STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #8 : 'Meaty' Vegetarian Spaghetti Bolognese - Original Recipe

in #food8 years ago


For this week's challenge - 'La Pasta Perfetta' - I decided to prepare that much-loved meal: good old spag bol.  It can be hard to find vegetarian recipes that match up to ones containing meat, but I can assure you this bolognese is as satisfyingly meaty as a non-meat dish gets!  Full of flavour and a great texture too.  I used to get frozen or dried soya mince for bolognese, but don't bother with that these days as I find lentils and beans are a much better option, for both nutrition and 'meatiness'.  Whether or not she's a vegetarian, I like to think the Old Dog's wife would give this a thumbs up :-)


I honestly don't know what other vegetarian bolognese recipes are out there, as I like to make mine up completely rather than basing them on other people's ideas.  I imagine plenty of people use legumes too, but this is 100% my own recipe.


I have included steps for homemade garlic bread as well, as I don't think spag bol is quite complete without it.  It's my Wholewheat Irish Soda Bread recipe, as it's not only the quickest and easiest bread to make, but I find the crunchiness so delicious for garlic bread.  A loaf literally takes 5 minutes to make, and then it bakes for 45 minutes.  Bulk baking and cooking is my habit, as it means time and energy saved for another day,  so I made 2 loaves even though we only need a few slices for this meal.  The quantities for the bolognese are also for more than one meal, as the remaining can be frozen (or refrigerated if you'll use within the next couple of days), and the bread can be frozen too, so we may as well make plenty.


What you will need for the bolognese: (makes at least enough for 2 people, for 2 meals)


200g red lentils

4 cups or 2 tins/cartons of red kidney beans 

2 red onions

1 red pepper

1 yellow pepper

6 or more cloves garlic

1 jar/carton tomato passata

1 tblsp honey

2 tblsp red wine

1 tblsp wholegrain mustard

1 tblsp pesto (green or red)

2 tsp salt

1 tblsp black pepper

1 tblsp oregano

1 tblsp thyme

1 tblsp basil

1 tblsp turmeric

1 tblsp cinnamon

Coconut oil (for frying)

150g per person wholewheat spaghetti

A little cheese to sprinkle on top - your choice what kind (I use mature cheddar)


For the garlic bread: (makes 2 loaves)


16oz fine wholewheat flour

8oz coarse wholewheat flour

8oz strong wholewheat bread flour

1 tsp salt

2 tsp bread soda

1.5 pint buttermilk (or regular milk with 1 tsp vinegar added, leave 15 mins to sour)

Mixed seeds (eg pumpkin, sunflower, sesame, linseed)

Butter 

4 cloves garlic


Method:


I start by making the bread so it has chance to cool before slicing later on.


In a large bowl mix together all the flours, salt and bread soda.



Add the buttermilk and mix with a wooden spoon until all the milk is blended in, and then mix more thoroughly by using your hand to squeeze the mixture through your fingers.  I do love the squelchy feeling!  The mixture will remain quite wet, so kneading isn't necessary.



Divide the mixture between 2 loaf tins and sprinkle generously with seeds.  Pop into the oven at 200 degrees Celsius for 45 minutes.



Turn the loaves out of the tins and allow to cool on a wire rack.



Now for the bolognese!


Put the lentils into a pan and cover with cold water.  Bring to the boil and then simmer on low heat for about 10 minutes until the lentils are soft.



Drain and set aside.



Pour the kidney beans into a colander/sieve and rinse well until the water runs clear.



Transfer into a bowl and half-mash with a potato masher, so that some are squashed and some remain whole.  This will give the bolognese a great 'meaty' texture.



Wash, peel and dice the peppers, onions and garlic, as fine or as chunky as you like.



Put into a large frying pan with a good knob of coconut oil, and saute on moderate heat for about 8-10 minutes until the veg has softened.



Add the tomato passata, lentils and kidney beans to the pan, and mix well.



Add the honey, wine, mustard, pesto, salt, pepper, oregano, basil, thyme, turmeric and cinnamon to the bolognese and stir in well.  



Mmmmmm.... lovely and meaty looking!  Continue to simmer on low heat for another 15 minutes or so whilst you prepare the spaghetti and garlic bread.



Put the spaghetti into a pan (I break mine in half for ease of eating, but I'm told the Italians frown on that!)



Cover with boiling water and cook on moderate heat for about 10 minutes.



Slice the bread into however many pieces you're going to eat.  Two is more than enough for me!



Finely chop the garlic and mix with enough butter to spread on your slices of bread.



Sprinkle with oregano and pop under a medium-hot grill for 4-5 minutes until golden brown.



Drain the spaghetti and put onto your plate, followed by a few spoonfuls of bolognese in the centre and grated cheese sprinkled over the top.



Serve with a nice glass of red wine, your garlic bread on the side, and enjoy your meaty bolognese with the bonus of no actual meat!  Hooray for the cows :-)



Many thanks to @englishtchrivy for hosting this challenge... I really enjoyed taking part!


Also many thanks to the sponsors - @smooth, @sirwinchester and @knozaki2015.


If you enjoyed my post, please follow me for more healthy recipes for meals and snacks!



Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

Hello @woman-onthe-wing here is the Judge a little late but I made it!

First of all I have some Overall Impressions:
This is my 7th review and yours has me by far the most intrigued! I love the idea of a meatless but meaty sauce and the addition of the garlic bread has me convinced even more!

Simplicity: Two thumbs up on the garlic bread as I think that I could pull that off and score big with @lellabird60! The sauce has a few more steps and ingredients than most of the others but your idea that I could make extra and freeze it makes it with it!

Presentation: The way that you decorated the table and had the bread basket and the glass of wine was a nice touch. Well done! I will add that, as I have mentioned to many, a little sprig of fresh basil or parsley on the top would give that added touch of color and would please @lellabird60 to no end!

After 7 entries already judged yours is going to be tough to beat!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks very much, I appreciate your feedback on both my entries! I wouldn't like the job of judging, there's too many lovely looking entries this time! All the best @kus-knee

Wow, thank you!!! What a bonus for a meal I thoroughly enjoyed!!!

That looks scrumptious! I love plant based food. Definitely following.

Thanks very much!

Thank you very much! :-)

@woman-onthe-wing, my favorite pasta - spaghetti!

Beans for the sauce - that's new for me, thank you!
Do you have a left over? @beanz live near you invite her - she's Irish :)
I wish you good luck!

Thank you! I seem to use beans in most of my veggie dishes these days... they are excellent for texture!

This looks fantastic! Your pictures are very tantalizing and draw the reader's attention. I especially liked the shot of your 2 finished loaves cooling on their rack, your chopped veg photo and your stove top shot with the 3 full vessels.
Well done!

Thanks very much! I appreciate the feedback :-)

I use Quorn mincefor our vegetarian, I've never seen a recipe to do it any other way, ill let her have a look at this one :)

Thanks, yes I actually prefer using legumes, I do think the flavour and texture are nicer. But if you try it you can let me know if you agree or not!

Congrats for winning!!

Thanks very much!!!

Congratulations. I knew this would be the first place. very hard work

Thanks so much! I'm very pleased, and it's a great bonus for a meal I thoroughly enjoyed!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47