Veggie Medley Stir-Fry with Kohlrabi & Black Chick Peas, and Homemade Stir-Fry Sauce (Original Recipe)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago


Stir-fries are one of the easiest and most versatile dishes, and with a delicious homemade sauce it's one of my favourites too.  Since stir-fries are usually made with half-raw veggies rather than fully-cooked and limp, it's a great way to try out ingredients you've never used before... in this case kohlrabi.


I regularly order organic veg and fruit from a place in Dublin that delivers country-wide for just five euros, and like to try unfamiliar things when they come in season.  I had no idea what kohlrabi tasted like or how to prepare it, and then by the grace of the universe a few days later I came across a very helpful post by @erikah who home-grows kohlrabi and detailed all about this vegetable, including cooking tips and nutritional info.  Pefect timing! and well-worth checking out if you follow this link.


Since @erikah tells us in her post the flavour is similar to broccoli stem or cabbage heart but sweeter, I thought it might be a good ingredient to try in my stir-fry, to take the place of the popular stir-fry ingredient bamboo, which I don't have.  And I can now report that yes, it's perfect for this dish in taste and texture, and I'll definitely be buying it again.  Really delicious!  The quantities below are enough to serve 4 people, so you can adjust accordingly.  And there's no reason why it can't be enjoyed by toddlers as well as adults... my little boy loves slurping up the noodles!


Ingredients (organic recommended):


4  carrots

1 kohlrabi

1 red onion

1-2 bulbs garlic

1 leek

1/4 cabbage

wholewheat/spelt/vegetable noodles 

1 carton black chick peas (or 400g cooked-from-dried*)

100ml water

1 tblsp soy sauce (natural ingredients, no additives)

Drizzle honey

2 tsp sweet paprika

1/2 tsp chilli flakes

2 tsp coriander

2 tsp black pepper

1 tblsp cumin

1 tblsp peanut butter

Splash of balsamic vinegar


* I always have a stash of cooked-from-dried beans in little jars  in the freezer, which is super handy if you do a lot of vegan/vegetarian cooking.  Please see my previous post on the easiest way to batch cook beans.  


Directions:


Peel the carrots, kohlrabi, onion and garlic.



Cut the carrots and kohlrabi into strips.



Slice the leek and rinse thoroughly to remove any dirt trapped between the layers.



Dice the onion and finely dice the garlic.



Shred the cabbage.



Rinse the chickpeas.



Cook the noodles and immediately rinse under cold water.  Drizzle a very small amount of olive oil and toss the noodles - this prevents them from sticking.



In a large frying pan or wok, melt a knob of coconut oil and saute the carrots for a few minutes.



Add the kohlrabi and continue to saute for a few minutes.



Add the leek, onion and garlic and saute for a further 5 minues.



Add the cabbage and black chickpeas and saute for a few more minutes.  Then add the water and all the flavourings.



Add the cold noodles to the pan and toss over heat until mixed up thoroughly with all the veggies and everything is piping hot.



Serve immediately into warmed-bowls, and enjoy!




For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.


("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)

Sort:  

testy food

This comment has received a 0.19 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @mdgaffarstar.

Hi dear ! Wow! Your photography so beautiful! It looks so delicious! You used different vegetables and black chickpeas, I like to cook variety of vegetables, because so healthy.
Have a nice day!

Thank you! Yes I love trying out all kinds of different plants, and they are all beautiful and tasty in their own special ways! :-)

This looks mouth-wateringly delicious...today seems like stir fry kind of day, I had planned to have that for dinner tonight as well! lol Cheers!

Stir-frys are so scrumptious! My favourite bit about them is the half-cooked veggies retaining their lovely crunch! Hope you enjoyed yours as much as I enjoyed this one!

Btw I baked some GF scones a few days ago as promised! Will post the recipe later or tomorrow probably :-)

Oohh, I need to try kohlrabi in stir fry now! Yum! We are on the same page again since I did tempeh stir fry this week for one of my meals. :)

Hooray for stir-frys! Everybody seems to be cooking them this week... perhaps it's one of those meals that is perfect for spring - almost like a salad but warming still!

Yes! That's a perfect way to put it! If it has leafy greens somewhere in it, it's totally a salad. ;)

@woman-onthe-wing You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

Good to know, thanks!

You are very welcome. Thanks for using the platform responsibly!

I'm bookmarking this too, looks amazing!

Thank you @erikah! You make me happy with all your lovely comments... makes it all worthwhile :-)

I'm telling you the truth here, I really love your dishes. I'm not commenting just to comment :) I'm going to bake one thing weekend :)

Thanks so much!!! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47