The Vinyl 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge

in #freewrite6 years ago

My second attempt on freewriting and the first to be shown in a post of its own.

The 5 minute freewrite starts right after my old photo that fits the topic so well.

This time the keyword struck home. I was frustrated at first by the thought that I will write about billboards - like everybody else. But then i remembered old school records were also made of vinyl. So I wrote about that - like everybody else.

I had inspiration, though.

I mean I have experience in the field. And by field I mean field. With grass, and dragonflies and everything. Even with a model. You've probably met her on my blog a few times. Well, Alena gets into roles and she has fun while trying my stupid stuff. If anything makes the photo below not shine, it is my fault, not hers.

Anyway. I know freewrite is about being spontaneous but my memories turned out to be pretty fresh and that was that.

Here comes the story:

Dragonfly_Fields_ph07_s.jpg

'The tall grass sighs all around and my nerves are about to let go. My hands certainly do. Another hideous body to the left, I reach behind my back, I grab, I swing and it is on the way. While running without a particular direction, my aim is poor. But I throw with passion, with anger, with fear. So I am still deadly.

If only they were not dead already, maybe they would also know fear. I mean, not as the hot dish, the reason that drives them after me.

Footsteps too close. Thirty feet behind me and slightly seaside. I reach, I grab, I suddenly trip and go face first in the mud among broken read stems that almost cut my eye out.

Back on my feet and I turn in the last second to throw at ten feet distance. Its head rolls.

Another one coming...

Rolling Stones were the last to go. I am out of vynil.'

.....

Well, that's it. Yup, that's how I misspelled vinyl originally. So i decided to keep it. Grammar, we has it... sometime.

I'll probably get quicker but as of now 5 minutes seem so not enough... That's the point, though. Great challenge!

Learn about this initiative of @mariannewest 's here:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-348-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-vinyl

Sort:  

This was pretty great! I wrote you in as my favorite freewrite :)

Oh, I don't know what this is yet (I will check it out), but thank you for everything you said!

As a fan of the Stones, I'm not sure I approve of this message.
But the story is clever and well written, especially if it only took you 5 minutes! I always cheat, always go on past the timer.

Oh, no! Don't get rid of the Stones! Now, you'll have to go on a quest to buy back all of your old vinyl...

I liked this quick freewrite. I wonder if certain vinyl records would contain special zombie-killing properties. Like would a Talking Heads album just confuse them? ;-)

I'm here with the Thursday prompt.

Day 349: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: running in place

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (2.53%)
Summoned by @manoldonchev
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51