Weekend freewrite with my own twist

in #freewrite7 years ago

I have been wanting to join this challenge for a while now but I always seem to have something else that needs doing and so this fun exercise gets pushed back every time! Today @mariannewest is giving out three topics to write about but as it is my first time, I decided to pick out some topics of the past freewrites she has hosted and create my own tiny stories.

I am sorry I could not join earlier and I must warn you all that I do not know how consistently I am going to do these, but here I am, making my first step!

Check out @mariannewest daily freewrite prompts here and give her some love!

Sit down, put your timer to 5 minutes and write until the bell rings! Those are the rules and I am sorry for any mistakes that are bound to follow! :D

19050317_336347136782653_535884735969230848_n(1).jpg

Warrior


We are all talking about how chivalry is dead but none of us is mentioning the warriors of today. The mothers, the dreamers, the people who care and never give up...

Manners may be gone, but there are far more important things than these. Compassion, willpower and the inability to leave a person in a deep hole. Who damn cares for the knights? The embellished, overcompensated men that didn't even ever really ride in the battle

What we should care about is those people who stand straight in times of dismay, our brave warriors that stayed on the line and defended those who were too weak to defend themselves.

Fancy fairs and ladies in dresses, festivals, where knights shone like suns and could not move in their armors. They might have had chain mail but that is nothing to be proud of if your own sword is too heavy for you.

Those without weapons, who have been brave enough to stay still when bullied, those who had the strength to stand up for hungry children and desperate mothers. Those who carry the world on their backbones are the real heroes and the ones we should sing victory songs for.

A purple squirrel


I grew up in a fairytale forest, hazelnuts leaned from lush green trees, rabbits left eggs not only for Easter. I remember like it was yesterday, how magical the world of a child is.

There is gray in this world but there is no gray in a child's universe. Everything is fluffy, colorful and amazing. I may not have gone to the famous wizardry school but I could see it crystal clear on a cliff far away.

The kids from the fortress came with their pets, their snakes and mini horses, their purple squirrels. They laughed at me, they saw a girl without a gift but, those little creatures that they carried around with themselves at all times, loved me more than life itself, they saw no difference.

At first, it was the food, I gave them what magic could not give, I gave them not an illusion but the real deal, hazelnuts. And those purple squirrels loved me so much, even though they had born of magical hands.

You see, there is beauty in people who can appreciate things, for those magic twats there were a million of possibilities to create more purple squirrels. But me... but I had to do with what I could get and so I treated them as equals and they stayed with me.

Salty air


The storm was making the saltwater sea rage against the cliffs that corroded away. The usually peaceful island was now covered in wetness as the last human inhabiting it had left the day before.

The storm raged on but there was no one to care, the salty air was no bother for one single soul. A planet bled, of loneliness, it had sun but even she was so far away.

It had started naively enough, first the Earth cried for the harm humans did to it. One thing led to another and sobs turned into full out waterfalls. The ice melted and lands sunk. Less and less and more and more. They did not care to notice until it was too late.

Where there had been land, was only saltwater oceans, left from the cries of a wounded planet. Where there were humans, was only corpses, floating on water and breathing salty air.

This was the last... last piece of land and last human man. But even those were both gone at this point. 100% of water covered the surface and a planet was left alone in the dark.

Is there even a planet in a star system if there is no one to see it? Or does it disappear with all living things?


So, this is my own take on the freewrite challenge. Now I know that I do not write fast :D A couple of paragraphs that all seem to go in the same direction inevitably. NO matter where I start, always end wondering more than in the beginning.

gnbv.jpg

So, I hope you enjoyed, feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts on my freewrite,
Have a great day today, tomorrow and forever,
Linda

Sort:  

Oh what a great mind you have!

Thank you! So, so much! :)

Our group is very easy going. Feel free to drop in and join when it is comfortable for you!
So many warriors who fight without weapons and without giving up deserve praise and respect! The story with the purple squirrels being happy to be treated as equals and not for granted was lovely. Picturing a purple squirrel snacking on hazelnuts gave made me smile! I enjoyed the imagery of your Salty Air story.

Today I am traveling from the town of Freewrite, delivering the latest of the Goddess Marianne's prompts accompanied with the musical honk of my bicycle's horn!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-87-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-turbine

Love them bicycle horns! I may join the prompt today, got to check if I will have those five minutes. Oh, what am I saying, I can always find five minutes for writing :D

Linda, you are such a good writer and such a deep thinker! I am so happy you joined us! and no worries about being consistent. Write with us when you can!!
The reason some of the other freewrites are longer is that we are all loose with the rules. :)
Some do 5 minutes and stop, others craft longer stories inspired by the prompt. We love it all!!

I love the short concept, it pushes my limits a little further and my fingers start moving a little faster. Plus, the prompt is an amazing way to unwind, especially apter writing long stories :D

I will try to join once in a while, will see how I feel and how tired I am, but I will join again, I loved doing this one!

Really interesting concept with that 5 minute challenge.

I guess you're really fast at typing, xd.

I wouldn't do 50% of that even if I knew what I wanted to write.

Really? I thought I wrote just a tiny bit compared to other authors I have seen doing it!

I did go over the text to correct some things and my last three words were usually out of the 5 minutes (I do not know if it is okay that I did that :D) but I tried not to look at the timer and just write as fast as possible :)

Welcome to the challenge! It is always great to have new members :). Awesome to see how ambitious you were with taking on the three part challenge to kick things off. Looking forward to seeing more of your writing.

Haha, yeah, I am used to writing longer stories and I liked the idea of three prompts, however, I was not ready to dive in with the normal rules so I kind of made my own :D

Welcome to the pack! May your freewrites be free from self censorship, and full of utmost imaginative pictures (purple squirrels; nice!) or thoughts about the very nature of life itself.

Haha, hello, the pack! I have been eying the contest for a while and finally had a second to join it! It is a wonderful idea of a thing to do and I am so very happy to be a part of it!

Welcome in the freewrite community! We have a single rule (for now): never say sorry! ;)

Okay, sorry! Haha, okay, okay, I am joking, no apologies!

A Purple Squirrel is my favourite. I hate those boarding school-educated magic twats. I'm impressed by how much you can get done.

I know, right?! They do not know how lucky they are! I would be happy just to have one purple squirrel...

They are all well written, great stories, but I love your Purple Squirrel one.
I am like that too:

I may not have gone to the famous wizardry school but I could see it crystal clear on a cliff far away.

and still aching to catch some of that magic, still trying to create my own purple squirrel ;-)

Yeah, I immediately had some magic in mind when I read the title of purple squirrel.

I want squirrels of all the colors of the spectrum in my possession, gotta catch them all! :D

My best wishes to you to catch them all :-)

Haha, thank you! :)

I thought all 3 prompts were very well written. I enjoyed them all immencely. Welcome to the freewrite group. I will look forward to your future stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12