Freewrite - Squash

in #freewrite6 years ago

Freewrite (7).png

Squash can be so many things. That is what I love most about prompts - when they can have so many different directions to take. The funny thing is that often when people see a prompt - myself included - we only think of one of the meanings. Maybe we just did something that directs us towards that particular way of writing the story.
for example, if I were an avid squash player - kind of like racquetball but different. I think the thingies you use to hit - the rackets have shorter handles - something like that, anyway, if I were a squash player and I see the prompt - I so would write about my favorite game, or how the ball hit me in the eye, or how I hit someone else with my racket over the head - something like that since I am sure all of those things would happen to a squash player - that is just the kind of game it is.
I am a gardener, so I am thinking of the big huge squashes which are growing in my garden right now. Of course, it could be fun to use them as balls in a squash game, but we would need to harvest them young. The size they are right now, it would be more like playing with a medicine ball. If you have never thrown one of those - let me tell you. They are heavy!!! And I mean heavy.
So, the squash would break the racket and it would fall on your foot and you have a broken toe. But don't sue me - I didn't tell you to do that. that happened in your own crazy mind.
One would think that that big squash which looks just like a watermelon breaks open with a big splatter when it hits your toe - or the ground if you were fast and jumped out of the way.
We thought too that it was an explodable fruit and took it along to the shooting range to punish it for growing such a hard skin that you need to take a saw to cut it open. who knew that saws are a required kitchen utensil.
So, we are shooting at the squash - and hitting it ( not me -bad aim. I hit a few things but - pssst, don't tell anyone - I was trying to hit something else. But hey, let's take the glory where we can)
Back to shooting the squash. Hit, hit, hit - no explosion!!!!! Nothing beats a ripe watermelon for that effect!

IMG_2331.jpg

Freewrite.png

If you are from San Diego - Let's Meet UP!!

Imgur

Saturday 7/21/2018 Full Details Here

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

My recent posts

Daily Chicken Picture

Freewrite - quit

Ulog 26 - Tree collard

Freewrite - Delicate

Ulog 25 - Friendship

Weekend Freewrite 7/14/2018

Ulog 24 - Buy Nothing

My Favorite Place to Steem

Ulog 23 - Funeral

Food to Table- Freewrite

Grapevine - Freewrite

[

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

My dream to be a squash player had long been squashed because of a coach who couldn't keep his hands to himself.

Fact or fiction?

I hope it is fiction - but with the many reveals lately about coaches who can't keep their hands and other parts to themselves, there is a good chance that it is fact :(

I have never heard a sport called "squash". I also have never had a coach as I never played any sport growing up. All I have ever known of squash is that it's a vegetable. So it is fiction. Unfortunately, and I agree with you, a lot of young girls and boys are being groomed and taken advantage of by their sports coaches and trainers.

I am glad that it is fiction!!!!!

I laughed reading your freewrite hahaha. Hohoho. Hihihi. Hehehe.

Oh yes I tried to incorporate few meanings of squash into the prompt. I did some thinking 1st of the story line before start typing.

Just because I have extra time to think. Lol.

It is so nice to have extra time to think LOL
And I am glad that you laughed!! 😂

Your freewrite brought to mind "punkin chunkin", which is sometimes demonstrated at a local u-pick pumpkin farm. They shoot a pumpkin out of a catapult and watch it go splat 'way out in the field. It's amusing.

I thought of squashed in the car as a child along with my five siblings! Being squashed was a natural state of affairs when you are one of six children. But we also used to get orange squash (cordial) over the garden fence from our neighbour when we were playing in the garden. Have you got any favourite recipes for squash?

Yum! I love squash, just not exploding squash, on my foot or otherwise. I used to have big gardens with so many zucchini plants and some zucchini would grow huge!

PRICES HAVE CHANGED TO 0.150 and 0.151!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.150 or 0.151 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.30) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.37) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.45) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50 SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32