Day 76, Ducks - 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAtlAAAAJDhkMTc5MGVkLWJjYzYtNDA2MS1iZjlhLWQ0ZjlmYzZhMjAyOQ.jpg

Everyday I sit and everyday I wait. I wait for the sound of little webbed feet hitting the water, the curious quacks coming down the stream. It's quiet today, usually they're here by now but something's different, something's not right.
I can't help but think that they've left me, they've moved on. The ducks are all I have in this world, they're everything to me... how could they leave? My thoughts start to overwhelm me and I'm overcome with a sudden urge to jump into the river. It's flowing faster than usual and I can't swim, but without the ducks I'm nothing. The wind is blowing uncontrollably as I begin my decent down to the riverbank.
'Without them I'm nothing, without them I'm nothing, without them I'm nothing.' I can't help but whisper the same four words over and over again in my head.
I take my shoes off, listening to the roar of the water as I do. I hear something faint, but it's there.
They've come back for me, they didn't leave me.
My children come running down the bank chasing the ducks that were further upstream, like they do everyday.
My ex-husband looks at me and then looks away in disapproval, knowing what I was about to do.
The ducks rush past in the water, trying to balance themselves in the current, whilst my children look on eagerly.
They're here, they're all here, he didn't take them away, not this time.

Explanation:
This is my first attempt at freewriting within 5 minutes. The topic today was 'ducks' so I chose to put a little spin on things. Instead of just doing something about ducks I wanted it to be a bit deeper. I've known a lot of people with depression/anxiety and I know just how quickly they can overthink and overreact to things.
In this case the mother was waiting for her children like she does everyday but they were late. The father wanted to take them away but couldn't do it as he knew what the mother would do. The ducks are by the river everyday and everyday the children run down the riverbank chasing them, that's what she listens out for. When they didn't come her thoughts took control and she couldn't live without them. Hearing them coming down the riverbank chasing the ducks brought her back from her thoughts and she was able to take control of herself.
As I said, I wrote this in 5 minutes so sorry if it doesn't make much sense!! It's my first attempt so don't be too brutal.

If you want to check out more of my writing have a look at my short story series - A new chapter to be released every Monday.
https://steemit.com/story/@mel1ss/chapter-one-the-beginning

Until next time,

Meliss

This post is in response to the daily #freewrite challenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's prompt is "Ducks". If you're curious about the #freewrite challenge, check out the introduction post here.

Photo Cred: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/dont-let-your-loneliness-lead-bitterness-yeshwan-yesh

Sort:  

I liked it! In two minutes you had me turning a full circle. Well thought out. Thanks @mel1ss

I can relate too well to these thoughts. It isn't as much of a problem now, but used to be when I was younger.

Fabulous writing, great freewrite!

So glad you are writing with us!! And the note to post under the next prompt is just for more visibility. I want all the writers to be seen and to be read. Love your piece!!
if you didn't see this prompt yet https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-78-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pen

Thank you!! :)

Very valuable information
Thank you for your information

No problem!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 22.0% @nepd upgoat, thanks to @jbcoin
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mel1ss to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Yayyy...squirrels!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82