ESPN College Gameday Coming to JMU tomorrow.....GREAT.....

in #football7 years ago

ESPN’s College Gameday is coming to JMU and let me tell ya, I am absolutely thrilled. SIKE!  This past Sunday, I was hoping for nothing more than Gameday to choose a different location.  I grew up and live just outside of Harrisonburg, VA, so I have dealt with JMU all my life.  

Before we really get started, let me say that if any of my JMU friends actually see this, I am sorry.  A couple of my closest friends graduated from JMU and I even have a cousin there now.  That being said, I do not expect any of you to see this since none of you are on Steemit, so fingers crossed.  Not all of JMU is bad, not all of the locals have the same opinion as me, and certainly not all JMU students are asssholes. 


Alright, time to really dive into this.  I would say I have hated JMU for, ehhhh, most of my life.  Now before you go and accuse me of being an asshole, which I probably wouldn’t argue against too much, just hear me out.  


I graduated from Virginia Tech and many of you might remember September 11th, 2010 - the day JMU beat the Hokies 21-16.  So you’re probably already thinking, “Oh well that’s why he’s bitching.” Eh, not quite. Sure the loss sucked, but it is what it is.  What really grinds my gears though is the fact that they will not give it up.  I see more ‘memories’ on Facebook of JMU beating Tech than I do JMU winning the national championship. Really? Beating Tech was more important to you than winning a national championship? Well, I guess when you won’t move up to the FBS and have real competition, then yes, beating a big FBS school is better than winning an FCS championship. Com’mon man, if y’all are really that good, then make the switch.  According to JMU’s student newspaper, “Although the FBS would certainly bring a new wave of challenging opponents, personnel within the athletics office at JMU are content with the level of competition the CAA has to offer in all major programs with no FBS offers currently on the table.”  So they are perfectly fine with being the big fish in a small pond.  Not only that, but they don’t even have an FBS offer. Why is that? I’d say mostly because the basketball team sucks.  They went 10-23 for the 2016-2017 season.  I get it, I really do.  Football brings in the most money and that is what a lot of people care about, so they want to hold on and cherish that favorite memory of theirs.  But dammit I hope the basketball team is super this year and I hope they win every game. Then, I hope an FBS conference makes them an offer.  We will then either see them be a bunch of wusses, or they will join the FBS and get the shit kicked out of them for 10 years.  So I mean really, that’s a win/win situation for us.  Let’s go JMU basketball!

The infamous picture I simply cannot forget. Source

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s take a look at their students. Did anyone hear about JMU Springfest in 2010? Oh lawd, what a shitshow.  Springfest was basically their annual block party where everyone threw a huge rager all at once.  This Springfest was different though.  As the crowds gathered and the alcohol flowed, the scene got out of hand. Naturally, the police had to step in to try to gain control of the situation.  Here is a few videos to get an idea of what happened. Unless you are really trying to kill some time, you do not need to watch all of them to get the picture.


 

 


So as you can see, shit hit the fan.  Naturally, immediately after, all of the JMU students claimed it wasn’t their fault.  They claimed it was Bridgewater College students, which they are a Brethren based college with around 1,900 students. HA! A small school like that caused the damn riot squad to show up? Get out of here. Another excuse I heard, “Oh, a bunch of kids from WVU came down and made it get out of hand.”  Really? WVU students just happen to show up without getting invited? Right.  

Source

Other than putting the blame on everyone else, I don’t think I’ve ever heard so many people bitch about the police using unnecessary force.  “Everything was fine until they used tear gas.” Oh really? It was fine when there were dumpsters on fire and beer bottles flying through the air?  At least one person was hospitalized from getting hit with a beer bottle.  The police had to show up to make sure nobody got killed cause y’all dumbasses got out of hand.  In the end, more than 40 individuals were treated at the hospital, 31 people were in custody and another 25 were issued summons, and 5 police officers plus a K9 unit was injured (Blue and Grey Press). Don’t put that blame on anyone else and don’t blame the police for trying to keep you alive.  Yes, I understand college parties get wild but this was on another level of chaos and destruction. Man up and accept responsibility for your actions.  


Wow, this really does just sound like me bitching, which hell, I guess it is.  I have dealt with JMU students’ attitudes, horrible driving, flying across the street on bikes, and tearing up Harrisonburg my whole life all because they are ‘entitled.’  When Gameday said they were coming back, you’re damn right I was less than thrilled. I didn’t want them to get the attention that they think they deserve.  Like many of America though, I will watch College Gameday as I always do, and I hope you get to too.  While you’re sitting there in your underwear on your beanbag chair, just think about all of the bullshit your new Steemit friend has dealt with.  Also, keep an eye out for a sign that says “Dukes - 21, Hokies -16,” because I am willing to bet a solid 3 or 4 bucks you will see that sign, but you will not see a 2017 National Championship sign.


After saying all that, I think I really need to reiterate that not all of JMU is like this.  For the love of God don’t get all bent out of shape because I felt like ranting. If you disagree, leave a comment and I will probably just accept your argument.  I know great people from JMU who have done amazing things and those are not the people I am talking about.


Thanks for reading. As always, any upvote, comment, and resteem is greatly appreciated!


Sort:  

Excellent post! It is really irritating to hear JMU kids still talking about the day JMU beat the VT. I can't wait till they play again.

You hit the nail on the head regarding that JMU Springfest. I remember driving on Port Rd. seeing the dumpsters on fire. . .
I actually left town during College Gameday this year. 😁

I thought you might enjoy it! Damn I know man, but I highly doubt they'll play each other any time soon. JMU will want to hold on to that, "We beat them the last time we played," card.

haha, total shit show. I remember being at Tech and people back home were going nuts over what was happening.

Good call, I kept my happy ass in Elkton. hahaha

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.37$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.7% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @boatsports90
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @boatsports90 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 6.96 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @boatsports90. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 2.95 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @boatsports90. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.32$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Congratulations @boatsports90! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratz !
You just got a 60% ⚡️ Powered up ⚡️ Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88