Embracing the Flow while Moving - Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

234D3F47-AD8B-4A6B-840B-76141FA3F3BD.png

You know sometimes things just seem to work out perfectly, flow effortlessly and just seem right? This move has been one series of awesome steps after another. I am referring to the fact that my long time boyfriend and I finally found a place together that we love and are moving.

We found out a little over a week ago and I assumed I’d have about a month to slowly move because I had to give 30 days notice with my current landlord. (I am not on a lease – just month to month) I was a little bummed about paying double rent for a month, but I understand that’s part of the deal when you move.

Because my boyfriend and I both have fully furnished/stocked apartments – it’s been a whirlwind of consolidating our items as we pack. Whose couches should we keep? Who has the better plate set? Who’s TV should we keep?

As we’ve been making those decisions – I’ve been listing and selling the items of mine we aren’t keeping on Craigslist. This is the first piece of flow. I listed items (honestly) WAY higher than I thought I could probably get for it… and every item sold for nearly full price within 2 days. The other awesome thing about this, is that I was selling mostly bigger pieces of furniture. Now that they are out of the house, they are one less thing to worry about on moving day! I was able to sell my couch set, TV, desk and chair, chest freezers and all sorts of things.

The next awesome thing that happened is I got wind of the fact that one of my co-workers is currently going through a divorce and is looking for a place to live. It is HARD to find a good spot to rent in Bellingham, as rent prices are insane – even for dumpy apartments. A good spot will literally have 50 people emailing them within an hour of it coming available – it’s a crazy market out there. (Which is why I’m still in awe that we got the killer apartment that we are moving into! They had soooo many applicants and chose us. It blows me away).

My co-worker has two girls and was really bummed at his prospects for apartments. He will have them every other weekend and was hoping to get a good spot that his girls would enjoy. He was literally looking at dumpy apartments in bad parts of town. We got chatting and I recommended him to my landlord. They met and he got the apartment!

This has been SOOOO cool for everyone! Such a win, win, win! My apartment is located right in the heart of downtown, has tons of natural light, some cute kids for neighbors, gorgeous landscaping with fruit trees, and easy walking distance to almost anything you want. That’s why I’ve lived there the last 6 years – it’s hard to top this spot. My co-worker is so incredibly excited because instead of living in a dumpy part of town, he’ll be able to step out the front door and pick fruit with his girls, and walk down to the farmers market on Saturday’s with them. It just warms my whole heart knowing that he’ll have these kind of fun experiences with them.

Plus… the rent is cheaper than the spots he was looking at! I just rent from a retired couple – and so it is an incredible steal.

So, we’ve established this has been a win for him. It’s been a huge win for me too because he is available to move in right away. This means I am getting my last month’s rent back!! That’s right… I’m gonna get over $800 back in my pocket just because we found someone to move in early. Yes, this means that my next week or so is craaaazy trying to get packed up – but totally worth it.

It’s also been a total win for my landlords. Rental properties is a huge source of their income and finding new renters can be a huge hassle – and can often result in lost income while they interview and meet with potential renters. This way – we will literally hand off the keys and they won’t even miss a day of income.

The other unexpected thing that’s been awesome with having him get my apartment – is that he literally has no physical possession to his name. No kitchen items, no furniture. Basically his wife is staying in the house and keeping everything. This means that as I’m going through and packing up – I’m able to leave some stuff for him. For example… I don’t really need my plates anymore. There’s tons of kitchen items that are duplicative with my boyfriend, and so I can just leave it for him. It’s great for me because I don’t have to box them up and take them down to goodwill or try to sell them and it’s even more awesome for him because now he’ll have a start on building his kitchen and home!! I’m able to leave him a bedframe, a couple little side tables I don’t need and few other things as well.

A few other people in the office are totally coming around him to help him out too. A girl I know has a couch she’s trying to get rid of and it’s been awesome to see us all come together to help this guy get back on his feet. He’s literally been in tears of gratitude lately at how everything is happening.

Like I said in the beginning… it just feels like everything is flowing so well with this move and things have been lining up in a beautiful way. Doesn’t mean it won’t be a crazy next week – but I’m ready for it.

I’ve really loved going through my stuff too. It’s a little overwhelming at times, and I’m still in the thick of it – but there is something really cleansing about purging. I’m trying to only move the items I really use and love.

I literally hand over the keys the day before I fly out to Toronto! Such a whirlwind and I can’t wait to connect with so many of you soon at the Steem Creators Conference. <3

Thanks for reading my free-write about how my move has been going and thanks to @anomadsoul for the inspiration to start free-writing a little more often. I’m feeling super peaceful about all of this – and so this free-write ended up being full of gratitude. <3

XO, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


88FF01E4-50E0-43E5-9932-394D36065902.png

Ps... I'll be heading to the Steem Creators Conference in a few short weeks! If you are at all thinking about going... just DO IT! It is so worth it! In fact - @anomadsoul and I are giving away two event tickets and accommodations to the event! Click HERE to check out all the details!


More of my Steemy Adventures


Check out the Latest Steem Sister Show Episode
Steem Monsters Fan Fiction Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Follow The Muse Project - Empowering Women on the Blockchain - with @ogc and @coruscate
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry
Sort:  

Things tend to go in Cycles as I've experienced. I'm glad you're having a positive experience and things are coming together nicely. Best wishes for more of the same.

So true! About 6-7 years ago I had a huge waive of changes in my world and now I seem to have a lot of change coming all at once again. I’m kind of exciting. :)

Thanks for stopping by!! :)

had a similar experience this weekend. My grandparents recently passed away and nobody of my family lives in the German village where they lived so we had to "clean" up their house.

The housing market there is not "insane". I am very sad because it is place where i spent alot of good days in my childhood.

Many nice wooden furniture had to be thrown away as the local market is so low, nobody will show up for a craigslist offer. :(

Many things landed there:

20180826_103913.jpg

but at least family came together again:

20180826_123921.jpg

(i know, i have a small family :D )

enjoy your new apartment! And dont stick around that much on objects. They will be soon gone, when you are gone.

Wow, I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. :( Losing grandparents is so hard and then having to go through their home and literally trash their treasured possessions must have been even harder.

I had to do the same thing about 3 years ago when my grandma died. I was one of the closest relatives and spent a lot of time cleaning out her apartment.

Hope your doing okay my friend. ♥️

it is allright. they were in their eighties and we all had enough time to say goodbye.

Very nice content, I resteemed you, I expect same favour from your side DQmUqYJ5yKPoLf3LLHy5RcAUXUjC25t8NXpSsdc6KzrTusG.gif

Very nice content @coruscate I am new in steemit but my content is not highlighted and I am feeling like how hard work I am doing but did not get any result now can you please watch my blog and help me what mistake I am making so I can rectify it @uttamblogs
Thankyou ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66