Fresh, Organic Kohlrabi for FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Today is Fruits And Veggies Monday hosted by our lovely @lenasveganliving and I'm going to post about kohlrabi or German turnip or turnip cabbage, as you like. Karalábé in Hungarian, gulie in Romanian, cavolo rapa in Italian.

IMG_20160822_174933a.jpg

Kohlrabi can be eaten raw in salad or slaws, just make sure you pick the young ones that are not woody. The taste and texture of it are similar to those of a broccoli stem or cabbage heart, but milder and sweeter, with a higher ratio of flesh to skin.
DSCF6437a.JPG

According to Wikipedia kohlrabi is an important part of the Kashmiri diet and one of the most commonly cooked foods. It is prepared with its leaves and served with a light soup and eaten with rice. I found another interesting piece of information about kohlrabi which says that in Cyprus it is popularly sprinkled with salt and lemon and served as an appetizer.

These photos are from our garden. You can see white and purple kohlrabi but I bet there are more types which we don't have here.

IMG_20160629_112416a.jpg

Usually I make kohlrabi soup with carrot, onion rise and sometimes I add iceberg lettuce or cauliflower. Another version is the stuffed kohlrabi or pottage.
Kohlrabi is full of nutrients and minerals like copper, potassium, manganese, iron, and calcium, as well as vitamins, such as vitamin C, B-complex vitamins, vitamin A, and vitamin K. It is also high in dietary fiber and antioxidant compounds, such as phytochemicals and various carotenes.

IMG_20180415_112657a.jpg

Health benefits of kohlrabi: improves bone strength, prevents cancer, regulates blood pressure, improves digestion, prevents anemia, boosts your energy level, helps in weight loss, improves body metabolism.

I would strongly recommend you to have one or two each week. Just peal one and eat it. It hydrates you, it's refreshing and healthy. What else do we need? It's way better than taking pills and supplements.

I'm supporting the Make It Healthy Project! You can read more about it HERE

Make It Helathy.jpg

Sort:  

I just recently tried this vegetable after having never heard of it before. My local supermarket chain are selling it riced in the way they sell riced cauliflower and broccoli, it was a good side dish.

I'm glad to hear that.

Testeemed dear Erikah , I really like this post and I am going to try this vegetable, never eat it 😊

Thank you very much dear Vee, please try it, you won't regret it 😄

I will thanks to you 💕

Don't forget to let me know how it was 😘

I will of course 😉

Thats the cousin of predator!! 😲

I only tried kohlrabi for the first time, but it's delicious! I'm definitely looking out for it at the farmers market again this year. :)

You won't regret it :)

Lovely post of the kohlrabi for fruit and veggies monday! I don't think i have tried these before but they look fantastic , space ship like :-) and so many benifits , definitely one worth trying out!!

Deja Vu :)) I posted one of these photos on another platform and someone said the same thing 😁, that looks like a space ship.

Haha what can i say, great minds think alike. I haven't encountered a space ship before but i reckon this comes close to one ;-)

Definitely! :)

It's like you read my mind @erikah... I bought a kohlrabi a few days ago from the organic groceries shop here as I'd never tried it before, and I was wondering what to do with it. Great info, thanks very much!

I'm glad I could help :) So what will you choose? Salad, soup or pottage?

Salad I think! I like the idea of eating it raw, now I know it can be eaten that way :-)

Nice post Erika!
Very educational!

Thank you!

Oh yes Kohlrabi, we call it Kalerab in Slovakia, lol. I grew up with this crunchy vegetable from my grandmother's garden as well. I know how delicious the young Kohlrabi can be, however, it's been almost half a decade since I had one. Those that are sold in supermarket here are too old to be eaten raw, so I use them only for soup.

I always love reading about your garden Dear Erika, it brings nice memories from my childhood 🍒 🍌🍑🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you very much dear Lena, I'm so glad I could bring something to cheer you up :) 😘🌷❤

Thank you very much dear Lena, I'm so glad I could bring something to cheer you up :) 😘🌷❤

Your post has been featured in Issue #5 of the Make It Healthy Project MAGAZINE. Many thanks for your inspiring contribution!

Thank you so much! It's a great honor! I'm heading over to read it and share it!

Thank you! And enjoy the read I hope! :-)

It's always a pleasure! I already have something good prepared for next Monday, something many people don't know and it's very healthy :)

I'm intrigued @erikah and look forward to seeing your post!

I most love to eat it just raw, in pieces with nothing but fresh bread and "butter" (I am working on delicious vegan versions). Did I mention that I am jealous about your garden? I guess yes, several times ... 😝

Thank you so much dear @pusteblume! You are very kind! 😍 I would send you some goodies from the garden if you wouldn't be so far :)
This week I'm going to post about gardening, so stay tuned 😉

Aww! I really appreciate the virtual goodies from your garden! 😋

Thank you so much dear @pusteblume for your kindness and generosity! 🙌😍🙏
I'll be posting about the garden more often now that planning is starting.

I am really looking forward to seeing them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47