Chapter One: The Beginning

in #story7 years ago (edited)

If you've been keeping up to date with my recent posts then you'd know that every Monday I plan on writing a new chapter of a short story. It's hopefully something a little different and if you like the story make sure to check back in each week for updates.
So without any further ado here's:

26551671_1752188751493048_1461978326_n.jpg

Chapter One: The Beginning

I'll start where any good story does, the beginning. I don't remember much about what happened that day but what I do remember haunts me every single second I'm existing. I was 19 at the time and enjoying life like your average teenager. I complained about too much and didn't show enough respect. I didn't know what I had until it was gone and I still don't understand why I was chosen. Out of so many disrespectful teenagers why was I the unlucky one who's fate was far worse than the rest?

It was a Friday afternoon, I think, I honestly can't remember clearly. I was walking back from school, it was cold but I enjoyed the cold it made me feel alive. There were corn field's all around me but there was one that was different to the others, it was almost as if something was telling me not to go towards it. I wanted to get home and this was the only way to go so I kept walking. As I neared closer to the field I felt more and more out of place. As if someone was watching me, almost like they'd been waiting a long time for me.
My town was like any other, it was quiet, crime free and utterly boring. Nothing exciting ever happened there until that day.

As I passed the field I felt an urge to look into it. Like any corn field there wasn't much to see besides well, corn. Unfortunately for me there was something more to see, something that I didn't see before. A figure was standing only feet away from me staring at me like I was it's prey. As it ran towards me I realised it was a man, a huge man. I was frozen. I could run but where too? The closest house was 2 miles away I wouldn't get there in time but I tried. I ran as fast as I could but in the end he got me. He tackled me to the ground and winded me. I could feel his weight crushing against me but he didn't care. He didn't care if I was injured all he wanted was me in one piece or a million pieces and he got me.
From this point on it's a blur and I couldn't tell you what happened even if I wanted too.

All I know now is that I'm dead and he's alive. I'm here and he's not. I can't say that I'm safe now I'm dead as this place is similar to the living world which means it's just as dangerous.

Check back next week for Chapter two.
I hope you enjoyed and sorry if my writing style isn't amazing I'm still learning the ins and outs of writing!

Until next time,

Meliss

Sort:  

I can't say that I'm safe now I'm dead as this place is similar to the living world which means it's just as dangerous.

A cliffhanger like this and I have to wait 'til monday!? Oh please have mercy and write sooner :3

I like your writing! ^^ On occasions there's a comma missing that made me re-read the sentence twice; but I love it! I look forward to the next part :D

Thanks for the lovely comment and advice! Commas have never been my fortay haha but I'll try and fix them up for next week! :)

Next week

Noooo! I can't wait that longggg :p

Put a link to Chapter 2 in this blog so we can follow along!

Good idea! Too late to put it in the blog so it's in the comments :)

you're actually able to edit a blog post after you have already posted!

Yeah but only for 7 days after it's been posted so unfortunately I can't edit this one!

oh wow i didn't know that! Thanks for the insight :)

No Problem :)

nice write up. can't wait for another monday

Ok your friend got me here , good writing ,nice meet you

That's awesome, thank you! :) nice to meet you too

Take a look at mkkenny13 as he is also a young new member, trying to get started here .. I will follow along .. Here is his last post ,

https://steemit.com/life/@mkkenny13/2017-a-year-in-review

Of course! I'm more than happy to support others just starting out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66