Trip of a Lifetime (Continued): 5 Minute Freewrite, Prompt: Toothache

in #freewrite7 years ago

70-trip of a lifetime2.png

Yesterday I challenged myself to do a freewrite and continue the story using today's prompt.

Here is yesterday's story if you missed it.
THUMB-70-trip of a lifetime.png

(A bit of catching up) So yesterday I got a call telling me that I qualified to win the "Trip of a lifetime" and well, I guess it just goes to show how shitty my life is currently, because I just said 'to hell with it' and took them up on their offer...

So there I was, standing outside of my sketchy ass apartment, the smell of desperation clinging to everything in my view when the car pulled up. Maybe “car” isn’t accurate enough… it was a limo. And not just any limo, but the fanciest damn limousine I had ever seen. Hell, ever imagined seeing.

A man in a fancy looking suit stepped out of the front passenger seat and opened the back door for me. He took my bag and did something with it as I found myself surrounded by a stunning display of riches beyond my imagination. A woman sat across from me with whom I assumed to be her husband and they both looked as shell shocked as I felt.

A sliding shelf buzzed quietly out in front of me with a drink on it, full of ice and bubbles and with a scent that was too enticing to resist. I picked up the glass, tipped it towards my ‘car mates’ as I said “cheers” and took a sip. It was like nectar from the heavens. I drank it embarrassingly fast, but then started to feel a bit odd. My back molar started to ache suddenly. No, not even ache, but it was more like when you go to the dentist and they give you the shot in your gums… yeah, like that. I felt like my gums were going to explode. I moaned in pain and it came out sounding funny in my ears.

Fuck. FUCK. I knew this was too good to be true. These assholes had drugged me.

I looked across at my traveling companions and watched in horror as their heads changed shape before my eyes. It was like I was looking in a funhouse mirror. Their foreheads grew and bubble out, becoming these bulbous, freakishly large features on their heads. Their eyes appeared to get larger and rounder, bulging out from their heads terrifyingly far.

I tried to reach for the door handle beside me to escape, but I couldn’t reach it. No matter how hard I tried, the handle was just a little further out of reach.

I forced my head back against the soft leather of the seat and stared ahead, trying to force my vision back to reality… I was going to fight this. If they thought I was going to be a willing victim, they were wrong. Dead wrong.

(To Be Continued)


Thanks to @mariannewest for the prompt!
Prompt: toothache
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.


Oh, by the way, two of my awesome kids are finally taking my advice and participating in the #freewrites too!!! This is my bragging momma moment, because they're pretty amazing writers straight out of the gate!

ABYNI.png

My daughter @abyni with her first freewrite "The Hatchling"
Thumb-71-the-hatchling.png

My son @knightengale has done THREE since yesterday, so you have some to choose from if you're looking for something new to read (he made me give him an 'old' prompt to try it out first, but his results were awesome, so he went ahead and posted both.)
jAEDIN.png
You may recognize this boy here... this is his 'real life' look

The Birthday
thumb-surprise.png

The "Imaginary Friend"
thumb-cave-entrance.png

Visiting a Friend
thumb-jaedinfreewrite.png

Sort:  

wowzers. I am constantly blown away by your writing skills. (I hope I inherited some of them)

I think you did! Some day we'll have to collaborate and write a story together :)

yes you should! as I put in my 2 cents lolll

fight, girl, fight!!!
So glad your kids joined in! they are awsome writers!!
Here are your weekend options

15 min 3 prompt exercise
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-30-2017-part-1-the-first-sentence

Or single prompt option
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-20-2017-single-prompt-option

I LOVE THE WEEKEND FREEWRITES SO SO SO MUCH!!!

(My kids thought I was crazy today when I read them prompt #2 after we did the first one. They did NOT believe me when I said it was fun, but they did it! It was quite hilarious seeing their faces when I told them the second prompt and then the last one. :) These are such a wonderful challenge!

hahaha - and I love it that you write together as a family!!!

Yeah, me too! I don't want to go back to "normal" life where we all have our own schedules. It goes something like this. First Abyni asks me three times if the freewrite prompt is up yet.

The prompt is finally up and I say "Hey kids, are you ready for the freewrite?"

grumble Grumble "No" from Jaedin.

"No you're not ready, or no you aren't going to do it?"

grumble "No, I want to do it."

Then when I gave prompt #2: "What the HELL? What am I supposed to do with this? This is insane. Holy shit. Seriously. How will I ever..."

Me: "The timer is set... ready set GO!"

lots of typing...

PHEW. It's done and therein lies the genius of our routine right now! :)

This was a good read. Thanks for sharing

LOVE this and loved yesterdays :D GREAT idea too!

You are awesome, thank you :) I missed the weekend freewrite last time and have been itching to do one again, so I guess I just inadvertently made it happen in long form :)

Welcome to this crazy 5 minute prompts family. That was a great read. Way to go byn.

Thanks! I do love this community! I haven't been here long, but this #freewrite group is my favorite!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by byn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow, @byn that is the beginning of a great story! It is exciting to see that you brought help also, this should be a lot of fun. 👏 👍 😃

Thanks! I'm so enjoying freewrites again! I got a bit overwhelmed with other things, but even after such a short time on here, I missed my freewrite and all of you guys from the freewriting community!

We missed you also, I hope that everything worked out for you at your Moms. I'm really glad to see your children joining you here now, if my son was not working such long hours I think that he might join me too. This is a great place to make into a little family fun time. 👍

Your writing skills are really good. I love this piece

Thank you so much :)

Weldone...nice one

Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I really appreciate the support!

beautiful write up indeed ! keep going :)

Thank you so much! :) I shall endeavor to write something every day because it makes me feel good to accomplish creative things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44