My Voice - 5 Minute Freewrite Day 84: Prompt: sound check

in #freewrite7 years ago

Sound check reminds me of my high school days when I performed a couple songs with a band of my friends in a "period starting karaoke", which was always after the test week when the classes changed. I was singing, even though I don't like my clear vocals at all. Makes me cringe when I listen them on a video. I know it's partly because it sounds so different in your own head. Well, hearing your own voice from 3rd person is probably the best way to improve as a singer, and at least I got some performing experience. But I still prefer growling and throat singing, sounds much less cringey, and it's much more fun. Oh did I just say that? I guess that's the first time I've ever talked about it here. Now I'm leaving you wonder that maybe I'll do a video someday...


Introduction to freewriting by @mariannewest


My previous freewrites:


Picture from Pixabay

Sort:  

Yes! I would love to hear you singing with a growling throat song...my favorite! : )

Lol 😂 I'd go shoot a video outside but iPhone 4S is notorious for shutting down in minus temperatures so might have to wait until spring.

Darn! I hate cold weather and can't wait for spring. Stay warm : )

Stay warm : )

Will do. *sips green tea * Tea is probably the best thing in winter!

My normal speaking voice is so low that many people can't hear what I'm saying, especially in a crowded or noisy room. But when I'm public speaking or taking part in some stage play I've never really needed a microphone unless the venue was pretty large. It is for this reason that many people have begged me to join them singing, join the choir and make use of that powerful voice they would say lol. So one day I took them up on it, and I watched them squirm as they tried to figure out some way to politely ask me to please stop! Ha ha ha, I have no timing and I can't carry a toon in a bucket, I'm tone deaf when singing and have no idea what key I'm in, and I know nothing about music. So what do you do when the person you just begged to join the choir has one of the loudest voices but sounds like he's singing a totally different song than everyone else and doing it all out of tune. 🙄

Some people seem to think that I'm a pretty nice guy, but I've already been asked several times to sing in the choir at a different church, and I'm getting close to ready to accept the challenge. That should be sure enough proof that I'm evil and enjoy inflicting pain on others. 😏

Oh man, that's so funny, I'm sorry 😁

H ha ha, I'm glad you like evil plots against innocent church choirs, and all this time I thought that I was the only one. 😜

I can relate... I use to want to rap as a young adult but hated my voice so much I just became a writer/producer for other artists

Yeah, but to others it sounds normal. I guess one will just have to get used to it...

You can find a voice if you look. I had a friend who felt the same way and now he finally sings on his songs, after years of writing stuff without vocals.

Yes, you did say that! 😂 Low, growling voices sound so good! Now we are all looking forward to a video...

Today I am Marianne's specially programmed robotic delivery squirrel. I'm scampering through the freewriters, bringing our lady's next creative prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-85-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-corn

Now we are all looking forward to a video...

I promise to make that some day...

I felt the same way about my voice for a long time...I felt like Tom Waits on stage and then when I heard a recording I thought it sounded more like Justin Timberlake hahaha people liked it but not the people I was writing for!

Haha, the struggle... Well, at least someone liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61