Working on my BBQ game

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Several years ago, I really started to get into BBQing. I guess more specifically I should say smoking.

From the time I was young, I can remember my dad grilling out on the charcoal grill. We never owned a gas grill, he is pushing 70 and still only uses charcoal.

Likewise, I have never bought a gas grill. I have owned one, but I never really use it. The one at our current house is tied to our natural gas line and has a side burner. That side burner is the only part of it I use.

About 10 years ago my old kettle grill was starting to fall apart. It was expensive for us at the time, but I was able to talk my wife into letting me buy a barrel grill with an offset smoker.

You can see it in the background of the picture here. Next to it is the gas grill I never use, and just to the side is the small grill we take camping.

I have toyed over the years with getting a gas or electric smoker because I know it is easier to moderate the temperature. There is something about smoking with charcoal that I just love though.

Besides the better flavor, it feels like more of an art, getting the right airflow to keep your internal temperature right where you want it. That is the part I really enjoy about it, and although other methods may be quicker and easier, I wouldn't stop using charcoal for anything.

In our old house, we used to live right around the corner from a meat shop, so it didn't take very much to run to the store and get a great piece of meat from the butcher. The picture at the top is one of the first upper pork shoulders I ever tried to smoke. If you are an avid smoker you can tell from the picture that it still had a ways to go before it was ready.

This picture below is one of the more recent ones I did:

20140830_214136.jpg

I am certainly no expert, but I am getting better! Below is a picture after I pulled it all, I apologize for the poor image quality, it was very early in the morning by the time it was done and I didn't have many lights on.

20160820_055004.jpg

The process was pretty simple, I rubbed down my pork shoulder the night before I was going to smoke it with a store bought pork rub. I then covered it in plastic wrap and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight.

A short time before I started my grill going I pulled the shoulder out of the "fridge" so it could get a little closer to room temperature. To get my smoker ready, I put some coals in the smoker box along with some apple wood.

I like apple for pork because it gives it a little bit of sweetness. I then placed a pan full of water under the grates in the cooking area and placed the pork shoulder over that pan on the grates fat cap up.

After that, it was a delicate dance of keeping my temperature right where I wanted it around 225 degrees Fahrenheit. I let it go like that for about six to eight hours refilling the coals and wood as I needed.

I needed some sleep by that time and my smoker being kind of cheap doesn't hold the temperature like some better ones. I pulled the pork shoulder off the grates and put it in a pan, covered it with foil and finished it in the oven for another 4 hours or so at around 225 degrees. I have mixed feelings about finishing it in the oven because I know it can make the "bark" soggy, but when you have to sleep, you have to sleep!

When I woke in the morning I took it out of the oven and shredded the pork for lunch and dinner that day. The bone fell right out (that is a great sign) and everyone loved the end product.

Sort:  

Holy salivation, @bozz! Gimme, gimme....gimme, gimme...directly into my belly.

Sorry, hunger voice took over there for a minute. These photos are spectacular and legitimately do make my mouth water. And I support you fully on the devotion to charcoal grilling. You can't beat it!

Great post and keep em coming!...but let me go eat something first so I don't keep licking the screen.

Thanks, I kind of made myself hungry too. I should have known better than to post that at 9 in the morning. I usually wait for the big box stores to have a sale on the charcoal two packs for $10 and I stock up then. I've probably got about 10 bags in my garage right now. Thanks again for the compliment!

GEEZZ!!!! GOD BLESS PORK.

I'm a huge fan of low smoking, more since I learned to Sous-Vide everything. And also in Venezuela we use to grill with woods and sometimes charcoal, with RUM or COCUY on side. You should try to add some vegetable in the pan with that fat, it's like confit vegetables and it could get sooo delicious.

There's a Argentinian chef that grilled duck with the same way and it called "El Pato Que Llora" (The Duck Who Cries). I saw him on TV and since there I use that technique when I low smoking fatty chops (belly, shoulders, ducks, etc)

Well everything is better with rum of course. I might have to try that with the veggies next time!

Okay, this is making me crave for BBQ-ing... did you know in South Africa, they don't call it BBQ? They call it Braai! Haha just a random thing.

Yes, I actually just learned that a little bit ago. I follow @braaiboy on Steemit. Good stuff!

hahaha... lekker man!*
*(loosely translated) Nice one dude!

I live int he states and discovered the magic of Braai pie not to long ago.

Sweet... Small World! Gotta LOVE a braai pie.

P.S. You're welcome BTW.
As far as I know I was the first to post the recipe on the Internet and demo on TV... back in 2010 sometime (unfortunately a friend of mine invented the actual recipe, and I can't take the credit for that part :P).

Good stuff. I discovered it myself a few years back on Imgur. I had to do some modifications since its hard to find onion marmalade. It's also hard to find those braai baskets/grid thingies. Most of the ones they sell here stateside are too small to accommodate the pastry dough properly.

Yeah... you can pretty much use anything you want as the filling... I've got a @dtube video up where I make a dessert braai pie too if you're interested.

Re the "braai baskets/grid thingies":
We call them Toeknyp Roosters (aka "fold-up grids" - I don't think they even have a name in English :P).
Did you eventually find one and/or what did you use?

We normally go compete BBQ in The Jack and World Food Champs in the States every year, and would have gladly brought one with me... but this year, we're inviting the American teams to come compete here in SA instead. I can send one back with one of them if you'd like? Unfortunately that's only happening in September though.

whooot, yes, a nice #BBQ post. Will run my one on Friday with Burgers like this for a bunch of friends

very nice! Looks tasty!

Good to see some other folks on here doing good bbq!

Thanks, I try!

Great stuff Bozz! Please keep posting on your BBQ adventures. The work is hard and long, I know, but the end result is meat heaven. I use a boneless pork shoulder for my pulled pork when I don't have 8 hours to smoke it. It usually takes me about 3.5 to 4 hours to get internal temps up, then 20 to 30 minutes at room temp for it to settle. Looking forward to hearing/seeing more of your techniques.

Thanks, I appreciate it. It is still a little too cold here for me to spend a day on the patio, but as soon as it warms up a little I plan on getting another one done!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:04:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 465.45/200.00
Total Photos: 64
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Could you BBQ Me ... maybe not so tender anymore but I think you could make everything taste wonderful!

Haha. It's supposed to taste like chicken. That's what cannibals say...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39