Trip of a Lifetime: 5 Minute Freewrite, Prompt: Surprise Coming to You

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

70-trip of a lifetime.png

“...Surprise coming to you…” the voice on the phone had the ring of false cheer and I definitely sensed a scam. I was not in the mood for this bullshit…

BUT there was that niggling voice in my head saying, “what if this is the real deal? Good things happen to some people, why not you?”

I still felt very suspicious. What this guy was saying just sounded too good to be true. A “mystery” trip of a lifetime for free? I just had to sign a few papers (and you know it was like a fucking book that I’d never read before signing, who the hell has time for that?) and then show up at the designated location to get a ride to the airport where I’d be taken to a surprise destination…

Hmmm… the guy droned on in my ear, but I wasn’t really listening. I had been so desperate to escape this tedious hell hole of a life, of a job for years. I felt like I was dying inside everyday that I had to get up and go to my shitty job that barely paid me enough to stay alive. I was sick of barely existing. Sick of living on cheap ramen noodle mixes and tap water. I was sick of it. All I could picture was white sandy beaches and the ocean. It wasn't likely to be that, but that was all I had in my head. At this point, I didn't really even care. As long as it wasn't THIS.

The more I thought about my current life, the more this guy sounded real. Now he was going on about the… well, what I thought of as the ‘side effect’ list. You know, that list of stuff they have at the end of pharmaceutical commercials? He was rattling off about accepting the dangers of the ‘new location’ and ‘new life’ and all that, but I just didn’t care. In my brain I was already packed and waiting at the door.

I finally interrupted him, “Okay. I’ll do it.”

He seemed shocked. Apparently most people don’t listen this long, much less accept this crazy ass proposal. “Well, okay, are you sure? You can sign the papers for me?”

“Yeah, sure. Why not? I’ve got nothing… and I do mean NOTHING to lose.”

"Okayyy..” Now he seemed like HE was feeling nervous. Shit, was this a scam? I guess I’d find out.

My ‘call time’ was midnight… I found myself standing outside of my run down apartment, suitcase in hand when the car pulled up. “What the hell???” I thought. I don’t know what I had been expecting, but it sure as hell hadn’t been THIS!

(To be continued…)


Prompt: "Surprise coming to you!" Thanks to @mariannewest
This prompt is inspired by @wandrnrose7

Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.


Sort:  

Hi @byn! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @snook :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

this is so so so Good and I too have missed your #freewrites I hope you can find the time!

Tip!

Thank you! I tried to reply to this last night, but my mom's internet (in rural Iowa) wasn't quite working right. I really appreciate your comments and the tip was pretty freaking awesome too! Thank you :)

ciao @byn , welcome back! I missed your intriguing and dark veined stories.. I am worried that the trip is not exactly going to be a rosy and pleasurable experience (somehow I've the movie "hostel" in my mind) ;-)

Lol :) You never know!

(Oddly enough, I've never seen or heard of the movie "Hostel" I avoid pretty much any dramas, totally avoid horror or scary movies!!! They freak me out!)

I'd suggest you to keep not knowing about it ;-) I'm waiting to be surprised with part 2!

I did :) I am really excited to see where this story goes, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56