Five minute free write - Belt

in #freewrite6 years ago

HAF.jpg

Today is a beautiful Sunday in LA and I should probably be outside enjoying it.

But, that's for later. Need to keep to my writing routine or I risk insanity, hehe. The double edged sword of being addicted to writing.

This mornings writing comes mostly from the vibe I was getting from my music. I decided to let my brain flow a little more by itself, and not try and restrict it to any particular line. I wasn't looking for a twist, or anything edgy. Maybe I just wanted to convey the feeling I get when I... well, I'll just let you read this first...


The deep melodic beat vibrating through her body.

Surrounding by hundreds of bodies swaying gently together as one. Trapped in darkness with only the flicker of blazing strobes, they were all free.

Over and over the bass rolled along her slender frame. Body pressed against body, there was no space between the flesh. Individuality lost among the crowd they reveled in the music.

Breathing in the stale smell of humanity, concentrated and sweet, she smiled.

The days of her life melting away into distance memories. The who the what the why. None of it mattered right now. And that was okay with her.

Grinding, grinding, grinding, life was a bore. It was for nights like this that she lived. Strangers all, in this place the friendship ran deep. A gap in the regular world, off a street no one but they knew.

It had all started with an unexpeceted shopping trip.

A new belt to replace her worn one. A stupid little shop with shiny things in the window that caught her eye.


Live shows...this is how I feel about them.

Individuality lost in the crowd of everyone who's there for the music. And, you usually end up at the best shows for the most random and reason. In this case, needing a new belt.

I still remember when I saw Linkin Park before they got huge.

I was in college and it was one of my first live shows. Yeah, I know, most people have been to a bunch by that time, but, I'm not most people. The press of the people, the mood, the music, the vibe...I'll never get that out of my head. That and the smell of weed. But, I really didn't know about that then. Ahh, the innocent years. My ears rang for days after and the smell of smoke never quite left the shirt I wore...but damn it was worth it.

Do you have a show you went to that sticks out in your mind? I'd love to hear about it :)

Happy Sunday! Get outside and enjoy the weather. Stop reading posts! :P

Similar Posts
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mikesthoughts/five-minute-free-write-dream
Five minute free write - Plaid
Five minute free write - The Attic



Sort:  

@mikesthoughts
I just finished reading your post and going out to feel the touch of nature...
Beautiful post

I'm about to head outside myself, hehe. Tempted to write something else...but, nature first :)

Bravo! Great post and I love how you incorporated the belt with it! Nice job! :)

It was a rush at the end, as I saw the timer bar approaching the end, to get the last couple sentences in, hehe.

Thanks for dropping by :)

OK - it really is party time. I've been brought back 20 years and love it!! Well done!!

Summerfest every Summer is like this.the small shows where you stand on tables and just dance :D

As I love concerts, I really enjoyed the way you describe the crowd and the mood.
Here is today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-137-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-witches

I hope it was a happy Sunday :) We had a great time!!and one of these days, you will be at one of the dances meetups :)

Yes I will! Keeping my mind open to everything and the universe is beginning to respond :) Cross your fingers that it continues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48