Make a Little Birdhouse in Your Soul. A five minute freewrite.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Today’s Five Minute #freewrite prompt: yellow

If Hope is the Thing with Feathers, then it must be a yellow warbler because I think yellow is the color of hope. The sweet song of the yellow warbler is cheerful and reminds me of spring. The little birds chirp and tweet, flit and bounce, among the branches of the aspen tree near my place in the woods. I love to sit with a cup of coffee and enjoy the warm yellow sunshine and watch the little birds. They do indeed perch on my soul and sing the sweetest songs when the internal storm is trying to bash me against the rocks. I do long for an eternal spring, full of hope and warmth and the color yellow.

Dendroica-aestiva-001.jpg
Source

Hope is the Thing with Feathers, by Emily Dickenson
Birdhouse in Your Soul, by They Might Be Giants

Thanks @mariannewest for hosting this fun challenge to #freewrite every day!

Sort:  

I see you have been hit by the trifecta team, Newbieteam, GreetersGuild, and ASAPer's, hummm funny thing that, I think I belong to them also. I'm kinda new to the Asapers, and greeterguild, I pretty much, just like reading good content, (and those three find some great stuff), and then giving a vote an a comment.

I love the name ghostsinahatbox, There was an old English Show with Vincent Price as a ghost, it was pretty good, I was really really little but I liked it. "The ghost and Mrs Muir" I think. Well anyway, I liked your freewrite, I did a couple of them that mariannewest is a pretty cool person.

Thanks! I vaguely remember a TV show with Vincent Price, but it could be just late night movies clouding my memory. I thought he was really spooky when I was a kid, I will have to watch one of his classics to see if he still is.

Aman Allah'ım bu ne şirinlik. Tebrikler ;)

Wow I love your poem and your inspiration; Emily Dickinson is one of my favorites!

I see that @newbieresteemday already upvoted and resteemed your post! Congratulations ;) I am a member of that awesome group and also of @asapers, who share the same focus of helping people and promoting quality, unnoticed posts.

I joined steemit in mid-December and am enjoying it, although there was a steep learning curve for sure! I belong to a few groups here who welcome, support, and mentor new people and not so new people and I thought it might be something you'd interested in. They each have a Discord channel as well, which if you don't know, is another place that we connect, chat, share ideas, contest, problems, share your posts ...whatever you need actually. The groups are @newbieresteemday, which I see has resteemed your posts a couple of times and @asapers. We overlap a bit, but that's a good thing because you can get to know so many like-minded people who are really interested in selfless, community spirit, and in supporting each other. Your writing deserves to be noticed, and joining these groups is a good way to increase your circle here and do just that.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here are the Discord links for each group too! I hope you come and join us there ;)

Discord channel invite for @newbieresteemday
Discord channel invite for @asapers

You will find them both to be very welcoming! They each have a "start here" channel that will get you going. Please let me know if you get stuck!

Thank you again for an awesome poem here!

Thank you for your kind words and encouragement. I will have to check out @asapers and discord. I am still on that uphill side of the learning curve!

haha I hear you loud and clear. I can still remember that feeling very well. Just so you know, in both groups there are so many people learning how this all works; they actually both have a spot for 'steemit educational posts' too. I won't throw too much more at you, but there's one other group called @greetersguild who are wonderfully helpful as well.

I guess I'm saying, that you don't need to be alone in all of this, and all the people I've met in the three groups are amazingly kind and helpful. I wouldn't be where I am after just 3 1/2 months on steemit if it wasn't for all of them!

I'm barely two weeks behind you then, @lynncoyle1! I'm so glad you invited me - I had only heard rumors of Discord channels, but really didn't know enough to try them.

But you know how they say: when the student is ready, the teacher will appear... even if the teacher is a whole group of them!

How true @viking-ventures, teachers do appear right when you need them!

I think when we unconsciously become open to an idea, the right people appear :)

haha that's awesome! I guess the timing was right :)

I'm glad I invited you too!

I love to watch the yellow bird savouring nectar from the yellow flowers. Great words @ghostsinahatbox :),btw I like your name !!

Congratulations @ghostinahatbox, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 29

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Thank you , I will be heading over to check it out!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

You describe well that little yellow chirping chap! And how it relates to your days when life, as it so does everyone, bashes you. The read is good.

Just so you know, i came across this wonderful post in @asaper's daily curation post.

Such a great cause they are running. I have also been fortunate to feature, in fact several times. So i guess we all cut out of the same cloth, no? lol.

keep writing @ghostsinahatbox. The quality of your works is obviously good. I am incited to visit your blog and read more.

Thank you. I like your name, it evokes a sense of what writing can be, a mirror to reflect upon or to reflect the reader back to their self.

Lol. True. Thanks.

And just so you know i mean it, i will say it again. You write well, going by this #freewrite.

Thanks

What a beautiful little bird. I really enjoy the sounds of spring as well, but we don’t have that many colourful birds where I live. I too believe that internal turmoil can be eased by nature. 🌸

Songbirds always seem happy to me -- must be their chirps and the way the dart about.

Your bright and beautiful freewrite has put such a smile on my face! Thank you! Listening to birdsong does have a way of uplifting the heart!

Beautiful bird, beautiful post! Thanks so much for sharing!
I'm also in @asapers and @newbieresteemday - both are awesome groups!

Thank you! I am going to check out Discord today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43