Undersea foraging: MUSSELS - From sea to plate

in #foraging7 years ago

I was really disappointed with my yesterday's hunting of "Noah's Ark shells" and whole situation about protecting and not protecting undersea environment and all about that you can check here.

So today, I went straight for mussels!

They are easier to find and I know some spots that nobody visits. It is not so approachable and you have to leave your car 1 kilometer far from there, but when you see all those mussels, it really doesn't matter!

Hello, Steemers, here I am!

And here are the mussels! And there are a lot of them!

But I need only some for myself!

Only tools that I need are gloves! Picking only big ones!

The reason because not many people come here are boats! The engine can make the sea blur and it's a little bit dangerous to dive around here if you don't have any experience and basic knowledge.

This is my catch today! It took about 20 minutes.

And I had to clean them from the sea grass and limpets.

The meal that I decided to prepare is called "buzara" in Croatia, but I couldn't find a word in English except stew. But this is definitely not a stew.
The thing that I needed were some olive oil (I have my own, domestic), garlic (also domestic, from my grandma), parsley (my own, domestic), a branch of rosemary (my own, domestic) and my uncle's domestic white vine.
Two little tomatoes are what I had in my fridge and they don't originally come in "buzara" but I placed them there just because of color.

If you add some bread crumbs, it can make your meal even better.

The olive oil and garlic come first in the pot. Then, mussels and those two tomatoes.

For five minutes, all mussels should open. Then I added vine, parsley and rosemary.

Nobody in my family eats these shells except me, but luckily, my friend was there to help me eat them. This is a photo of open shell in his hand.

I really enjoy the summer and the fact that I don't have to go somewhere for warm sea and great beaches. I hope that I'll make more posts like this.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Nice Haul there.
I am glad to be on top of the list this time.
Fully supported

Thank you :)

WOW! this looks really fun! enjoy

Thank you ! :)

Man did you find any treasury under the sea?

Once I found a shoe

those are amazing pics I like the sea you're pretty lucky to dive thanks a lot for sharing ;)

Thank YOU for the comment!

well thats a good hunt, and i didnt know these are edible ^^

Have you ever tried snails?

only wineyard snails, but long time ago. i just remember they were made with white wine

Gosh... Now I am hungry... Mussels are one of my favourite seafoods!! (Who does not like any kind of seafood? Haha) - I usually have them with a bit of thick tomato base chilli broth :) :) :)

Wow, really nice pictures! You're very fortunate!

Depends... thank you!

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Follow, Reblogged Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

A massacre! Not a fan of it, but I am of you! Lot's of effort went into writing this! Thank you for your loyal support!

@buzzbeergeek, come here, bring some beer and I'll dive for steaks :)!Thanks

Hahaha, those mussels were delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98