Fabulous Feisty Grandma Belle: 5 Minute Freewrite*

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Grandma-Belle-1-cover.png

PHOTO SOURCE

*I broke the rules today and edited. I just wasn't feeling the flow for some reason, so it was either edit a little or not post it.

“Don’t you talk to me about getting into shape!” Grandma Belle said to me, shaking her finger at me. With love in her eyes, she grinned at me. I knew what was coming next. “Round is a shape, you know!”

Then she cackled in glee before taking a puff of her big cigar. Blowing smoke rings right at me, because she was ornery as hell, she added, “Why, back in my day, we didn’t need to do this bike riding to nowhere or finding heavy things to lift like you folks do today. Hell, when I was your age, I had more exercise than you get all day before the sun was even up!” Grandma Belle shook her finger at me again, grinning like a crazy woman.

“You think you’re all spiffy in those matching sparkly workout clothes jogging down the street like a ghost is chasing you? You ought to try getting up at 3:00 am and milking 100 cows!” The number of cows and other farm animals in her story varied depending on how feisty she was feeling that day, or how much of a lesson she thought I needed in any given conversation, “That’s real exercise! Then you have to go chase down the damn horses that won’t stay in the corral and THEN wrangle some pigs for breakfast. I had to load 500 bales of hay onto the tractor all by myself! Why, if you get into that kind of shape, well… then you can talk to ME about being strong and fit!”

She hoisted herself off of the kitchen chair, “I think it seems like ‘rum o’clock” she practically chortled at her daily joke before getting the ice out of the freezer. She joked a lot about drinking, but she never had more than one small drink every day at 4:00, pretty much on the dot. “It’s 5 o’clock somewhere!” she’d say, and clink her glass silently in the air as if Grandpa were still here to enjoy their evening treat together.

She puffed on her cigar again and I leaned back in my chair and smiled. All was right with the world as long as Grandma was feeling sassy.


Visit the link below to find out how to join in on these fabulous freewrites thanks to @mariannewest
Prompt: Round is a shape
Brought to you by @marcoriccardi
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to the @mariannewest post if you wish)


Other Writing of mine that you might be interested in:

My LIVE! #freewrite Experience

Thumb-open-mic-cover.png

Her Fondest memory

Thumb-Her-Fondest-Memory.png

The Secret Me

Thumb-Cover-One-Secret.png

Her Eyes: A Love Story

Thumb-Her-Eyes.png

Meet Our Puppy!

Thumb-meet-Tiberius.png

Sort:  

This is lovely. You’ve done such a nice job of creating a charming little scene and capturing a larger-than-life personality.

Thank you! I hope to be this feisty and entertaining when I'm an old grandma!

Worth the edit! I would love to meet your grandma- sounds like she has lots to tell the world.

This is definitely a made up grandma. Maybe it'll be me as an old lady! Thanks for the comment!

FIESTY Grandma! hehehehe! LOVE It!

Feisty grandmas are awesome, aren't they! Thank you for the comment!

Haha, I love the character! She sounds like a riot! Wonderful freewrite~

Thank you!!! Right? I hope to be this feisty when I'm old!

A grandma that blows smoke rings is one very cool grandma. :-)

That's what I thought. I wish I wasn't so against smoking, because that seems like it would be a very impressive skill! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

@byn

This reminds me of my gran telling me stories about her younger days. To think I used to get bored sometimes and now I miss those stories. Even the ones I heard more than 50 times 😉 Thanks for sharing your story @byn and reminding me of my gran

Awwww. <3 We never quite know what we've got in the moment. I'm sure she appreciated you listening to her stories, even when you found yourself being bored. Thank you for reading!

This brought a huge smile to my face. I guess you can say I can relate. Lol. I'm here to deliver today's landmark prompt...

To celebrate freewrite number ✴💯✴
we have a special challenge to go along with today's prompt. Good luck and have fun! 🎈🎉

Day 100 - 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: It was Saturday morning...

Ha! Thank you! I told my daughter that this is the kind of grandma I plan to be!

Nice @Byn! This was my favourite bit:

The number of cows and other farm animals in her story varied depending on how feisty she was feeling that day, or how much of a lesson she thought I needed in any given conversation...

That really made the grandma feel like a real person. That bit seemed really authentic.

Thank you. :) I think that part may have actually come from my son who likes to exaggerate depending on who is listening at any given time!

Good writing . Keep it up

Thank you for reading and for the comment!

@byn

Lol grandma!

Right? Entertaining and sassy old ladies are awesome! Thank you for the comment!
@byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51