I'm blessed

in #freewrite5 years ago

I'm Blessed.png

I'm blessed

“Bless your heart,” my grandma said often to me when I was little. She patted my head or shoulder and always smiled at me when she said it.
I knew that was a good thing. I had heard in church about being blessed and such.
So, all my day, I was singing to myself “I’m blessed! I’m blessed!”
I couldn’t really sing. But that didn’t stop me from trying to reach up as high with my voice as I could. And trying to be as loud as I possibly could expand my young voice. High and shrill and loud.
“Bless your heart,” is what Grandma would say to me and then suggest to me to read a book. Quietly.
The most bless your hearts I got from her was the time when I went snail hunting.
My mom always complained about all the snails eating her salad and such and she had offered us kids a penny for each snail we bring to her - collected from the garden.
I was on it!!
I had this small blue metal bucket I liked to carry around with me. And that day, I almost filled it with snails to the very top. Talk about making money!!
My mom never said what I should do with the snails and they were so pretty and interesting to watch. There were the little ones whose shell was almost translucent. The big ones with all different patterns on their shells. I loved to watch them retreating into their house and foaming at the entrance - maybe to keep us away?
So much fun to watch. They were a little bit hard to keep in the bucket since they were climbing up the sides of it. But I knew what to do!
I found a big cardboard box and put it upside down over my bucket before I went to bed. That night, I was dreaming about my snails and that I was going to train them to become racing snails.
When I came into the living room in the morning, that was when Grandma kept saying to me: “Bless your heart.”
She was looking at all kinds of slimy trails coming from under my box, onto the floor, up the walls, the curtains - even the ceiling.
‘Bless your heart!”
See, I told you that I’m blessed. Grandma said so.

A freewrite to the prompt "I'm blessed" Find the pormpt post here

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

beta reg banner.png

Post from Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and other social media accounts to your Steem account using Share2steem. Here is my referral link

Join @Actifit, become healthier by being active and earn as you walk. My referral link

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

What a cute story! Training the snails to be racing snails? LOL! Bless Grandma's heart for not going into a rage when seeing the room covered with snails and snail slime. : )

Why not!! I think I should try that LOL

All grandmas are awesome!

Grandmas are - but this is fiction - well, maybe beside the snails escaping LOL But that was my kids doing the collecting :)

Bless your heart, Marianne, your snails are escaping. 😂 Great freewrite!

Thank you!!! Better go catch them LOL

That was quite a snail bucket lol! What a wonderful story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! ❤️

I love your grandma!!!! Bless her heart

Wished she were real. Pretty much all fiction- besides that Our parents wanted us to collect snails and one of my kids did the snail in the house thing lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your offspring had snails in the house--and your reaction was "Bless you, child?" :) Fictional or no, the kind spirit is all you!

What a wonderful story! When I was a kid, my dad paid my brothers to collect all the snails they could find in a garbage bag. They found a whole lot of them, and they shook the bag really hard to see what would happen. All the snails foamed and I freaked out. I didn't want them to die. I didn't understand that snails in a garden are a bad thing. I didn't want anything to die. I'm still struggling with that even though I am now a farmer. I'm a farmer who doesn't kill things.

That can be such a dilemma. But you could let the ducks or chickens out. They love snails 👍😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.

Thank you so much!! Love the cake 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a cute story @mariannewest, did you have to re-catch them all and get another penny for each one? 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Now, that would be a good business model 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I loved this story, although my grandmother and I had a different relationship around snails... she taught me all the fine arts of reducing the population of snails and slugs in her backyard, and then how to grow things snails wouldn't eat (but we could)! My grandmother and yours had the same attitude, though ... the event for me was homemade mud pies in that same garden!

Now, I like to know what you were growing that snails don’t like to eat. I am glad that you had a grandma like this. Mine in this story is fictional 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yikes -- you can really write, because that grandma RESONATED!

Blackberries (thorns), tomatoes (tannins), and onions (onions!): snails are not fans of any of those!

Thank you 😊 That is music to my ears. Got all three in my yard. 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your grandma is correct. You are super blessed. =) ❤️

And did you know there is a cartoon of a snail in the end can race as fast as sport car. It is "Turbo". The kids love to watch it. Hehe

You are so sweet! I do feel blessed ( but the story is mostly fiction 😂) I have to watch the cartoon with my grandkids 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44