Unexpected Tears: 5 Minute Freewrite, Prompt: Floss My Tears

in #freewrite7 years ago

tears-cover.png

My eyelashes floss my tears as they spill silently over my lids. Settling briefly for a tiny bit of a millisecond in the creases under my eyes before leaving to follow the path brought on by gravity and the curve of my cheek.

The tear glistens and wavers for not even a moment, hovering at the edge of my chin before free falling, dropping to the cold linoleum floor of the hospital.

The emotion is overflowing in me, like the tears, unexpected in it's strength.

I didn't expect to feel this intensely about anything at this stage of life. I thought my emotions were drained and still, silently awaiting the day when something would break through...

And apparently this is the day. Seeing this oh so small little person come into the world. This tiny little hand, these tiny little premature fingers grabbing mine.

tears.png

My first born daughter's first born.

He was too early, but he is so strong. He is a fighter and he will thrive. I can tell in the strength of his grip already. His tiny lips pucker and I imagine he's trying to say 'hi'.

He knows me and I know him. I love this little boy already and can't wait to hear the words, "Grandma" from him some day soon.

tears-3.png

This particular grandson is now 3 1/2 and is the first of two grandsons that I see quite often and he always calls me "Grandma Byn"


Thanks to @mariannewest for the Prompt: I floss my tears
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post*.


Other Writing of mine that you might be interested in:

thumb-meet-my-husband.png

Meet My Husband/Weirdo/Other Half

thumb-older-1.png

Getting Older, Wiser and Crankier

Thumb-72-weekendfreewrite-tripofalifetime.png

Trip of a Lifetime: Short Story

thumb-iwouldstay.png

I Would Stay: An Intense Emotional Short Story

Sort:  

Oh this is lovely @byn! What a way to take this prompt.

Seeing this oh so small little person come into the world. This tiny little hand, these tiny little premature fingers grabbing mine.

I was nearly flossing tears of my own by this point. Really beautiful.

This is one of those tears I'd gladly floss daily. The joyful expression of welcoming a new family member is indeed a warmth and touching feeling. Thank you for sharing your experience through a difficult prompt. (At least for me it is.)

It was a very difficult prompt and I almost didn't even try. Thankfully I read one of my friends posts @snook and it inspired me to give it a try, even though I wasn't sure I could do it. I'm glad I did. Thank you!

He is absolutely adorable, and I love how you used the prompt in the first line.

💚

Thank you! It was a hard prompt to get into, that's for sure, but once I did... it all just flowed. :)

Thank you! It was so hard to even get started, but once I did this was the first thing that came to mind. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Awwww.... So sweet. Even though the prompt is really a hard one, but you made it so easy and so touching. Love and hugs! 💗❤️💖💕

It was a very difficult prompt and I almost didn't do it... but I'm so glad I did after this memory came out of it :)

Time flies... It's already 3 1/2 years... Felt like just last week... But it's already 3 1/2 years... My youngest daughter is 3 1/2 years old too...
:D

They learn and change SO much in those early years, it's crazy to watch it from a slight distance now as a Grandparent instead of a parent!

I think I will need to wait for at least another 20 years before I can upgrade to a grandparent... But yes, they change a lot...
Like my youngest daughter, she started going to kindergarten this year... Just went to kindergarten for four days... And I feel like "wow", she is different now!
Feels like she has suddenly "grow up"!

What an amazing picture of the little hands. And I love how you used the prompt!! to tell the truth - all have written such outstanding freewrites on this prompt!
Glad he is calling you grandma now :)

Thank you!!! There are SO many amazing writers that have found freewriting, I'm SO glad that I found you guys as soon as I found steemit!

And I am thrilled that you found us :)

You know, I stayed admiring his beautiful profile and the cute little nosy..his little fingers grabbing yours are something unique. Truly a beautiful baby. Looking at your pic, it makes me think it's time to produce one soon too :-P

Thank you :) He is a sweetheart and I've been blessed with 5 gorgeous children of my own... the grandkids are definitely less work, since I get to take them back home in the evening and actually get a full night's sleep now!

I know you've a great family and if im not mistaken anche adventurous life too, traveling by sea .. my mum went nut with her three grand children from my younger sister.. i am a free willy still but im starting to be old now, i guess it's time and I have to say goodbye to those lovely sleep hours 😉

Ha :) They are worth the loss of sleep!!! Really, they are! Assuming you actually want kids, all of the work is so worth it in the end... but I am weirdly in LOVE with sleep now that I get it (in addition to kids, I had decades of insomnia for unrelated reasons as well).

I have to say, I absolutely love those Max and the Wild Things dolls. I often told my baby brother his bedtime stories when my mother went to the sports club, and that story was one that featured prominently. Though I used his favourite dolls, of Eric and Bert, and didn't have specific dolls for each story.

The story opens with such coldness. And then you said you were in a hospital, so I was sure someone had died. The image of emotions held back, lest one breaks, come clear here.

My daughter (the mom of the baby featured in this story) found those stuffed dolls for me for Mother's Day the year before this baby was born. I still have them and will keep them always. They are such a sweet reminder of their childhood!

Oh, no! I didn't even think about the feel of the opening of the story. My mind was just... there, so I didn't think about it from an outside perspective. At least it was a happy ending!?

Well, yeah, but hey, we didn't know it was supposed to be a happy story, nor did we know it's biographical, so a sad story that hits hard is just as valuable as a happy one, right?

Absolutely. Plus, it's not like I would EVER write a sad/emotional story, right? ;)

Lovely story! I went through the same experience as a dad and yes, there are no words to describe it.

Thank you! It is pretty hard to capture the experience with mere words!

Awh I felt like I was there with you experiencing new life!
Thank you for sharing Grandma Byn ;D

It was a phenomenal experience! Thanks for reading and stopping by :)

A lovely memory @byn. Thank you for sharing it!

Also, here's the link for freewrite 82:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-82-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-stetson

Thank you! I will go check it out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41