely, title ourselves "idiots" when we're not doing something we think we should be doing?

Is it helping?

I like to laugh. Many comedians get paid lots of money being self-effacing or calling others out in a clever manner. I laugh at funny jokes of that nature and God knows we all need to laugh more.

So, for me, it's not black or white. I mean, when I'm in a rage you can be sure all kinds of "colorful" language spews forth from my volcanic mouth.

But for certain, I reconsider, reevaluate and rewrite my word choices in defining the reality I'm experiencing into something that feels good to me, and honors the humanity that's learning to evolve what's been an excruciatingly painful road, even if we all are f*cking idiots.

love-trees-on-dartmoor-summer-these-entwined-trees-appear-like-an-D02N5K.jpg

Sort:  

Not only does every word have a vibration, every letter has a vibration.
Oh, I love this!
Physicists tell us the first thing to exist was a vibration, and the Bible says it all began when God said "Let there be light," and the gospel of John tells us "In the beginning was the word, and the word was with God, and the word was God." So, physics affirms what you say:
When we spell a word we are indeed casting a spell; that's why it's called "spelling".
Welcome to #freewritehouse, @sima369!

Thank you Carol! I believe sound plays a vital role in health and evolution; coupled with consciousness, well, anything is possible. It's a pleasure to make your acquaintance and I'm looking forward to getting to know you more :)

Ditto that, and thanks!
Sound may be nothing but a vibration, but it's the one that set off the Big Bang, or it seems. Physics, Creation, it's all one - and sound ties it all together.

This is a fascinating post! I'd never heard of the vibrations idea, but it does make sense. I've never found profanity to be uplifting in any way, nor does it ever contribute meaning to a conversation. Maybe there's a lot more to that than I realized!

Hi Scribblingramma, thank your for your response! I've been looking to understand my needs, and the needs of others when using profanity. In my home I encourage the shouting of "Bless it!" when upset rather than the ever popular "damn it". Body parts I attempt not to use in a derogatory fashion yet it's true if I'm upset they can spew out. When that happens, as in all of my language, I look for deeper needs within myself and rewrite my mental and verbal scripts accordingly. I've been told that the word fuck originates from the action of "fucking the ground" by pushing ones finger into tilled soil so as to plant seeds. I ended the post with "f*cking idiots" from the vantage point of seed planting between humans, and from idiot's original meaning of folks who prefer privacy and do not hold public office (minus the connotation that they are, therefore, "simpleminded"). I'm still searching for balance and conscious intention in it all :) Thanks again for responding and I look forward to getting to know you more as well :)

Congratulations @sima369! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

[![]()](http://steemitboard.com/@sima369) You published your First Post [![]()](http://steemitboard.com/@sima369) You made your First Vote [![]()](http://steemitboard.com/@sima369) You got a First Vote [![]()](http://steemitboard.com/@sima369) Award for the number of upvotes received [![]()](http://steemitboard.com/@sima369) You made your First Comment [![]()](http://steemitboard.com/@sima369) You got a First Reply
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Double welcome to the freewrite community!! So glad that you found us and - what a post! Yay!!
I so agree that our language is powerful and that our children take on what we call them at face value. And they believe what we all others to be their truth.
Laughter rocks!!

Hi Mariannewest! Thanks for the warm welcome! A dear person in my life @bennettitalia has brought me into Steemit and into your exciting group. It would have taken me years to navigate this site without help. I'm happy to know you enjoyed my post and am looking forward to participating whenever I can! Fun in freewrite, hooray!! Thanks again!! :)

How wonderful!! He is such a nice person!! Looking forward to getting to know you better!

Great job on your first #freewrite, just in case you want to try another. 👍

Resident mail man with a Special Delivery:
Webp.net-compress-image__1540446451_75.1.212.152.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-370-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-not-in-my-neighborhood

Awesome, thanks!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Like couples hug

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39