Light-and-Fluffy GLUTEN-FREE SCONES (Sugar-Free, Original Recipe)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago (edited)


After posting my Spelt & Almond Scone Stars last week I had a few people asking about gluten-free and vegan scone recipes.  Whilst I'm yet to experiment with a vegan version, I can now happily share with you a gluten-free recipe!


Thankfully I keep a few different gluten-free flours to hand in my baking cupboard, as my Dad is coeliac and I bake goodies when he comes to visit.  My favourite GF flours are coconut (for its sweetness) and tapioca (for its versatility), but in this instance I used a brand (Doves Farm) that consists of a mixture of rice, potato, tapioca, maize and buckwheat.


The scones are beautiful.  I have to add extra egg to bind the mixture, as GF flours are so fine and can crumble away to nothing once baked unless they are sufficiently 'bound' (is that the correct term?!)  These did not crumble or even break... I am so happy with the result.  They rise wonderfully, and the texture is light and scone-y, exactly how you'd want them.  You can see below they slice very nicely.



Ingredients:


600g gluten-free flour

175g butter

1 tsp gluten-free baking soda

5 free-range eggs

Whole milk (approx 100ml)


I see no reason for adding sugar to scones, as you can make them sweet with honey or jam if you want to, or you can eat them savoury with just butter, cheese, or whatever you like!  


Directions:


In a large bowl rub the butter into the flour using your fingertips until the mixture resembles 'fluffy breadcrumbs'.



Add the baking soda, eggs and milk, and mix thoroughly (I just use my hand... I love how it squelches between my fingers!).



Transfer the dough onto a floured surface and, using floured hands, gently shape the dough into a smooth ball-shape.  Try not to over-handle too much.  Look at that dough... beautiful.



Roll the dough out to about 1.5 inch thick, and cut into rounds using a pastry cutter.



Place onto a lightly-floured baking tray, and pop into a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 20 minutes until firm to touch and golden-looking.



For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.


("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)


Sort:  

I love scones! Now I have to prepare this as well!!! :)

Hehe, just keeping you out of mischief!

I actually discovered the perfect scone recipe the other day - half gluten-free and half not! haha. I don't usually rave about my own baking but seriously, the best scones I ever tasted! I will post the recipe next week. I hope you're not coeliac because as a fellow scone-lover I'd be delighted to have some feedback on them!

Thank you for keeping me out of trouble :D
I'm not coeliac, I can eat everything. My only problem is keeping my weight. I'm not overweight yet, my BMI is 24.7 but I want to lose a few kgs.
Anyway, I am really looking forward to that scone recipe 😏

oh my oh my! These look wonderful! Thank you for posting this recipe. I can definitely use this recipe when visiting my daughter! Resteemed!

Thanks very much! I'm happy you like the look of them! I really enjoyed them with a little butter and blueberry jam... delicious, especially straight out the oven!

An other wonderful bake recipe! For a vegan version you can try to ground chia or flaxseeds instead of eggs. What also works great is aquafaba with chia or flaxseeds!!;)

Thanks for the vegan tips! I must try that out myself because I want to start eating more vegan and less animal products now. Eggs will be a hard one for me because I love scrambled, fried, omelettes...! but I have no doubt after a while I won't miss these things :-)

Yea that is the funny thing, after a while you will not even think about those foods or feel teasted when someone offers you some! But if you want to introduce vegan foods in your life, start with simple baby steps, it didn't need to happen over night.😉Font be hard on your self. You can think about what food you want to eat more instead of thinking what to limit.❤

:-) You're right... baby steps is the best way for me to change rather than overnight. I already have started replacing a few things in my diet with vegan alternatives.. such as now I eat frozen coconut milk instead of frozen yoghurt, and I love it!

That sounds great my dear! Yes, take the time you need, no pressure;) Explose, try out, be creative and enjoy the journey!

Wow! I love the way they rose in the oven! It can be very tricky to make, i tried it a few times but didnt rise enogh or came out hard😣 these look great and fluffy! Great job dear @woman-onthe-wing!

Many thanks @cooknbake! Yes, I think handling the dough quite gently helps, and using a good quality baking soda :-) In the past I've made some that were so flat you couldn't slice them at all!

I never tried scones, but they look really good and I will definitely have to try them out, since I'm trying my gluten-free for few months to see if I feel any different.
Thank you for sharing

Ah, ignore my other comment about the non-GF 'perfect' scones now I see you're trying GF diet! I hope you do a post in a few months to let us know the results of your experiment. Good luck, and though there's a wealth of great GF posts & recipes on Steemit, let me know if you're struggling with ideas any time as my Dad is coeliac so I can just ask him anything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49