"But Never Jam Today" - Day 473: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: jam tomorrow

in #freewrite6 years ago


source

"Let's jam tomorrow,"

he texted me. I would have pretended not to get the message but we both had iPhones and he'd see that I saw that he wrote. Damn.

"The Music Lab is right off the Brown Line, so I don't have to lug my gear across town to peel the paint off the walls," he texted.

I could see him now. Probably while lilting down Michigan Avenue with a song on his headset, dreamily taking in the scene and hearing new beats in his head and thinking up new lyrics after seeing a girl on a bicycle in the rain.

Oh, Lionel.

What were the chances I'd drag my ass to Lincoln Avenue tomorrow and find him there, on time, or at all?

He was so easy to love and so hard to endure. I met Lionel in middle school, that tender age when we are so insecure and concerned about appearances. Being self-conscious, though, would have required some level of thought that Lionel didn't aspire to. His mental energy went to music and not much else, until, girls.

Oh Lionel. It was the biggest band concert of the year, with all parents and siblings in attendance. The band was about to begin. Except, no drummer. The principal got on the loudspeaker. "Lionel Davis." Yeah, that was his real name, a tip o' the hat to his dad's favorite musicians. "Lionel Davis, the band is about to play."

Tense silence punctuated by Mr. Blackman's repeated Lionel. Earth to Lionel which went for what felt like three minutes. Suddenly from the top of the bleachers a tall, skinny silhouette stood up and stepped lightly down the steep, crowded risers, then sauntered casually to the drums, sat on the throne and picked up his sticks. The evil eye from Mrs. Haydn bounced like oil off a hot Teflon skillet as Lionel started playing on cue. He was flawless. He was not the least bit embarrassed or apologetic; he just went to those drums as if he hadn't been chatting up the girls, oblivious to the obvious. What kind of parents manage to send out into the world a kid so imperturbable, so talented, and so maddening?

Lionel had the calm of the Buddha and it wasn't from smoking weed. He was born laid-back, like his dad, but his dad was a scientist with a nine-to-five, Monday-to-Friday gig at the same laboratory for his entire working career, designing acoustical stuff. Lionel's mom on the other hand was a scatter-brained poet-fiddler-artist who proved that opposites attract.

Any musical instrument he touched, Lionel could play. Guitar, bass, violin, jazz flute, any wooden instrument, any silver or gold or brass, would respond to the touch of Lionel's lips, Lionel's fingers.

A hundred million times, people would get homicidally angry with Lionel, yet the minute anyone blew up at him, he would calmly look black, blink, and shrug with that little smile that stopped anger dead in its tracks.

He had to be a ghost,

we figured, the way he'd drift from place to place, with that silent glide he had, that hint of a smile, like the Cheshire cat who left his grin behind on the tree branch. Call me Alice. Ok, call me Alicia, my real name, but hanging out with Lionel was often like living in Lewis Carroll's Wonderland.

Some time after college, ghosting became a verb, and if it was in the dictionary, Lionel's picture would be next to it. If you think Lionel ever ghosted someone and said “Sorry,” you don't know Lionel. I asked my therapist about it back in my "Life Without Lionel Isn't Living" phase. She said it only makes the injured party feel more aggravated or trespassed against when the trespasser says "Sorry," but I honestly couldn't believe Lionel even registered the fact that he'd trespassed against someone and owed that person an explanation or an apology. His mind was probably so caught up in his latest composition, there was no room in his brilliant brain for such trivialities as people who relied on clocks and calendars to go places in life.

It wasn't just me,

Alicia, the girl who'd crushed on Lionel since Day One of middle school. Everyone was an equal-opportunity victim of Lionel's head-in-a-cloud ways. If the prime minister of England scheduled a meeting with Lionel, it'd take security guards to follow him and make sure he would really show up. If Miles Davis or Lionel Richie had ever booked a jam session with Lionel, chances are, our guy actually would have shown up, but not on time. How he survived in a city the size of Chicago was a mystery more puzzling than crop circles and the pyramids of Egypt.

No one ever seemed to know where he was,

and he was never where he was supposed to be. Phone messages? His inbox was always full.

And then you'd get a call from him after midnight telling you it wasn't too late to catch him jamming at the Green Mill with a rising star like Matt Ulery, or some old guy who used to be a studio musician for Nat King Cole and who played on all these famous albums everyone in the world hears without ever knowing who did the instrumentals.

My phone went off. One of Lionel's tunes, of course. I picked up. "Hey."

"A-liiiiii-cia." That lilt in his voice was as distinctive as the lilt in his walk. He always sounded pleasantly surprised.

The shock of hearing Lionel in real time was like seeing a freight train bear down on your stalled car on the railroad tracks and your life flashes before your eyes. I steeled my nerves.

"Look Lionel," I said, "it's after midnight and I have an actual day job to get to tomorrow, and I'm not packing my sax to get on the Brownline and wait for you to show up at The Music Lab only to get ghosted again. Sorry."

"I'd love to see you," he said calmly. "I'll be there at six. It'd be great to jam with you again."

Ghosting him yourself had no effect on him whatsoever. I'm not the only one who's tried. He could face down a tornado without flinching. How did he even know I'd moved to Chicago? I gave up social media long before those Russian hackers allegedly dug in.

Fact was, tomorrow would be Friday, and I had nothing better in my social calendar.

I programmed The Music Label into my phone calendar.

Lionel. Oh, Lionel.

Like Charlie Brown and Lucy's football, I would never learn.



source

Jam tomorrow

Jam tomorrow or jam to-morrow (older spelling) is an expression for a never-fulfilled promise. It originates from Lewis Carroll's 1871 book Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Found There, in which the White Queen offers Alice 'jam to-morrow'...

'The rule is, jam to-morrow and jam yesterday - but never jam to-day.'

*Story location inspired by Cameron's review of The Music Lab

Why People Ghost — and How to Get Over It by By Adam Popescu inspired "Lionel"

Day 473: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: jam tomorrow

Prompt: jam tomorrow
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Glad to meet you - and sorry I don't know how to play with fonts like you do!
#NowFollowing @veryspider thanks to your post:
Have you heard of @veryspider? Not likely, but I want to change that. She has 1,380 followers and I'd love to see that break 1,500 this week!
Thank you for supporting the little fish, @themadcurator!

veryspider is the veryBEST!

I love this Carol, great way to take the prompt in both a literal and figurative direction with the meaning of "jam" as play music. I wasn't aware of the older meaning of the saying. You paint a very colorful character, I feel like I have known a Lionel or too in my day :) Much love - Carl

Aw, thanks Carl!! I'm afraid everyone has known a Lionel - "ghosting" before cell phones ever led to the term. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you!!!

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Thank you so much!!
Your support keeps me from giving up on myself. Seriously. Thank you!

"Mooning" Is the New Ghosting
BY EJ DICKSON
'....not 'the mildly rebellious, 1950s act of pulling down one’s pants and showing off your rear end' but 'putting her phone on “do not disturb” mode to ignore incoming texts from the sender — so named for the little half-moon symbol that signifies “do not disturb” on the iPhone. The iPhone’s Do Not Disturb mode silences everyone, temporarily turning off all of your notifications. But you can also mute people in group texts, as well as individual people if you want them to shut up for the time being.' (Just an aside!)
Oh the things I've yet to learn about my phone.

And, yes, I realize this story sounds like a knock-off of a story I wrote only a few weeks ago. :) But that one was set in the 1980s, while this one is contemporary. And, yes, the irresistible but maddening musician vs the more sensible woman who can't stop loving him is a well-worn theme. Call me a broken record. :) "Meet Me in the Limelight" - Harley and Hannah, Lionel and Alicia... do I repeat myself too much?

You are such a talented writer. I feel like the characters are my friends and I love how you described Lionel. : )

Resident cat here, delivering today's new prompt as a token of my love.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-474-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-token

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Ohhh you have no idea how you make my day, @whatisnew!
My sisters, husband, offspring all show up in my fiction because I know they will never read it. :) That's why Lionel seems real. Our son did exactly that at an 8th grade band concert (as the drummer). He did it again in 9th grade orchestra (as an upright bass player). In college, underclassmen knew to tell Miles any gig was an hour or two earlier than it actually was. We once got messaged while an hour away that Miles was missing from a school concert that would soon begin -- hahahahahah -- that was high school. They might have shuffled the program order that time. I don't even remember, there were so many such cases.

So funny. Your son is talented, just like his mom. : )

I'd love to have his talents - mine is just to embarrass him!
** Thank you ** for reading and commenting. :)

Wow, this is really about real life... If you need some inspiration in the future, I can introduce you some Lionels I know.

Great story, congratulations!

Thank you!
I'm pretty sure everybody knows a Lionel - but how many Lionels are as hapless, incurable, and lovable as this one....? :)

Actually, I would ** Love ** to hear your Lionel stories! Please share!
Names changed to protect the guilty :)

Maybe my Lionels are not so lovable as your...! LOL

I've to think about it if they deserve it or not. 🤔

Mine is so lovable because I picture my son (ADHD, musician, artist) whenever I think of people who "ghost" or never show up on time or who really don't mean to blow you off -- they're just lost in their own imagination and clocks/calendars become invisible....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60085.46
ETH 2416.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43