Breakfast

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180927_113525.jpg

Thinking that other people would be interested in what one ate for breakfast always struck me as ridiculous, a symptom of over-the-top self-centreness. Moreover, when social media first came on the scene a decade ago I latched onto that item as a simple way to dismiss it.

So why am I posting on social media a photo I took a month ago of a huge breakfast I ate (there are also 3 rashers of bacon hiding under the eggs)?

  • Because of the preamble above I find it amusing
  • I was staggered at how good value it was (and still is). It cost me £4.49 (US $5.76 or €5.05 at today's exchange rate). In fact, I have shown that photo to several people and raved about it.
  • I want to make some posts rapidly (see previous post) and refuse to publish ones that are complete trash
  • I don't expect anyone else to actually read this, tucked away in the vast "food" category.

The breakfast is from the Hungry Horse national chain, by the way. You only get that price by ordering before noon from the "Breakfast menu". Some establishments charge 50p more. I have no connection to them other than as a very satisfied customer.

 

 

@yawnguy is my "serious" account

Sort:  

Looks like you were up to high physical exercise that day. :D
There's no real equivalent in German/Middle European cuisine, maybe eating sausages and/or scrambled eggs with bacon and/or rolls with bacon, boiled ham or ground pork comes close. :D

Thanks for the comment. I've eaten that breakfast there a few times since, although it is far too much to eat every day. The "hash browns", the triangular monstrosities on the right, are an American import, but the rest counts as a traditional English breakfast.

I'll shove that breakfast down my throat

Yeah. I looked at some of your videos. It's interesting to see some of Soros' useful idiots (not you!) in action. I read ZeroHedge etc, but it's different seeing it like this -- makes it more real.

Hey thanks a lot for checking out my stuff! I feel like not enough people know exactly how screwed up things are right now.

That's a hearty breakfast. Can easily cost around S$25 ($18USD) in Singapore. :(

Yes. It's hard to get through eating it all. The normal "full English breakfast" there is literally half the size and costs £4.99 instead of the £4.49 paid for the huge one. Or if there are two of you it costs £4.00. See Any two meals. £4-£6 is the usual price here for a sensibly-sized cafe (not restaurant) breakfast.

Thanks for commenting. Good luck with your Steemit blog. 😊

That looks so good. For under 6 bucks it's an amazing deal.

Yeah. You seem like an interesting guy. Why did they kick you off Facebook?

@gcalex you are superman how can i chat with you nessesary

Oh, it is. One of the delights of a spiritual being having a human experience.

Delicious breakfast. But it is pricey. hehe

Depends what you compare it to. Compared to a cup of coffee and a doughnut at home, yes. Compared to other English pubs/cafes, it's a good deal. But I don't eat it often.

OH! I LOVE LOVE LOOOOOOOVE this!I Was Very Excited To See Your Post Great work ( awesome )99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYgyBLTmwym7EB7C7mM4VMY5fnRwKg9nK11bBUBaYBKuzKFDoVJemBfENLt7r5bDwxQQTMpa8rLSrvmnaVEgAz.jpg

Yes. What do you usually eat for breakfast?

This is indeed a hearty breakfast. This one meal would surely make you last for almost the entire day because of its huge portion. Thanks for sharing this experience with us.

Oh it does. The last time I ate it I resolved not to again, or at least leave 2 of the 3 "hashbrowns" because it almost knocked me into a stupor for two hours. Thanks for commenting.

Congratulations @yawnguy2! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75