The Awful Waffle

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

I just recently did a post about "The Best Food I’ve Had In 8 Months” or rather "The Time I Waddled Out Of A Restaurant"

I guess this one is going to be about the worst food I’ve had. No waddling here, unfortunately.

Remember I said that if I complain about food, you should take it seriously? It’s true. I’ve got low standards when it comes to food.

My mom never taught me to be picky or to choose wisely. She just said "eat it" so I did. One time, I even remember dropping my sandwich in some pool water and my grandma made me eat it because I wasn't allowed to waste food!

So, yeah, I have low standards.

Luckily she taught me to have higher standards when it comes to dating, though, 😆.

I pretty much just like every food. Except for raw oysters and tarantula legs.

And maybe the waffles and iced coffee at Roti Canai in Canggu. Sorry that I’m about to name and shame them, but it just has to be done.

Sometimes I don’t want to write posts like this, because I don’t want to sound like a complainer.

I don’t want to BE a complainer.

But I don’t know if it’s complaining so much as it is just spreading awareness/ sharing the truth about my experiences so that maybe it can benefit others.

So, don’t read this post in a whiny tone because I’m not whining. Actually, if it amuses you, you could totally read this in a whiny voice. It might be entertaining. Maybe read it in a funny accent. 😆

Anyway, maybe I only have myself to blame for ordering waffles in a place that specializes in Roti.

That’s the one thing on their menu that I HOPE they’d be good at. I’d still give them one more chance to redeem themselves in the roti department. I just want so badly for some reason to believe that this restaurant is amazing.

I can only speak for myself, though. And for my friend, who agreed with me about the awful state that the waffle was in.

We had 2 different kinds of gluten-free waffles and iced coffee and all I have to say is: gross to all of it.

The iced coffee with coconut milk was so bad I actually had to ask to give it back because I think the milk was sour. I never ask that, because I hate conflict and I don’t want to hurt their feelings. But, I had to this time, and after she went to check the milk’s expiration date, she said I could have a refund. Yikes.

Also, it was more like chunky coconut cream than coconut milk and it didn’t blend with the coffee at all. It was just floating around in chunks in my drink. Bleh.

So as for the waffle. It LOOKED beautiful. It would make a GREAT instagram pic that would make people think that my life is ballin’ lol because I have fancy dragon fruit on my waffle:

But, remember, don’t believe everything you see on social media! You can’t taste my waffle through ig! Trust me, you weren’t missing out.

Let's just say I think they forgot to put "waffle so thick and dry you'll either choke on it or want to kill yourself" in the menu description.

I ordered a gluten-free coconut waffle with bananas, coconut syrup, dragon fruit and roasted cashews.

Well, there was hardly any syrup at all. The little bit that there was had no flavor. The waffle was undercooked on the inside, probably because it as so thick it could have never been cut in the middle.

You might want a thick booty so that rappers can sing about it in rap songs, but you definitely don’t want a thick waffle.

“I like thick waffles and I can not lie”- said no rapper ever.

It’s no good.

Then my friend had one with bacon and cheese inside. Oh my goodness. I tried it just to see if t was truly as bad as mine, and it was.

There was almost no bacon or cheese. Both waffles tasted the same. Just like thick, overly dry, heavy, bread.

It’s like they were sitting there and said “I have an idea. Let’s make a sweet waffle without any sweetness and let’s make a savory waffle without any savor.” 😆

I kind of felt sad that I wasted my cheat meal on food that tried to choke me to death with its dryness.

Not to mention also my money.

So, now ya know. If you try this place, just stick with the Roti ‘cause I’ve heard it’s good there. When I go back, I’ll try it for myself and verify if that’s true or not.

Remember, I have pretty low standards.

I will say the good about this place is it’s freaking cute and it makes you happy just to sit there.

Here’s what it looks like:

Also, there’s an adorable restaurant next door called Poke Poke that I haven’t gotten to try yet, either. But, there’s a door between the two so I slipped in and took some photos, which was fun and helped make up for the awful waffle a little.

Fine, okay, I'll share some with you. My mom taught me to share, too:

Love, @nomadicsoul

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Wow you have a tough granny! Can you imagine all the kids that peed in the pool...? And now you have to have that on your sandwich... Did you try to share your sandwich with the other kids?

Haha the other kids wouldn't take it!

A few comments:

  1. I read the post in a whiny swahaili accent, and it was a great experience

  2. You never actually rated the pool sandwhich, how was it??

  3. What I am interested in is your SECOND worst waffle experience, can you tell me about that?

  1. Hahaha that's hilarious, you're amazing
  2. I think you should try it for yourself and let YOU tell me hehe
  3. You're making me think too hard. I can remember my best one. It was when I was a kid and my dad let me put icecream on my waffles for breakfast
  1. Did you see our Karaoke collaboration is up? :)

Oooo no, I missed it! Yay, I'm so excited to see this!!!!

What did you think??:)

I actually just commented on there post. I love it so so much! Thanks for hosting it and for making the video!! So cool

I didn't read the post in a whiny tone but rather a Scottish mans accent.

I think coconut cream has to be blended with the coffee for it to work otherwise its like you said, chunky.

The waffle looks good - too bad it was so awful. That little restaurant looks so cool though. Very quaint but also trendy looking. Interesting combination.

Lol Scottish man's accent is even better! Is that your regular accent? Hahaha I'm going to read over it in a Jamaican accent just for fun

no not my actual accent. I was only kidding. Jamaican accent - ill have to try that as well. lol

Oh my! Sorry about this experience. It must have been pretty tragic indeed! I have quite a share of this on my recent vacation so i totally feel you!

Ohhh nooooo really??? That sucks. Tourist food matters! Lol

Yes it does. But found a few that are tasty and yummy too. Aja! So it all went well!

Love your last photo! So cute ❤️❤️❤️

thank you!!! Tryin' to be cute like you haha

i love food, i really do.
one of my favorite hobby is to travel all over the world and taste
various kind of foods.
the photo of the food you post looks good but did not taste before,
so without testing, can not give you exact mark :p kidding
but as it look like hope everyone who taste will like it :)

Eh, no worries. Sometimes it just has to be said.

I had a girlfriend once who would give the waiter a short dissertation about the quality of the food everywhere we went. The first time I was just shocked because it's not like it was bad, but she was telling the guy about it like they advertised 5 star and it was only 4.5. Believe me, we weren't in a place like that.

To be fair, if you've ever done any baking, gluten free is tough to make(edible). But, it's on the menu, so they're on the hook.

haha well they actually ended up not having the gluten free ones and just made regular! I've eaten lots of gluten-free stuff. Haha that's funny about your old gf. I think I'm the opposite of that. It would take me a LOT to even say anything at all.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 19:23:22
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 283.56/400.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45