'Fatal Error' - a Fiftyword Flash - Freewrite #6

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Deep Space

Divider

The shattered hull of the S.S. Hawking grew smaller and smaller as she drifted away into deep space.

“Shit.”

Cold infiltrated her suit, seizing her by the lungs. The only sound the shuddering of her breath in her ears. Endless, star-studded black.

She sighed.

“End simulation.”

  ...

“End simulation...”

Divider
@lazarus-wist
Divider2
My sixth entry to the daily freewrite project kindly hosted by @mariannewest,
with @loliboofae's gorgeous picture as prompt.
Almost seems a shame to take it somewhere so dark...

Thanks for reading.
Divider 3
Image

Sort:  

This was lovely, very real in one's mind. Though I agree with @marie-jay, I expected it to be for real, too.

Thanks @honeydue, appreciate the read. I think I didn't quite get the ending right though - just gave it a teensy edit - I'm not sure myself how real the whole thing is... very glad you enjoyed it either way!

MAybe it's not a simulation after all, huh? ;)

Damn, I thought she was dying!

Well, the ending is a little ambiguous haha. Thanks for stopping by Marie :)

Nice twist at the end.

BTW a while back you wrote a haiku for my contest. Here's another chance! 2 SBD, more for the winner. Contest link:

VDux Haiku Contest

Cheers vdux - I'll check it out later, thanks for the heads up!

It's really good when you can end the simulation...

Agreed! Thanks for checking out my write.

Very nice. I was ready to take a deep breath. Thanks!

I'm here to forward you the latest post in the Five-Minute Freewrite: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-189-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-cane

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe (1).png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Ha ha! Looks like you accidentally also wrote for the "space" prompt in the [50-word challenge]https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/fifty-word-challenge-last-week-s-results-plus-a-new-prompt). :^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49