Freewrite Favorites - Readers' Choice! Friday, 26-April-2019

in #freewrite5 years ago

Presents.png

Click on the photos links to read the blog posts

Remember if a post is older than 6 days, try to find something more recent to upvote so they can get the rewards. Thank you so much for your support!
'

FWH-faves.png

Yes. it's still Thursday where I live, but I was trying hard to get this formatted and out in time for the voting window (Carol the techno-challenged)


@wakeupkitty

Here they come to my favorite freewrites:

The first one used the prompt wine and is a short story written by @wordymouth and made me think. Would you let anyone watch you while you were drinking your wine? Where did this take place (at her place because of most women who are killed are killed at their own place by someone they knew) and why (why???) did it happen. If you know it leave me your answer. Enjoy the story!
https://partiko.app/wordymouth/the-torment-of-wine?referrer=wakeupkitty
Don't use partiko? Click here: The Torment of Wine

@wakeupkitty

My next recommendation is @myjob she used the prompt reincarnate. I read her freewrite right after I posted mine and she gave me a good laugh thanks to the long list of options she gave in what to reincarnate or why you better not do so.
By the way she surprised me she doesn't mind to reincarnate, although a dog's life doesn't sound great to her. What if the wrong person adopts you?
https://partiko.app/myjob/free-write-prompt-reincarnate?referrer=wakeupkitty
Don't use partiko? Click here.

FWH-faves.png

@wakeupkitty

My 3rd recommendation is also with the prompt reincarnate. It is interesting to read how the writer of this content reincarnated in the present life. How the same body changed into a new body and how the soul had to get used to it and change into something new too.
If you want to know why read @fitinfun her freewrite.
https://partiko.app/fitinfun/freewrite-day-548-reincarnate?referrer=wakeupkitty

Don't use Partiko? Click here.

FWH-faves.png

@shakkei and @fitinfun

@fitinfun wrote,

I have two this week for the "reincarnate" prompt.

First is from @wakeupkitty who does not want to come back! "Enough is enough", she says, lol. This post is full of a lot of good advice we should all be following whether or not this is our one life to live.

#freewriting - Enough is enough by @wakeupkitty

@shakkei wrote,

I was reading this freewrite and it catched me alot as am normally more reading German then English. I had to read it twice and still not sure if I was reading everything right. But very fascinating. I could have read a much longer story on that topic--thank you @wakeupkitty--I really hope we will read more from you. For nonnative English readers, it may be a bit of a challenge to read:) and I love challenges.

@carokean seconds this nomination. I am beyond fascinated! Reincarnation is a baffling concept to me, one I would love to believe and understand, but I keep thinking it's more likely that ancestral memory floats around in our DNA via a fluke of epigenetics, or maybe even via electromagnetic (radio) waves that some minds are attuned to while most are not. For someone to remember a past life is tremendous. To me, the primary reason to doubt reincarnation is the failure to carry knowledge from one life to the next. What is the point, if we cannot retain wisdom, skills, memories, and insights and carry them into the next life? Why can't we remember how Stonehenge and the Pyramids were built, if anyone there at the time was reincarnated?But I could go on like this for hours. What strikes me about this Freewrite is the weariness of a soul who's on her thirteenth life and is weary. I cannot imagine. Please don't leave us too soon, @wakeupkitty!

NOTE: A really fun aspect of this freewrite was @wakeupkitty's response in German to @shakkei, and @MarianneWest joining in the fun:
@freewritehouse
Ich wusste gar nicht dass du auch Deutsch sprichst! Das is ja prima. Vielleicht sollten wir den prompt auch in Deutsch machen. Was denkst du? Weiss nicht ob das gut ankommt weil viele Deutsche so ernst sind und alles perfekt haben wollen 🤪
Next, @scribblingmama joined in with the Deutsch!

FWH-faves.png

@fitinfun also wrote,

Second is by @stinawog, who shares her complex and scattered thoughts at the time of her father's passing. I guess it is not as much a favorite as a freewrite I just want to call attention to. I'm glad she was able to write this at such a difficult time.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@stinawog/5-minute-freewrite-reincarnate

FWH-faves.png

@scribblingramma

The trouble with having time to read lots of freewrites is having so many from which to choose a few favorites. Here are three that really caught my attention.

@whatisnew's House of Swine poem is fun because it tells a story succinctly and in the form of poetry. I could just picture the woman whining about everything, and then having a few regrets many years later. I am in my sixties and can only hope I, too, have aged like fine wine.

House of Swine


@improv's weekend freewrite "A Family Story" is another favorite. I love the way he worked all three prompts into a smooth story. I particularly love the last line, which I am not going to quote here because you need to go read it for yourself.

A Family Story


There were at least three posts with the schoolhouse prompt that grabbed my attention, but I am going to pick just one to mention here, and that is @kimberlylane's gripping account of her own miserable school days complete with abusive teachers. It made me want to cry.

Schoolhouse

FWH-faves.png

@ whatisnew

I found a cute story written by our own @mariannewest. Bless her heart! Do you have problems with snails in your garden? You will find a fun way to get rid of them and make the kids happy as well. Of course you will want to make sure the kids don't bring the snails into the house. LOL!
I'm Blessed

FWH-faves.png

@carolkean

@owasco, I'm sorry this post is five days old today, but I love not only the freewrite but your explanation of what inspired it. Weekend Freewrite -4/20/2019 - Schoolhouse


What a wicked narrator! Readers, you'll want to see what her victim checked to see:

behind the magnolia tree just outside the art room window....
... he looked, and he angrily lifted the art table a few inches then dropped it, making a screeching sound. The teacher turned at the sound, saw only his anger, yelled at him, and sent him to the headmaster....


@owasco writes,
This story was inspired by several posts on Steem:

An astounding story by @byn, the first I have read of hers https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@byn/the-school-house-jacob-and-samuel#@owasco/re-byn-the-school-house-jacob-and-samuel-20190420t202029618z my story is not a continuation of hers.
this contest, which I have entered https://steempeak.com/politics/@bananafish/flash-contest-on-inclusion#@owasco/re-calluna-re-owasco-re-bananafish-flash-contest-on-inclusion-20190418t152458175z
and by this challenge, from whence all my favorite stories seem to spring https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-4-20-2019-single-prompt-option

Writing is such a trip. For this freewrite, three disparate influences came together to sweep me away. Thank you for reading.

Carol can't figure out why the command to end centering </center isn't working. I had to delete the second > because I cannot show coding here without the coding taking effect, leaving the code itself invisible to readers.

FWH-faves.png

This is an entry by @chireerocks

@freewritehouse team, Visited @scribblingramma's Freewrite Blog and find it interesting and we can deep dive into the World Of Diaries in that Freewrite. Stay blessed team.


Check out what else is going on over at @freewritehouse!

FWH-faves.png

WINNING-01-300.png

Find @mariannewest and her daily prompts to join us for a new freewrite prompt every day!

250-daily.png

Sort:  

@carolkea, Readers choice is a good initiative for sure. Have a pleasant time ahead and stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, and you too :)

Welcome and thank you.

Thank you @carolkean! I like that one an awful lot myself. and my comments took way longer than the actual freewrite.
I wish I could help you with your editing problem. (It looks like you are asking me) xoxoxoxoxoxo

No, no, I wasn't asking you, but the centering command went fubar in the end when I was adding your freewrite. I gave up right and left aligning stuff because text would go nuts, no matter how I worked in the </div command. (Again, I leave off the second > here because... formatting.)
Someday it'll come easier to me. It has to. I keep reminding myself I know a ton of stuff my sisters never learned. It isn't saying a lot, but it's something! :)

I am having a hard time with Steemit right now - it lets me upvote but not comment. I went and gave each author featured an upvote - at random.

Ah, yes, I need to go do that too before my upvote dwindles to 90% or less. Thanks for the reminder!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46