Free Write Thursday prompt Not Normal

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Thursday prompt Not Normal by @mariannewest

I can not count the times that I have gotten a fish fin stuck in me, my husband is good at getting them out. He uses a fish hook instead of a needle. I had one stick me and it was getting an infection in it and was throbbing so he opened it with the fish hook and it felt a lot better. The hole was small but now five days later it is still sore to touch and the hole is ten times as big as it was and the skin around the hole is white like it is dying. This is not normal. No matter how I try to keep my hands from getting hurt I always end up with infections in the summer. I worry because there is some sort of bacteria in the water when it gets hot and if you get it, it can land you in the hospital. A friend of ours almost lost his life last summer when he slipped on the boat ramp and cut his leg. He got the bad bacteria and a year later he is still in rehab. It is some sort of flesh-eating bacteria.

IMG_20190606_214258.jpg

At 12:30 today I had 3 trout and was pretty discouraged but being the type to not give up I kept at it and found an area that had trout. My husband tells me I am not normal, that is not what he really says, he says I am crazy for staying out there so long. I did not get home until 7:00 because I was catching fish. I would not have been in then except I was going to move to another anchoring and looked at my watch and could not believe it was 5:00 and the thunderstorm was building.

I caught 39 trout that weighed 60 pounds and a 2-pound bluefish

IMG_20190606_180836.jpg

Sort:  

Try putting some very local and very raw honey on the wounds. They will heal right up.

@owasco I have a very expensive antibiotic that I put on all my boo-boos, I have never heard of using honey but I am willing to give it a try, does it have to be local or can I use store bought honey?

It must be raw. Local is likely better, and some say raw manuka is best but it's expensive. I find any raw honey works, but creamy is easier to keep in place. A tiny dab does it!

I don’t like the look of that @myjob. Is that another injury along with the cut from the crab claw? You may need antibiotics.
The raw honey is a good healer. You could make a paste with baking soda and vinegar and put that on it to see if it helps.

@redheadpei I have antibiotic cream it is prescription, yes it is a different injury than the crab one. but on the same hand. One is on the tip of my thumb, the other is on the fatty part under the thumb. @owasco told me about the honey which I had never heard of and you tell me about baking soda and vinegar which I also never heard of. I love how the people on steemit really care for one another. thank you.
IMG_20190606_214308.jpg

Welcome @myjob. I hope your injuries are healing nicely. This one looks like it is healing.

You need to be more careful, try to follow the advices from our friends and see how it goes...

@isgledysduarte you sound like my husband, but these things happen when you have a job like mine. no matter how careful you are you still get fins in you and cuts from things like the crabs, my hands will be a mess by the time trout season is over, it is just a given. I try my best to keep infection away. Thank you for your concern.

Woman, be careful!!!

@blacklux, I try but you know the saying, sh^* happens.

Hello....!!!! :D
@myjob
😖😯Ouch ...!!
That definitely looks painful and sore..!!!
Please, Please keep an eye on..!!!!!!!!
I'm worried...!!
I'm very glad to see your doing great on the fish catch 😊..!!!!

@annephilbrick Thank you but don't worry, I will be ok, these things happen when trout fishing, all sorts of ways to get hurt and I think I have found them all. It does worry me, too. But so far I have kept the bad infections away. I hate going to the Dr because they put me on an antibiotic pill that you can not go in the sun while taking it. I had to take them a few years ago and stayed out of the sun but went back fishing the day after I finished them and my hands felt like I stuck them in a fireplace, I called the Dr and they said I was not to go it the sun until the meds were out of my system, like 3 days after I finished them.

:D
Hello @myjob.
That flesh eating bacteria is pretty scary...!!!
I hope your finger is getting better.!!
I'm not crazy about antibiotics either. I have taken doxycycline for tick bites/lymes and your not supposed to exposed to the sun. I work outside all Summer. It's impossible not to be exposed. I no longer take antibiotics. They have wrecked my gut as well..😒

That doesn't sound great.
What we always do is use soda.
Soda in hot water and in with it (hand, foot or even your ass).
2-3 times a day for 10-15 minutes.
Try it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you mean baking soda?
I keep hearing raw honey, cinnamon, vinegar, baking soda, dandelions, plantain... things we have at hand and ignore (most of us). Thanks for the suggestions - I'm listening too!

No its not baking soda.

In the old days had 3 things we leaned with: sand - soap - soda.
It is cheap.
We can buy it as a powder or kind of crystals.

You can lean your washingmachine if its smelly clean your ans if the food is burned into it, the zink, toilet etc. With us you find it between the washingpowder and cleaning products.

It's natriumcarbonate Na2C03 – I checked it out you call it: washing soda!

☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty I will look for washing soda, I have not seen it in stores but have never looked for it since this is the first time I heard of it.

@wakeupkitty When I do get an infection I soak my hand in Epsom salt and hot water, is that what you call soda?

I looked on the internet it does not seem to be exactly the same but if that helps.
We have biotex it is used for the prewash some people use that instead of washing soda, but I think washing soda is better.

Washing soda is also used in washing powder and what they use for the dishwasher.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47