5 Minute Freewrite Day 398: Cracking Up

in #freewrite6 years ago

Source



For: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-398-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-cracking-up

They say that love triumphs over everything. I’m not one of those.

Don’t think of me as just a bitter man, I’ve never denied the beauty and usefulness of love. But in all of my years alive, I’ve seen it die.

When my hair was still black, and I couldn’t reach the kitchen sink, my family and I lived in a small house in the quiet part of the city. A mother, a father, and three childs of which I was the youngest.

We lived well for a while, because we were happy, refugees and inmigrants that finally found peace after so much war. Things were nice even though money wasn’t abundant, but after a while, past traumas and unsolved desires thought dead resurfaced.

Now the family that laughed so much at adversity discussed more than it celebrated, and everyone cared more for filling a bank account and having stuff. Even the child whose first big celebration had been finally helping mom wash the dishes.

Time passed and each one went their ways. Last time us siblings saw each other was in our mother’s funeral. We stood silent, and I saw the walls of the old house cracking.

Now I’m the last, just remembering, counting the many wounds in the old house walls. It will soon be demolished, and with it, only I will be left to remember the dusty and almost forgotten love of a dead family. I laugh, bitter and sweet, and I found myself cracking up at old jokes that no one would get nowadays.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dranuvar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I pray and I hope things will get better ahead.


Freewrite postwoman here to deliver the next prompt to you, here it is, check it out! It is Beast.'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56