5min Freewrite - five

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

5.jpgSource

This is my entry for the Daily Freewrite Challenge hosted by @mariannewest. You can find the prompt here. Anyone can enter. If I can do this, you can too!

Check out the prompt post even if you do not want to participate. It is filled with all kinds of helpful tips and links.

Today, you have the choice to write on any one of the prompts posted so far. I am pretty sure that most of you haven't done every single one yet.

Prompt: five

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

text01.png

The number five is my favourite number. It has been since forever and I'm not sure why. I remember a time as a small child where it was one of the questions you would be asked when meeting new friends. 'What is your favourite number?' The pressure of having an answer is a clear memory as I felt I would be judged on the answer. And I often could not remember what my previous answer had been. Somewhere I landed on five and stuck to it.

Later I started playing rugby and was mostly picked as a lock forward. There are two lock forwards in a team. Number four and five. I played the role of the number four lock forward but always claimed the number five jersey. When my lock partner objected or anyone else in the team or even the coach I kept on fighting until I got my way. I think everyone realised after a while that it just was not worth that much and let it go.

All of the bickering entrenched my love of the number five. Every time I was selected for some kind of representative team I would hang the new jersey on my cupboard across from my bed and just stare at it for hours. I was savouring the joy of having made the team but the number five was what I was staring at.

Needless to say, the number five is still my favourite even though I will never again be picked for a rugby team.

@reonlouw



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

Walk down memory lane, playing rugby in South Africa most probably one of the most popular sports. Boys in high school used to attract the girls by bragging rights of being selected into the rugby team.

Enjoyed your freewrite story @reonlouw

Yes, it is a fond memory @joanstewart, but the teams I made did not attract too many girls. I have been told I have a face for radio... :-)

Girls always know best! Who are you to question that one Reon.

You seem to love the number 5 jersey more than rugby... 😅

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 373: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: hate.

3 more days... Yup... October is ending and November is just around the corner. The Madness is gonna begin! Find the NaNoWriMo Challenge Instructions HERE

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20180924103629.gif

Thank you @elizacheng. Yes, I loved the jersey and wish I had kept one.

I had to think if I have a favorite number - turns out, I don't 😂

Better that way around @mariannewest. I have discovered that I am not a favourite of numbers. They just do not stick in my head...

Careful, make sure it won't turn into obsession like in the movie 23 with Jim Carey :) just joking anyway! My favourite one was always 13 :)

Ouch, yes @route-m-d. I'll be careful.

I think you're obsessed with the number 5, and it works well for you, I actually don't have a favorite number, but anything in odd, 1,5,7. And your number is there too, but I'll prefer number 3 or 7.

Job well done at the freewrite.

Haha @botefarm. I think 'obsessed' is a bit strong but my preference is clear and has longevity.

Thank you for the compliment.

Congratulations @reonlouw! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.
You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

My favorite number was 14 and still to this day do i choose variations with 4...4. 14. 24. etc

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.5$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63