Floss my tears - 5 Minute Freewrite Day 81

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

I floss my tears
tonight
I will write very without any thought in my mind, as the words come out of my keyboard
oh no what I've done?
words have disappeared from the screen...
time is running and I will cry salty tears,
tears are tearing me apart
like the floss tears the butter,
"no sta dirme che no vene fil par taiar la polenta"*, says Tiz.
Tiz the wise big bosomed country girl,
where the air is good to breath and sometimes you have tears rolling down the cheeks because the mountains I see from her house are breathing freezy wind to my face,
but no floss for flossing them.
Ok, now what I can write in a language that isn't mine?
I don't know if freewriting is still a good idea for me now,
the floss ruins the teeth,
the gums are bleeding

IMG_20171216_114503.jpg
Mounts Col Visentin and Nevegal seen from Tiz house

*"don't tell me that we don't have thread to cut the polenta", in Cappella Maggiore (NE Italy) dialect. Polenta is a boiled cornmeal loaf that was the staple food for poor farmers of Northern Italy. Due to its softness, it was traditionally cut with a taut thread (as was butter). The saying means: "don't get stuck on an easy problem" (if you don't have thread, you can eat your polenta anyway).


This post is part of the 5 Minute Freewrite Contest.

This is also done with The Most Dangerous Writing App and only a little editing for typos.

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Thanks for reading! If you liked, please let an upvote, a comment or a resteem.

Sort:  

this was a very, very hard one!!! I had no thoughts either.........and almost skipped it but then I would be a chicken and that is not a thing I could live with!!

<I bow before you and that writing app you use>

Yes, it was hard. Spent some time trying to figure out if "floss the tears" was actually a saying in spoken English, or a poetic association of words. The app helps me to not get lost in a story that would steal too much of my sleeping time ;)

:D I speak American English and I still don't know what it really means LOLLLL

This was a hard prompt, for sure! You did great. :)

I tried polenta a few times, and I wish I'd have known about the thread-cutting idea!

It's traditional, but sincerely I think I've seen a thread cut polenta only once. When it's hot and soft, we use a spoon, when it's cool and semi-hard we use a knife ;)

I always like to read of idioms in other languages. It makes you think much more about our own. Nice freewrite by the way. Very free!

Here's the link for freewrite 82:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-82-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-stetson

Since my English is very bad, I try to compensate disseminating curiosity about my language :-P
Thank you for the link!

I love polenta. Great job. Very hard prompt. I almost passed too.

Actually, I'm surprised that so many non-italians know about this food, that's not at all the most attractive of our cuisine.

My mamma would make it at least once a month, her family lives in Empoli. I especially liked to cut into thin slices and put on a skillet and lightly burn both sides. Those were some good memories you brought back to me. Thank you Marco. Grazie

Ah, sei italiano anche tu! This is wonderful! I live quite north-east from Empoli, 200 miles, but I love polenta in the same way!

Certo, nome e Bruni. I understand Italian better than I speak or write it. Lol

Freezy wind, I can feel these tears... Really difficult theme, you made a great writing:-)

Really difficult, and I was really tired. I'm glad you liked it

Some Polenta with butter and a healthy chunk of aged cheese sounds pretty good right now, too bad it's bedtime lol. Do you just make the cornmeal into dough balls and drop them into boiling water to make Polenta? 🙂

To make polenta, I put cornmeal (no dough balls), salt and a little butter into boiling water and keep stirring with a wooden spoon until all the water is absorbed...it's useful as an exercise for arms and shoulders too ;)
Aged cheese is ok, I like to let polenta cool, cut it in slices and grill it with some sausages or pork ribs.

That sounds really interesting, I'll have to try it out and see what happens. 👍

Needs only a little grill on both sides, don't let it too much

Freewrite together with the most dangerous writing app... Love this combo.. Have been challenging this combo from the start. Words disappearing... Yup, totally feel you... Just keep typing, keep the flow to prevent words from disappearing...
Love all the words. Keep it up. With love 💗❤️💖💕♨️

I'm not so brave in the most dangerous writing app use. Sometimes I use it, sometimes not. When I want to write something more articulated, like a short story, I tend not to use it and broke the 5 minute rule ;)
Thank you for your kindness!

For my freewrite, I always use the most dangerous writing app. It forces me to write.
💕💖 💓 💗 ♨️

I don't know why but I feel like writing today too after reading yours...it's very spontaneous and natural as sometimes the best things are :-)

Thank you, my friend. You know, I'm lazy, and spontaneity often requires less energy ;)

i thought is was what a freewrite is - thoughts flowing through your mind...
And I do love polenta and had no idea it was cut with a string. It seems messy!
And I am sorry, I should have put a disclaimer that it is a nonsense phrase and to take liberties! I wanted to push all of you a little bit.

My grandad said that if you cut the polenta with a knife, the slice is too much smooth and doesn't absorb well the sauce, or in case you grill or fry the slices, the crust is badly formed.
A cotton thread, he said, guarantees a fairly grainy surface!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44