Haircut: 5 Minute Freewrite, Prompt: Bowl

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

27292571_1645947392164802_1669543852_n.png

The big bowl was balanced upside down on his head. Sort of.

Her tongue was sticking out just a bit, the way it did when she was concentrating very hard and her face was scrunched up as she focused on getting the bowl so it was perfectly even.

"Hold this, Joshua" She demanded, pressing his chubby little hands to hold onto the sides of the bowl.

She lifted up her mother's sewing scissors and closed one eye, squinting as she very carefully, very slowly cut straight across his bangs, right with the line of the bowl.

She spit when some of the hair flew into her mouth and got back to the task at hand. Cutting and trimming all around his little round head.

"Mommy is going to be SO proud of us, Joshua! Wait till she sees that she doesn't have to find money for a hair cut after all!" She snipped another lock of hair and smiled, "Hold really still now. I'm going to get this part..." she snipped his bangs with one final snip of the scissors, "Okay, Joshua. Now let go so I can take the bowl off."

She slowly lifted the bowl from his head, watching his face as he grinned in anticipation. He loved it when his big sister paid so much attention to him. He didn't care much about the hair one way or another, so as long as she was happy, he was thrilled.

He watched as a big wide grin spread across her face and lit up her eyes.

"Turn around," she commanded. "No! Slowly, so I can see!"

Joshua turned as slowly as he could, as if it were a performance fit for a King. He turned and sought out her eyes for approval.

She was radiant, "Oh wow! It looks fantastic!" she nearly shouted with glee. "Mom is going to be SO happy!"

THE END

Photo is Mine. A photo of poor @knightengale as a child thanks to MY poor haircutting skills!


Thanks to @mariannewest
Prompt: bowl
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)


Other Writing of mine that you might be interested in:

Her Fondest memory

Thumb-Her-Fondest-Memory.png

The Secret Me

Thumb-Cover-One-Secret.png

Her Eyes: A Love Story

Thumb-Her-Eyes.png

Meet Our Puppy!

Thumb-meet-Tiberius.png


Byn-Sig.gif

Thanks to @snook for the GIF she made for me!

Sort:  

Very cool post and I really love it🤗

Thank you for reading and leaving a comment!

@byn

What is she going to get in trouble for more – the hair cut, or using the good fabric scissors? Hehe

Those fabric scissors!!!

My kids know better, they used kitchen scissors when they cut their hair 😂😂

Right??? My mom was always super protective of her fabric scissors growing up! My kids just used crafting scissors to cut each others' hair!

:) Thanks for the comment!

Such a lovely story. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, fellow freewriter! :)

I appreciate the comment,
@byn

Really sweet story @byn. Sometimes when you're having a really bad day something comes along and just makes you smile, today it was your story. Thanks :-)

Awwww... I'm so glad I was able to make you smile! Thank you for leaving such a sweet comment!

@byn

what a happy, happy post.

I could feel and see the boys eye lit up with being so happy about his sister spending time with him.

FAB job!! <3

Thank you, as always you leave such wonderful compliments for me :) I'm going to get an ego going over here!

Love your encouragement,
@byn

And was mom happy? lol

😂😂😂

So... I thought this was the mom a first. It sounded a little bit like a confession I’ve been meaning to write 😂😂😂

Wellll... I didn't use a bowl, but the photo is my son from a hair cut I gave him! Of course he was always squirming and I kept cutting, trying to get his bangs even. Sadly, it's not even the worst haircut I gave him! :)

Thanks for the comment. At least it wasn't just me!

❤️💃🏽❤️

I used to get haircuts on base, they should have just used a bowl on some days. My brother took me one time and they cut almost all of my hair off, while my brother was reading some magazine. My mom was so pissed, she called the barber shop and scolded them. They said "bring him back, we'll fix it" my mom said " fix what, he has no hair". I wore alotta hats that month.

Hahaha, it sounds like you had an awesome, fiesty momma bear, there! :)

Thanks for the comment!
@byn

I can so see this actually happening with young kids. Hell I could have seen myself pulling this when I was a kid lol.

My girls ALL did this at least once. On their own hair, their cousins hair, their siblings hair... They still do tend to cut their own hair now, even as teens and adults!

Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!
@byn

Very beautifully written and how skillful to not say how the cut is, but we know anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61797.74
ETH 2429.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64