Day 77, Prompt: If you have any thoughts please let me know, 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge

in #freewrite7 years ago

IMG_2872.JPG

'If you have any thoughts please let me know.'

I'd heard them say these words so many times, but every time I chose to ignore them. I would stay in my shell and never come out. The world's scary and even though my thoughts were bursting to be heard, I wouldn't let them.

But today was the day, it was different from the others. I felt like I could tell them how I was feeling, like I could finally let them know my thoughts.

I slide my chair back and stand up. Their eyes glare at me but I straighten myself up, clear my throat, and begin to speak.

'Susan, although your speech about your husband cheating on you is... interesting, it's not relevant for book club. We come here to read, not to gossip.'

I hear them all gasp but I simply smile to myself and take my seat.
Every week we have book club, and every week I'm too nervous to tell them to shut up about their lives and to focus on the book at hand.

Today was my day, will it be yours?

Until next time,

Meliss

This was my second attempt at #freewriting with a 5 minute limit. I'm really enjoying it and finding I can write more creatively then I first thought! If you're interested in the freewrite challange make sure to check it out: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-77-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-if-you-have-any-thoughts-please-let-me-know

Sort:  

Hi @mel1ss! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.09 SBD @tipU from @brisby :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Good for you for standing up! They can damn well listen to you for a change. This is such a moving story! tip!

Today was my day

I hope that things will become less scary and that you're able to make every day your day. Thank you for joining the group!
Today I'm stepping in for Marianne.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-78-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pen

Thank you!! :)

Really good , Today is everyones day I hope , We all need a good day!!

Great writing! If this is a true story than power to you!

Thank you! haha I wish it was but unfortunately not! :)

I love it @Mel1ss! "Today is your day...."

I have often felt that way, easier to just stay inside of my self made cage, and let others decide what I am or am not today. Good stuff 😁

This hurt my soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45