Day 103 - 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: cracker - Chinese New Year 2018

in #freewrite7 years ago

Day 103 prompt is cracker. As my previous post mentioned, Chinese New Year is just around the corner. With this word cracker, I felt like it's telling me yes it is almost Chinese New Year. It's the time to play the fire cracker. It's the time for celebration. It's the time where Kuala Lumpur is left deserted coz most people would have traveled back to their hometown to reunite with their family to celebrate Chinese New Year. No traffic jam on the road in the heart of Kuala Lumpur city. This year will be a special year where I will be going back to my grandparents house on the second day of Chinese New Year. My parents will be going back too. Really looking forward to meeting my cousins and my third Auntie whom will be spending the Chinese New Year here with us. She has been to the States since 1997.

After the 5 minutes, here's more thoughts that came into my mind when I was looking for photos of fire crackers in my Google Photos... The first photo that is suitable for this post is this one above, but it's not a fire cracker. It's pok choi crackers from my 2015 yee sang photo. Yee Sang consists of mixed pickles and vegetables laced with salmon sashimi and pok chui crackers. The crackers are symbolic of the gold bars and taels from the olden days in China.


One more yee sang photo and this one is from 2017. This one we had it with abalone instead of salmon sashimi.

Never thought it would be this difficult to find photos of firecrackers. It's forbidden to light firecrackers here in Malaysia but I thought I see lots of "fake" firecracker decorations... But I can't find any.

Since I can't find any, I will show some lion dance photos instead, but before I do this, I will explain why I wanna show lion dance photos. How is it relevant to firecrackers? Well, lighting firecrackers is actually a major custom performed to scare off evil spirits (which we called as the "nian monster, 年兽" and celebrate the coming of the New Year. Check out Wikipedia for more details of the legend of Nian. And here're the photos I have captured over the years.


2017 Sunway Velocity


2017 Thean Hou Temple


2017 MidValley


2017 Nirvana Memorial Park Shah Alam

Before I end this post, I would like to share with you all a Lion Dance performance which I captured at Cheras Leisure Mall back in 2016. I hope you will enjoy it. It's kinda long performance, if you don't have 10 minutes to watch the whole video, you can fast forward to 9.45 where one of the lion performed an awesome somersault. The crowd loved it.

All photos and videos were taken with my previous handphone Redmi Note 3 and Asus Zenfone 5.

Thank you for your love and support! 💖❤️💗💕♨️🐳

Webp.net-gifmaker (1).gif

If you know nothing about this cool 5-Minute Freewrite Daily Challenge, you should check out @mariannewest's introduction post to this cool challenge by @mariannewest and @improv.

And as usual, I love to take this freewrite challenge together with the most dangerous writing app . Just set the timer for 5 minutes, and then just write. ALERT! Don't stop and think for more than 3 seconds! WHY? Coz if you stop typing for 3 seconds, all your words will vanish! YES, everything you have typed will be gone.

If you think you can't write, please STOP thinking. Just GO FOR IT! Maybe you can take a look at my first freewrite post. It's a disaster, everytime I read it, I ended up laughing. Freewrite is about having FUN too! So writer or not, (I know I am not really a professional writer), we all can have FUN coming up with creative little ideas and thoughts with this Freewrite daily prompt! What are you waiting for? Go WRITE your first freewrite NOW! Have FUN!

Image credits to @littlenewthings, @skyleap and @kira.ohba

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

If you like the idea of CREATE and EARN (just like here in Steemit), then do you know that everyday while we connect with our family and friends through chatting, texting, voice and video calling, we can EARN from that too? Click on the image to start EARNING from connecting with your family and friends!

Colorful hearts border is created using paint.net and gifmaker.me. 彩色心的分界线是我用paint.net和gifmaker.me做的。

The STEEM Engine

follow_elizacheng.gif

In this post, I would like to pin Cheras Leisure Mall to The Steemit World Map.

Sort:  

Very interesting culture ^_^
Do you wear special clothes for the Chineese new year ?

Traditional clothes would be cheongsam for the girls and samfu for the boys. But not everyone will wear traditional clothes.

Quite amazing, love the food pictures and your free write is stunning. A great share.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you! Yup, the Yee Sang is yummilicious. My girls call it the big feast... LOL, because of the big plate used to serve the dish.

Hey fam, great post!

It has been chosen to appear
in the new Memos issue.
Stop in and see what everyone's up to!

Thank you! Off I go to the memo now! With love ❤️💖💗💕

Interesting post! The food looks very good. I have never tried it before. I would have not thought about cracker, as a frecracker. That was very creative. Thanks for sharing your freewrite. I might try this prompt with the most dangerous writing tool too. I have heard many freewriters are using it. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for dropping by! Maybe because it's going to be Chinese New Year soon, that's why I thought of the firecrackers. Try freewrite with the most dangerous writing app. It really double the fun!

Fascinating! I love hearing about different cultures and traditions. Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks for dropping by! 💕💗💖❤️

Very delicious looking!

Yummilicious indeed. My girls love this Yee Sang very very much. They always look forward to this dish every CNY.

We love the parades and acrobats on CNY.

Is this one of dishes in Malaysia and Singapore to celebrate Chinese New Year? If my memory serves me right, the dish seems to be called 撈起

I think 捞起is the Cantonese name... Normally we call it 鱼生 Yee Sang. Yes. Malaysian and Singaporean Chinese love this dish on CNY.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=elizacheng
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=day-103-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-cracker-chinese-new-year-2018


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That's awesome! I love the video and it sounds amazing. I didn't know firecrackers are taboo there.

It's not taboo. It's just not legal to light firecrackers publicly without license.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44