Splinter - Rebuilt

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


The wood was splintered and full of decay. His friends all told Grant he should demolish the house, the land was the only thing of value, but Grant didn't want to.

Piece by piece, he took away the old wood and rebuilt, upgrading the basic frame as he worked.

The new wood was stronger - healthy and bright. He planted flowers in the front and vegetables and fruit trees in the back.

When the vegetables grew ripe, he invited his friends for dinner. They were astonished to see what he had built.

"It's a brand new house!"

"No. It's the same house. Just better."


Inspired by the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Splinter provided by the lovely @mariannewest!



Sort:  

I love it so much!!! ❤ You're so good in English, Is this your first language?

It is my first language.

I'm really glad that you like it. Your posts are always inspiring to me, so this makes me so happy!

💙

Thank you, @ellievallie! ☺ knowing this made me happy too! Keep shining. 🌟

Simple, neat and nice :-) a pleasure to read Ellie

Thank you!

💙

#teamgirlpowa

This is amazing, the shortest story I've read in ages with such incredible meaning.

Thank you!

💙

I love the message in here to reuse the old and make it better. :D

Thank you!

I'm not sure if it really fit the splinter topic but it's what came to mind so I went with it.

💙

I can see the analogy in carefully removing the problem/illness (detrimental parts of the decrepit old building/splinter) and repairing (rather than chopping off) what is left. Kudos! Nice job paralleling the concepts and in the presentation. :-)

Thank you!

I really like this explanation so I think it should be the official one.

💙

Power of the girls!

💙

Love where you took this and the picture is great!! I can see him rebuilding this house with love :)

The most love!

💙

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62