The We-Write Is Back!

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

A fun way to grow together and earn SBI!

Brought to you by: @freedomtowrite


Hey everybody! I’m so excited to be writing for the Freewrite House, and bringing some fun new contests and ways to bring us together as a community!



Contests and Communities…my two favorite things!


Looking back on the first week of the Freewrite House, a lot of good ideas were tossed out into the living room…or dining room, whichever room you imagine our meetings happening, and one was the idea of We-Writes!

Our sweet @brisby wrote a fun post, you can find here describing what they are. She also asked for feedback, and everyone seemed to agree that it was a great experience!


So What Is a We-Write?


During the earlier days of the freewrite community, the 100th day of prompts was growing nearer! @snook jumped on this as an opportunity to do something fun to celebrate! That’s when she founded the We-Writes. It was an opportunity to partner up with a fellow freewriter and write a story together using the daily prompt!

You can find the original 100 day post here.

So now that our community is in full swing, we would love to bring back the We-Write…but with a little twist!

Just like the original, the idea is to find a partner and complete a story using today’s prompt. There are a few different ways to accomplish this, but the twist is this. Once you have completed the freewrite, your name will be entered into a drawing for shares of SBI!

Have fun writing a We-Write for a chance to win SBI? Yes, Please!



How Do We Play?

Written by: @brisby

There are three ways to do this. They require correspondence through comments, Discord, Steemit Chat, email, or a shared document. Google doc is a free option. @snook wrote a terrific post explaining how to share a document if you have never made one. Here is her post. To work out any kinks, @snook and I beta tested the We-Write process and our story can be read here

Helpful tip: Plan how post payouts will be shared with your partner beforehand to avoid any misunderstandings.😁

Option 1

  1. Pick a partner and open up a shared Google doc.
  2. Decide who will begin writing.
  3. Prepare a timer for each writer. Alternate writing for 1 minute each.
  4. Use the word “Go” to let the other know that it was their turn.
  5. Use the prompt provided.
  6. Put the word/phrase at the top of the page.
  7. The first freewriter sets a timer for 1 minute and begins writing.
  8. When the minute is up, type the word “GO” to let the next writer know to begin.
  9. Carry on, alternating turns, until 10 minutes have passed (each has written for 5 minutes).
  10. Combine the sentences (cleaning up the formatting and removing the “Go’s” if you wish).
  11. Place the “cleaned up” version of the story below the exercise.
  12. Submit the link and then enjoy reading that day’s freewrites!

Option 2

  1. Pick a partner and open up a shared Google doc.
  2. Decide who will begin writing.
  3. Set a timer for 10 minutes.
  4. First freewriter writes one sentence.
  5. Then, the other freewriter writes one sentence.
  6. Switch back and forth until the 10 minutes are over.

Option 3

- This option is especially good if you can't find a time which suits both writers

  1. Each freewriter writes a 5 minute freewite.
  2. Exchange the freewites (This can be done in comments, through Discord, Steemit Chat, or email)
  3. Write 5 more minutes on the partners freewrite and finish the story.
  4. You can both publish the freewrites and if you want, add a bit on how that kind of writing felt to you. Was it fun? Difficult? Want to do it again?


Timelines


First thing first, find a partner! You can do this by leaving a comment here, or reaching out on your own!

We also know coordinating with other busy freewriters can be a challenge so, we’re extending this contest for an entire week! Please leave the entries in the comment section of this post.

We are using the prompt from today which is…

Players



Awards!


We'll be giving away a total of 4 SBI shares total! Each pair will be entered in together, and then each winner will be given two shares! So if I entered and won with my partner, we would each recieve two shares!


I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!


Image Source


Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

This was so much fun the first time we did it. 🎉

It was! I liked writing our stories together Bruni!!!

Did it!! It was fun but definitely more challenging when your partner keeps steering away from your finish... hahaha
My daughter sketched that for the story... oh, and we chose Option 1

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@kaerpediem/freewrite-we-write-who-s-the-player
partners (1).jpg

Nice sketch!! And I loved the story, too.

6 @kaerpediem and @artik

Love the sketch!!!

Guys I wrote the continuation of @mr-neil , I don't know if this is how it's supposed to be ..this is my first time. Hehe.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ashley4u/the-talking-dog-that-can-hack-into-anything-part-1-mr-neil-and-2-freewrite-story

It's option 3 (kind of) except I posted my part first. Mainly, that is due to being on a different time zone, which means someone can write part 2 when it suits them.

I hope that is ok.

Great idea to bring it back @freedomtowrite!!

Thank you! But I can't take all the credit...I'm so glad @snook thought of it and I'm grateful @mariannewest approached me with the idea! And I'm sooo relieved you wrote "How to play" so brilliantly that I was able to use it!!!

This idea 15 thoughtaly wealthcome by me .

I'll do option three with someone. Let me know in a reply!

I'd like to partner up with you and give this a shot.

@freewritehouse - Here the second contribution. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@tristancarax/players-wewrite-with-improv

@Improv I do apologize for taking so long. I missed the message somehow. I hope this still counts.

Winner Drawing Entry

2 @improve and @tristancarax

Drawing will be on Thursday.

Time difference means that I prefer option 3. I have written a Part 1 for the talking dog. If anyone wants to continue the story, let me know. Our future depends on it.

Hahaha really , lemme see , I would love to save the future...hehe but lemme read first.

Fantastic

The Talking Dog That Can Hack Into Anything

Part 1 by @mr-neil

Part 2 by @ashley4u

I have a question should me and my partner choose option 3. Will cheetah come and disturb our post coz half of the story is from another person. Later the cheetah said he finds similar content at my partner's post.

I was being *cheetah-Ed before as the cheetah found similar content in my another post which was my own post. Lol

Any advice? :)

I would publish the post and do the other person's contribution as a Quote.
you start a new line and use this symbol > and a space behind it. the is shows up like this:

this is a Quote

You have to do the formatting for each paragraph.
And I don't worry about cheetah anymore since they started to go for any duplicate content - shows up for our contests all the time. Still - use the quote option and that makes it easier for the other people to understand who wrote what.

Or, if you do the each writes one sentence, I would put the whole thing as a quote and each write some text that it is your entry and you did it with this person...

I would love to do this, if I can ever get Discord figured out. I have given up on it for now.

You don't have to do discord at all. You can just look for someone here in the comments. Option 3 might work best. And you also could share a link to a google doc in the comments if you wanted to go that way...

I'll be your partner if you want to participate. I can even set up the Google Doc, or we can share 5-minute freewrites. Let me know.

Sorry it took me so long to get back to you! It's crunch time for both costumes and painting, and I haven't been on Steemit since Tuesday. Yes, I would love to do a we-write with you, and Google Doc would work fine!

I was out of town over the weekend. I have created a Google Doc at the following link: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1cBNObV7WLwuHNm9pCyrlb8Ek-s-fOqYxesV1tBePur0/edit?usp=sharing

You should be able to add your part of the story. Then post it as a joint project under my entry on the we-write prompt. Have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69